It is a bitterly cold night, we are on the way to Brixton to see Panic at the Disco, please let the priority queue be short! No doubt there are going to be a few hardy fans that stood there most of the day, …I do understand that, I do it for Snow Patrol and 3 Doors Down, so fair play to them.
The walk from the Brixton Tube station seem to take ages, even though it’s only 5 minutes down the road. We can see the queue outside the Academy, it’s long, all the way down the side of the building. I go up to one of the security guys and ask where the Priority queue is, “there isn’t one” he replies….??? Why? He says these girls (wrapped up in duvets and loads of clothes) have been here since 7am. I do not doubt that for a minute, but how does the security guy know? I’m sure he was not out on the streets at 7am….anyway, he points to the end of the queue and says we have to go there. ok, there isn’t much we can do about it, we walk down to join the end of the queue. Neil did mention he saw another queue at the other side of the building…..anyway, we walked all along the building to the corner, round the corner, all along the back of the building, round the corner, all along that side of the building, round the corner, all the way back to the entrance of the academy! What the hell is going on? It is freezing cold and youngsters in hardly any clothes are left standing in a queue that never ends (it carries on back down to the traffic lights, round the corner and along the road to roughly to the “children and young people services” on Brixton Rd. What are you doing Brixton Academy? It is about 7ish, and the first support band is supposed to play at 7:15, not many people are going to see them are they? We decided to nip into a burger place (we tried Nando’s but it was so busy, we would have to wait ages for food), I can’t remember it’s name, but I can remember that I couldn’t actually eat my food. I only ordered a couple of corn on the cob and when I bit into it all I could taste was water, god knows how long they sat in a pan of water. Neil’s “burger” looked like it asn’t too good either.
We went to the Weatherspoons pub near the station instead, much nicer, warmer and lovely coffee!!!

I think it was about 8:15ish when we decided to go back and see if the queue has gone down, yay, it had, only a few people now. We join them and get into the venue at last.  We still manage to get down to the front, right at the side though, but not a bad view, well it wouldn’t have been if they hadn’t put some rather large boxes with smoke machines on top near the front of the stage. I never managed to see the whole band, just the front men.
We did completely miss the first support band  BIGkids, so I can’t comment on them at all, shame. we did however manage to see part of ME, the second support band. The sound was pretty poor though, and it was obvious that the band struggled and tried to sort it out. but, from the entertainment value they were great, brilliant stage presence. I will listen to some more of their music, missing most of the set and the sound problems didn’t really help me to decide what I thought of their music. We could actually feel the vibrations through the wall when you put your hands on it. To me that does not seem quite right. It is becoming clearer to me that good sound technicians are hard to find.  So I will ask again, although I have asked this before: Is it me and my delicate ears or do other people feel the same? Please do leave a comment and enlighten me.
We also spot Laura and her friend, she did say she was coming,

ME finished and went off the stage, I was quietly hoping they would move those great big boxes from the stage, but no such luck, I have to put up with the restricted view. At least the sound should be better, I do know that the support bands do sometimes get a bad deal, so the main act can sound better. People are now pushing in closer, a couple behind us made me smile, they must have only just got together and are still in the first flush of love. They took a lot of photos of each other, looked at them, giggled and took some more….everybody say awwwwww…!!

At last, the lights are going down and Panic at the Disco come on stage. I’m excited to hear them, I’m not very familiar with them, but what I hear I like!
There are a lot of security guards right at the front, do they expect trouble? I didn’t think Panic at the Disco would attract a lot of trouble.
They starting their set with “ready to go” and “but it’s better if you do” followed by “the Ballad of Mona Lisa“, They are sounding pretty good, but, the sound is very loud still and I’m glad I have my ear plugs. 
I don’t quite understand why Brendon Uri, keeps stopping to chat to the crowed, a lot! About things that maybe only die hard fans understand. Ok, so I got Dolly Parton‘s quote: “If you want the rainbow you must put up with the rain”…….but Why? Did I miss something? I just felt that it was a shame that just as you got into the music, dancing and singing he killed the atmosphere with talking. At some point I wondered if I had wandered into a chat show instead. 😦
They finished their set with ” I write sins not tragedies”……we decided to move to the top  near the sound deck to get a view of the whole stage, which looked really good.
They came back on and their second encore was amazing, I loved the cover of  The Darkness song ” I believe in a thing called love”, they did two more songs after that, Led Zeppelin cover “Immigrant song”, I wasn’t too sure about that one. the boys finished off with”Nearly witches”…..
I did ask the sound guy if I could have the set list, he was quite dismissive and basically said he’s keeping it for himself! Come on you Techies, it doesn’t hurt to be nice to the fans…….that is why you have a job after all!  I guess I have just been rude to him going on about the rubbish sound….tit for tat without realising I guess. Let’s just hope he doesn’t flog them for a lot of money on ebay!

Neil and I made our way to the Tube and home, usually we come out of gigs really hyper or cross as it was bad. This time our mood was odd, it was good but disappointing…..

 

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

