The Wurzels, who would go and see them, unless of course you are a big fan? Well, what happened was: I entered a competition with the o2 Islington for a Wurzel’s survival pack, it sounded fun……! I have been extremely lucky in the past and won a few tickets, I think Carl does remembers me now :-)! Anyway, I entered the comp, a while later I had an email from Carl saying sadly I didn’t win but they would like to offer me an early Christmas present, a pair of tickets to see the Wurzels! How nice, I jumped at the chance, I do like variety where music is concerned…and of course was very curious how “combined harvester” could pull in the crowds.

My willing plus one (someone should sponsor some t-shirts for me with “frontrowstef” and “I’m a plus one “across the chest) and I made our way to the o2, I expected the gig to be upstairs, sweet little place; let’s face it, how many people are actually going to turn up? I did consider wearing a checked shirt, but didn’t in the end. When we arrived we were directed to the hall downstairs, really? It’s quite big! To my surprise the place was packed, loads of people sporting Wurzel’s t-shirts or checked shirts with jeans or Dungarees. I’m amazed; I didn’t know they had such a following. Still, as always we got a place at front by the barriers. I look around and I see grown tough looking men quivering with anticipation, possy’s of young people in checked shirts doing a bit of line dancing…..it looks as so we are in for a treat, all these people know something we don’t!
A couple of Dj,s are on stage giving it all, dressed for the part, playing cheesy music, love it, you just have to sing along and smile. The DJ’s run a little completion, who moves and sings the most to a fromage song, the guy next to us win, a big poster of the Wurzel’s Christmas party. Mind you, he did tell us earlier that he is/was a 70th DJ that would explain the fact he knew all the words.
The place is filling up, it looks like it could be a sell out…..brilliant.
I must say, the o2 Islington is one of my favourite venues, upstairs or downstairs. I also like the fact that Sainsbury’s across the road is open late, they do sell a delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, just right after an evening of singing and dancing. One day I will also stay for the Club de Fromage….I get the feeling I might enjoy that!!

And there they are, a bunch of ageing men, sorry, I meant mature men! Dressed in cords, boots, waistcoats, braces, scarves and flat caps/Christmas hats with bottles of Cider of course. People are shouting and clapping, welcoming them onto the stage. It is an amazing atmosphere.
I’m sorry Wurzel’s but I’m not familiar with your songs and even struggle with your west country accent, so I can’t recall what song you started with…..but I did get blown away.  I do remember of course “I’m a cider drinker” “Combine Harvester” and something about “Shepton Mallet”, oh, and a “tractor” song. We are really really enjoying you guys on stage, you talented, funny and have a great stage presence. At some point Tommy Banner, actually took his clothes off and presented the audience with a backside view only wearing gold thongs….the whole of the o2 is laughing and clapping! And he is quite right, for an old boy he still has some nice buns….lol!!  And did you know, the drummer, wearing a “bah humbug” hat is actually 80 years old!! It just proves my point, music keeps you young!
At some point the play a cover of Ruby Ruby Ruby by the Kaiserchiefs, talking about crowd participation, we just don’t seem to get enough.

This was my surprise gig of the year, I had such a good time, loads of laughing, singing and jiggling around, no pushy aggressive fans, just a really good, happy vibes gig, my plus one totally agreed and was very happy to have been invited, know I would like to be classed as a rock chick, but I think the Wurzels are going to be my secret passion!! I will certainly go and see them again should they be in the area!

Thank you Wurzels and Carl from the o2 Islington for opening my eyes to new experiences.
About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

