How lucky am I? I haven’t won one pair of tickets but two for the tribes album launch at the Barfly! First I was drawn by the Fly magazine to be a winner and later on I had an email from HMV to say I won.  How lucky is that? I had a few friends I was able to ask to join us; sadly everybody was busy or unable to come along. All was not completely lost and I put a post up on the Tribes facebook page to say I had two tickets going spare! Hayden was the lucky boy….lol, I do hope you had a fab time!

Having been ill for a about 3 weeks now and only just back to work I wasn’t feeling my best, but I so wanted to see the Tribes again, I loved them in High Wycombe and Brixton. I pre-ordered the album Baby, but it hadn’t arrived (click here to see HMV’s poor explanation), so no taking it along to get it signed, oh well, next time!

We arrived at the Barfly a little later than planned, which is ok, the doors will opened at 8pm! Hayden’s mate Matt came to take the tickets of me, it felt good to spread the love!

I got chatting to a young girl across the table; she is very much into her music, especially Fleetwood Mac. It’s amazing what you can find out about people within a few minutes: she is a personal trainer, comes from Cambridge, has a 10 year old son, divorced, had cancer and is never going to stop going to gigs or drinking JD & Coke!!  Nice girl though!

At last, the doors open, only half hour late! We make our way upstairs and take our rightful place, stage right at the front. It’s a handy spot as you can dump your stuff in the corner without fearing it will be in anyone’s way. It filled up quite quickly, but we still had an hour or so to wait, the price you pay for being at the front row. There was quite a mix of people, young boys and girls, a few of my generation (oldies in better words), some looking casual other dressed very sparkly with sequins galore sporting great big fancy cameras. You can always tell who the professional photographers are; they don’t show off their fancy bit of kit…

Woah, what is going on? Somebody found the button to the smoke machine and keeps pressing it! That is not nice, my breathing is bad enough as it is and you can’t actually see the techie on the stage, even though we are more or less on it! What are you doing Barfly??

At last it’s time, the Tribes are coming on stage, but what the hell is all the strobe lightning about? I can’t actually remember seeing a sign warning about strobe lightning, hopefully nobody suffered from epilepsy.  The Tribes start their set, but the sound is distorted and a bit too loud,….am I getting old? No, the sound is noise rather than tunes. When Johnny finished his first track he did actually mention the f*****g smoke and that he can’t see anyone. Hopefully that will help!

Why do I feel disappointed?  The band is doing their best, but I do feel the venue has let them down, after seeing them working the stage in Brixton I can’t help but feeling a little sad. This is their Album launch and should be a very special night. Well it won’t put me off the Tribes, but maybe off the Barfly.  I still would like to get my hands on the set list, which is more or less in front of me, and maybe even get it signed. The Tribes finish their set with “we are children”, perfect track to finish with!!

Just as the band  finished their last song and everybody was still clapping, the pretend photographer in sparkly sequins tears off the set list, literally tears it off, not bothering about the bits left behind. That was quick, at least wait till the band is gone off the stage……so I’m unlucky this time. But the proper photographer must have spotted my disappointment and passes me a plectrum she picked of the stage…awww  that is very nice. Faith in human nature restored.

We decided not to hang around, I’m felt quite exhausted actually….I must get well!! I’m even passing on Christina Perri on Wednesday; I didn’t think I should push myself too hard yet!! We decide to walk to Camden tube station to get a picture of the Tribes Billboard, yeah, our names are on (4th row from the bottom last two names from the right, Stefanie Wareham & Neil Wentford) it. No such luck, we can’t find it, they must have taken it down already, or we are in the wrong road…..let’s just go home!!  Hopefully I enjoy the Skinny’s more on Friday.

I do love the Tribes and I’m looking forward to seeing them at a venue that gives them justice.
And yes, we did still enjoy them…….I’m just being grumpy!!  

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

