OMG OMG OMG….how amazing were the Skinny’s tonight?

But let’s start from the beginning!!!
There was no hesitation where buying a ticket for the Half Moon was concerned, it has been quite a few month since we’ve seen the Skinny Machines, so withdrawal symptoms were setting in.

I learned not long ago that the Skinny’s had parted with their lead singer Jay and were pleased to announce the new lead singer Jim Stapley, another very good reason to go and see them. As if we need any reasons at all! A few months back my friend Neil was diagnosed with leukaemia, and we had asked a few bands to just send him a “get well” soon message, I have to say Rikki Glover from the Skinny Machines, Mark Konstantinovic from the Suburbians and Steve Sparrow from Morning Parade came shining through!! 

Rikki did say they dedicated the song “Laid out cold” for him that night…..not so sure about the title…but it was very much appreciated.  Far too often bands get too far removed from their fans and have no time to take a few seconds to say hello. So thank you again Rikki, Mark and Steve.

Neil and I decided to drive to Putney this time, it is a bit of a mission to get there by train from us, and rushing to get the last train is a bit annoying! The drive wasn’t too bad, we did hit a bit of traffic around Hammersmith but that was it. Got an excellent parking spot too, right outside The Half Moon…result!

It was really busy in there, we were hoping for a little bar snack, my friend Kathy & I had some Nachos when we went to see Ben Montague , they were perfect.
No such luck today, they don’t do Nachos anymore, why?
We decided to sit down at the little makeshift restaurant area, we had plenty of time, the Skinny’s didn’t come on till 9ish and it was only quarter to eight. Yes, Burger and chips should do nicely!!
Hmmm, 8:20, no sign of our food yet…….8:35….getting a bit annoyed “excuse me…any idea how long the food will be? We are planning to see the gig in the back”. 8:45, hurray, the food is here, it is hot, so that’s good, but we didn’t really enjoy it as we had to wolf it down, and the burger was pretty small and dry! Bring back the Nachos I say, or better still, next time we pop across the road to the chicken and chips place. Sorry Half Moon, I love the music venue but not impressed with the food side of things.

At Last we went to the back, yeah, we still managed to catch some of the supports Joe Corbin’s set, He sound good, very bluesy. I love his t-shirt though, I want it!!!!!

For his last song he brought out a drummer and the bassist from the Skinny’s…..and I’m sorry Mike but I didn’t realise it was youuuu!
As I look around I do see familiar faces, especially a young blond girl, we seem to like the same kind of music, next time I will have to say hello to her.
Drumroll……here they are, The Skinny Machines have arrived on the stage. I have to say Jim is definite eye candy!  They starting the set with “piper” followed by “wrong side of the river”, omg, what a voice!! When Jim first started singing it reminded me of Brian Molko from Placebo, but if every song he seems to adjust his voice and I really couldn’t say who I could compare him with, it’s Jim, end of!!  Rikki and Jim are obviously good friends, you can feel the energy and good vibes within the band. They played “superhappy” and “stop that girl” and of course the superb cover of “crazy” which sounded brilliant.  Jim also performs some of his own songs, which went down very well.  They went off the stage, and yes, we all knew they would be back for more. What a surprise when Joe Corbin came on stage, grabbed his guitar and started tuning it. Ok, so that was different, bring out the support to do the encore!! ….ahhhh, not quite, the Skinny’s came back too, so you see how nice these guys are, inviting their support musician to play the encore with them. Joe did look a little uncomfortable, probably stage fright, he did however fit in well. They finished the set with “laid out cold”, what else…lol! As soon as they left the stage I reached over to get the set list, there was no way I’ll be leaving without one. The girl next to me had the same idea, but I was just that bit quicker, and she was fine with that. I did see Rikki passing her the one from the Drummer later, so all is well! What is left to say? Amazing gig!!!

We managed to have a quick word with Jim after, just had to tell him how good we thought he is….we also spoke to Rikki to let him know how brilliantly Jim fits in! I can’t wait for the next gig! Sadly I can’t make it to the 229 Club on the 3rd February; I’m off to learn Snow Boarding in Milton Keynes, another fab prize I won a while back!

This has been the best gig this year so far!! Ok, so I only went to two so far, but the Skinny’s set the bar pretty high!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

