The minute I saw Andy was performing I just had to get a ticket! I loved seeing him with I Am Arrows at the XOYO a few months ago. 

It’s a bit of a mission to get to Hoxton Square I only have been here once before with my friend Andy (two Andy’s in one story is just too much!), I had won tickets to see someone at the Hoxton Kitchen, but he didn’t start till 11pm so we gave it a miss and wandered around and chatted, Actually, that was great fun, Andy, we should do this again!

We arrived at the Underbelly, really nice venue by the way, classy and intimate, I like it a lot!
I’m ashamed to say that I cannot remember who the support bands were, I think they came from the Winchester area, as Andy Burrows does (correct me if I’m wrong please).
Once the support had finished and clearing the stage we moved closer, we napped a spot stage right (stage is so small I guess there is no right, left or middle..lol), right next to the DJ “enclosure”. Someone came to hang up the merchandise, I have to say I do like the T-shirt, I will have to get one later. We struck up a conversation with a guy that seemed to know most people there, we found out it was actually Andy’s Dad and what a lovely man he is. We talked about how far we had come (he seemed amazed that we came all the way from Hemel Hempstead – it’s not that far) and have we seen him before, are we real fans…..and he told us little anecdotes about Andy. One thing Frank said made me laugh out loud: “ …all these years we put up with him learning to play the drums and making a lot of noise, and now he is showing his sensitive side……”, I guess it must have been frustrating as a parent, Andy’s brother Ben also plays an instument (he was in I Am Arrows)….so having them both practising must have been challenging to say the least. He also told us they have to perform without a drummer; he let them down at the last minute. Frank promised us that he will introduce Andy to us after the gig so we can have all our goodies signed and photo’s taken.  Yay, result!!

Finally it was time for Andy to take the stage, he came on with his I Am Arrows musicians, including Ben his brother, and it’s turning into a right little family affair! Andy is not disappointing, I love his voice, so soft and yummy…..I did peek at the set list and I know he will sing my favourite I Am Arrows song “another picture of you”. I do just melt when I here that song, funny how lyrics leave you with strange feelings sometimes, sort of happy and sad at the same time,  maybe I’m just a bit to soppy for my own good! I love the new single “If I had a heart” too, sounds great live, I will definitely buy the t-shirt!


They finish off with “green grass”, everybody sings along, a great atmosphere. Again, the set is far too short and leaving everybody wanting more, I guess that is what makes you keep coming back…hehehehe. I do manage to grab a set list, it wasn’t hard we more or less stood on the stage.

Frank came over and asks to give him a few minutes and he’ll get Andy for us. And he did, Andy is just as lovely as his Dad, must run in the family (I did meet his brother Ben at a later gig to talk too…..yes, it does run in the family!!). He posed for a photo and signed the set list, so did his fellow band member. It was an amazing evening, we enjoyed it very much! Thank you Andy 

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

2 responses »

  1. Weidmann martina says:

    just great ! so love reading your stuff! xx

  2. Rachel says:

    Have you managed to make it snow FRS? Amazing. Just caught up with your goings on before work tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

