This is my warm up gig for Snow Patrol….lol, as if I need it!!!
I was a bit worried that we might not make it or they might cancel. Loads of snow is expected, but not til late. It is cold and we are a bit apprehensive, but as long as we get there we will worry about getting back later!
This is one gig not to be missed! A couple of years back I bought tickets for my son and I was really hoping he would take me…but no, he took his mate!! Fair enough, I don’t think an 18 year old wants to be see out with their Mum at a ska gig!!

we got to Shepherds Bush just before 7pm, doors open at 7! I expected quite a queue, but at the priority queue there were only a handful of people. We went in more or less straight away, and the barrier was still deserted, except one young girl right at centre front. We strolled in and claimed stage left, i don’t think we want to be in the middle for this one…lol!! The barriers seem really near the stage, I’m sure they were further back before, but we are definitely not complaining. there are 2 support bands today…….JB Conspiracy and Orange, we have seen Orange before supporting Bowling for Soup.

The venue is filling up slowly, but the atmosphere is calm and chilled, really nice actually. We don’t have to wait long for JB Conspiracy to come on stage, wow…looks like there will be a lot of brass, looking forward to this.
These guys are really good, they have everybody moving and clapping from the first song, the sound is absolutely perfect and we are really enjoying it, what a great support band to get the night started. Isn’t it great to see a new (to you) band and get straight into them!! I will keep an eye for any gigs coming up! Yes, we can feel the good vibes and are so ready for more!  I try and get a set list but the nice techie whose eye I managed to catch can’t give me one, they are all laminated and the band collect them and use them again, :-), come on guys, that is not right, what are we fans to do?
Next up is Orange, as I said we have seen him before and was brilliant entertainment value! His hair is not orange this time, but his outfit is still the same…lol! And actually he got better! Or is it again the perfect level of sound? There was one or two feedbacks, but nothing worth moaning about! Orange is still full of energy and going mad on stage. I see a young photographer out of the corner of my eye, she knows every single word to his songs. I love seeing people enjoying there work!! 🙂  Orange finished his set and goes off stage, this time I do manage to get a set list, I caught the guitarist’s eye and he fetched me one and signed it!!!! What is it with me and set list….kind of trophies hunting, in years to come I’ll be sitting in my rocking chair and tell my grand children all about it!! By the way, the first one is on his way!!!…can’t wait to take him to some gigs!!

Right, the stage is ready for the Fish, excitement is building and not just in me, the place has now filled up and everybody seems to be full of anticipation. there are 3 youngsters next to me and they just can’t stop smiling, I love it.
And finally they are on stage, they starting with “everything sucks” and the second one is ” I want your girlfriend” …there was me thinking I wont know many of their songs, how wrong was I? I can sing along to most of them,  even if I make some words up in between…everybody does it right? Not the photographer though, again she seems to know every lyric off by heart. All the band member are very active and interact with each other it is mad….I do feel sorry for the drummer, he can’t jump up and join in. This is turning easily into the best gig of the year so far, absolutely everything is perfect. The security guards are lovely, and yes I do get recognized….lol. The youngsters are crowd surfing, get taken out and high five everybody on the way out. The amazing thing I feel is there is no thread of aggressiveness that you can find at some gigs. Everybody is just having the best time. Even the girl that literally cushions me from behind and keeps saying “I’m sorry” and has quite obviously had a fair bit to drink seems harmless. She did get annoying when she tried to push her way to the barrier and the 3 youngsters that were next to me from the very beginning got pushed out, she also had a pint in her hand and started splashing beer everywhere, for a minute I thought we may have an Suburbians incident and get showered in beer. Again the security guard kept a close eye on her and told her a couple of times to watch it. I’m sure he would have taken her out if she didn’t listen. I didn’t like that much and she did realise that soon enough. The funny thing is she kept asking me if I was pregnant, have I really put on so much weight? Or shall I take it as a backhanded compliment that she thinks I’m still young enough to produce offspring’s? I go for the second option!!! 🙂
You just had to dance, there was no way you could just stand still. They came out for the encore and performed “sell out” and “take on me”, what a finish, awesome. As they were leaving the stage they picked up the set lists and threw them into the crowd, sadly not into my direction. I managed to get the attention of one of the techies, but he  looked around, shrugged his shoulder,and walked away. I took it as “there were no more” Shame :-(, but just as I was getting my coat and stuff on, the lovely techie from earlier picked the lead singers set list up and even though everybody was stretching out for it, he gave it to the security guard and pointed at me and said it’s for her. Young man if you reading this or anybody who knows him, please tell him thank you again, that was such a lovely gesture and I truly appreciated it.
It was an amazing gig, we absolutely loved every minute of it. And I must say, Shepherds Bush you totally are my number one venue, every single aspect of today gig has been perfect, the sound, the staff….just everything. If ever there is an award to which o2 is best, on today’s performance you win hands down.
Thank you for making this an amazing experience.
Oh, and pay the sound people double and never let them go!!! 😉

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

