I was lucky enough to be chosen for a couple of tickets (free) to Missing Andy’s album launch for Generation Silenced, sadly all my partners in crime seemed to be away, busy or just not interested, they know who they are. I even wrote to a couple of souls from Missing Andy’s Facebook site.  A guy called James came back to me, a day late, and, he was gutted of not having checked his Facebook earlier. You do a good deed and reach out to fellow fans and people just can’t handle it. So off I went, all on my own, a little apprehensive, it’s been a while since I have been to a gig on my own, you kind of get out of the habit. But I’m brave, so off I go.
The same old problems hit me when I arrive at Old Street and reach the surface, which road do I take? There are so many and I have only been to the Underbelly Hoxton Square once before. I spot a good looking young man; no harm in asking is there? Alas, he wasn’t sure…..oh, another bit of eye candy, he’ll know! No luck with him either, oh well, I just pick a direction! Yay. I picked the right road, I remember now; this is where I get my chips after the gig.
I arrive at Hoxton Square, a great big Missing Andy poster on the outside, so I’m in the right place.
My name is on the guest list, I get my bright yellow wristband and in I go.

I’m one of the first, so decided to get a drink, the bar staff is anything but friendly and efficient, I give up! Let’s go and choose a good place! Initially living up to the name, Front Row Stef I found my rightful place before recalling from the Andy Burrows single launch, that it is very loud at the front because the front is the speakers. So I opted for the first floor, or rather a couple of steps further back and leaning on the conveniently located railings. It’s still only about 6 meters away from the front with the perfect view over everybody’s head. Eventually the venue filled with fellow revellers. A couple decided joined me at my perfected vantage point, nice people, Kim and Nick from Milton Keynes. Kim told me she saw them in MK and somehow ended up on stage with them, she really is a girl after my own heart and must add her to my Facebook. The audience was made up of al all sorts of people, a surprising mix of all ages and sizes. In the front, just down on the main floor are a couple of guys, obviously just excited to see Missing Andy, needless to say a conversation starts up! It Turned out young Joe is promoting the Missing Andy gig in Luton on the 25th November, it’s a real shame I can’t be there as going to see the Suburbians album launch.

Finally Missing Andy appeared on stage, loads of noise from the audience, cheering clapping, I love it! They starting with “Alive”, I can’t quite remember the order of the songs, no set list, but they played “ Dave”, “Sunshine”, “Hold on”, “Kings for the Weekend”, “Scum”, “Heartbeat away”, “Money”, and of course “Made in England” as an encore.  Brilliant, utterly brilliant! Joe in front on the floor tried very hard to film some of it, but his arms weren’t long enough, so I thought I better help him out. My camera let me down, I will need a new one, I think its had it!! Joe was very appreciative and even gave me a kiss on the cheek. After the band had gone off stage the manager came back to thank everybody and announced a special treat: the first ever showing of the official video to Dave in 10 minutes or so.
Joe disappeared back stage just to come back a little while later with a signed flyer for the Luton gig, but as I wasn’t going he gave it to Kim. Fair enough I guess.All was not lost however when Joe leant over and offered to take me back stage to meet the guys…woohooo, sound good to me! True to his word he did, but we couldn’t get to them, they were still changing. So we chatted while we waited and I suddenly thought: hang on, I’m getting chatted up here….not that I minded, it was fun.  As the musicians appeared Joes stopped them and took a photo of me and them, he also introduced me to their manager…..see, it’s not what you know but who you know!! So we managed to get 3 photos, well, Joe did, let’s hope he will send them to me. He also promised to send me a ticket from his gig in Luton as a keepsake, with a bit of luck even signed. Oh, and we could hang out and listen to Missing Andy…….well, we will see.
I saying good night to Joe and Kevin, I went on my way home and not without the obligatory bag of chips.

Best song of the night?

Got to be “DAVE” or “sunshine”

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

