This is were it begins, 5 dates of Snow Patrol, 2 in London, followed by Berlin, Basel and Paris. I have been trying very hard to contain my excitement, I think most people around me are pretty bored of hearing about Snow Patrol and how many days…..than again, I don’t care!!! I’m beside myself!!!
I have taken a half day of work (the other half is for my 3Doors Down date), Neil is ready and waiting at 12:30….and off we go. The roads aren’t too bad but it is bitterly cold.
In the week previous there has been a lot of discussion between a little group of dedicated SP fans, about what time to arrive, where to queue, is o2 lounge fast track a better option? I think so many things were thrown into the round it just got us all a bit in a frenzy…lol!
Tanja and Debbie decided to queue at entrance F, as they were told they were the first to be let in. Alice, Neil and I decide to try the 02 Lounge, Alice had used it before and got right to the front. Even though decisions were made, it didn’t stop us wondering if it was the right one……..
We arrived at the O2 14:30, Alice had beaten our arrival by a view minutes, it was lovely to meet up again. It  was also surprising how very cold it was inside the O2, somehow I expected a little bit of warmth inside. Neil was looking tired, after skanking to Reel Big Fish last night, not enough sleep (if any) it started to show :-(. We did do our best to cheer him up, which worked for a while. But being seriously ill with grim treatment prospects is enough to spoil anyone’s mood. Still, he is here and determined to see the Patrol.  between you and I that was another reason for us to opt for the O2 lounge. We will be able to sit down for an hour, it will be warm…and not so far to walk to the barrier.
We wander over to the merchandise stand…ohhh, so many lovely things, and I’m so broke …:-(, Neil offers to buy me the tour t-shirt, thank you so much!
We decided to go to Starbucks for coffee and to use the toilet…… it was nice and warm and we ended up with free lemon cake! Result!
Eventually we go and linger near the o2 lounge, not long now and we can be in the warm, 17:30 the doors open and in we go. Wow, it’s pretty posh and neat in here, looks kind of futuristic. All soft colours and white furnishing. We now chill out for an hour until about 15 minutes before its time to enter the arena we go and exchange our tickets for wristbands, they keep the ticket but promise we can pick one up later on the way out. And than we wait, 10 minutes to go, 7, 5…2…yes, it’s 18:30, we go towards the lift, only to be send back and we are told  “we will call you when you can go in”….. Hang on, it is half past, time to go! We wait….and we wait. 5 minutes later we try again just to hear: “no, not yet, they still doing something on the stage”….rubbish, we had a text saying “we in loads of people pushing can’t keep you a space”….WHAT? We are not happy, someone tell me what fast-track means exactly please. O2, I’m so not impressed!!!!!
Eventually we get in, we are a couple of rows back more or less in front of Nathan, so it’s not too bad….but not too good either. It’s a shame for Neil that we didn’t get a spot at the barrier, it would be so much easier for him to be able to lean on something.
Alice and I are very excited….only a couple of hours to go and Snow Patrol will be on stage.
There seems to be movement on the stage, Everything Everything are coming on, I know nothing about them, I meant to look them up but just didn’t get round to it. 4 guys are coming on to the stage, wearing grey boiler suits…WHY? They don’t actually do anything for them. Maybe I’m missing something? They start playing and ok, they don’t sound too bad, it doesn’t blow me away, but it’s ok. Second song, ok, third song….sound very similar to the first two…I’m getting bored now, sorry boy’s but you don’t do it for me at all. I can see other people getting distracted by their friends and phones too……:-(
Suddenly a girl (she seems a bit intoxicated…..why do people get drunk at gigs? Surely that cannot enhance the enjoyment??) is pushing in,  in front of the people before us, we all look a bit blank and wonder what she is doing, SP crowds are usually very polite and nice to each other. Than she stops in front of  the girls next to Alice, we all looking at each other think “Why?”, it looks as though she is intending to stay, trying to push people away to get more space, it was quite funny actually, because everybody around her suddenly took a step towards her…..she was not going to have our space, we were the ones standing and waiting most of the day. The security guard in front of us was watching and came over a couple of times to talk to her, she actually texts her mates to say “come and find me”…..but it seems they knew better and didn’t turn up and the girl left after a while.

Everything Everything cleared the stage……not long now, I feel like doing my tiny little steps again to keep me from bursting…lol!
The lights are going down….the place erupts in shouts, screams and frantic clapping ….. a remix of “Berlin” playing, a big ball of colours displays on the huge screen at the back of the stage, constantly changing colours, shapes, finally it say’s LONDON across it
…….I know what that means, I will see Berlin, Basel and Paris like that, the excitement is about to burst. And there they are, running on the stage, Paul, Johnny and Nathan first….and finally Gary! First song is “I never let go”…going straight into “Take back the city”. They sound as amazing as they did last time I saw them! Still I never forget Berlin 2009, my first ever Snow Patrol concert, we were so blown away, after the show we literally sat down somewhere because we couldn’t believe what just happened…it was mind blowing!! I guess you never quite get that same experience at subsequent gigs, but that doesn’t make it any less special. I’m all choked up when “this isn’t everything you are” gets played, love that song…..actually I love most of their songs!! In between Gary is as always chatty and funny, his 4 year old niece is in the audience, Honey, he tells her how much he loves her, he gets all lovey dovey with Nathan…lol…Gary performs a couple of duets with Lissie. what an amazing voice….she does a brilliant job of it. I will have to check out her album “Catching a Tiger

Funny , just as I’m writing this I get a notification from the Fly magazine about a review from the Manchester gig, it isn’t a great review….why more of a light show?  Why fix something if it isn’t broke? Snow Patrol makes us happy just the way they are, even though I’m not adverse for new and different material, fundamentally you can’t change who and what you are. 17 years later tells me, their concept still works! Than again, everyone is entitled to their opinion!
Tanja and her possy have made some cards up, saying Oh Oh Oh, Gary spotted them and went with it, well done girls.

Far too soon it’s all over, they say good night and leave the stage, we all know they will be back for an encore,  I wont give too much away, but to me it was a perfect, emotional finish!
I didn’t pin much hope on getting a set list, just wasn’t close enough to the stage and the techies never looked into my direction. We hang around as long as we could, the security guards were starting to move us on……one of them in particular was very rude ….there is no need for that Mr. oh so important security guard!! Anyway, I did manage to catch someones eye in the pit to the right of the stage….I gestured my usual sign for a set list, and he nodded his head! He disappeared and came back with a set list, he even came up right to the barrier to give it to me….I had to give him a huge great big hug! Thank you! 🙂

Roll on tomorrow for day 2….x

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    What can i say !!!!! I was there too! Roll on Berlin !

Leave a Reply

