Today Neil and I are back at Power’s Bar in Kilburn, it is the final battle for a place at the SupaJam Benicassim festival in Spain.
We did get our email and are ready to support a brilliant band! We parked the car at Kingsbury again and jumped on the tube, we got to the Powers bar in good time, even managed to nap a space on one of the sofa’s, which was right near the stage. Neil is feeling quite rough and tired, having had treatment yesterday, but nothing was going to stop him being there to give support. As we were earlier than last week we had time to have a good look round, there are huge posters advertising the Reading Festival and Hop Farm,  we do recognise some of the acts, mainly the headliners, other have become headliners in their own right, but quite a few have disappeared. I wonder what happened to those bands, have they given up and live your average Joe Block’s life or are they still chasing the dream? We all have dreams when we were young, most of us end up compromising or giving up……to all you youngsters out there I say: never stop believing in your dreams, you can make them real!!

The line up for tonight is as follows:
pLastiq, The Thespians, Flight Brigade, Suburbians, YossarianAerials up, Arp Attack.
I’m curious to hear Aerials up, I looked them up at some point and then lost track, so it will be good to see them live.
Before the first band starts we manage to have a quick chat with George, or better known as Alfred Lord Telecom he is the compare again tonight and is very amusing with his poems about Ragnar the Lemming before he introduces the bands. He also tells us a brief history of the Powers Bar, and how the owner has been involved in the music business for many years.
First band on is pLastiq, I wasn’t impressed last week, they took so long to set up the stage, maybe that is why they up first this time. I’m really making an effort this time, Neil thinks they sounded better the first week, but I’m sorry you still are not reaching me. 😦
The Thespians from Liverpool are next, these guys I liked from the first few seconds of their song, I like their style and they seem really friendly guys and girl, having looked into them a bit more since seeing them, it seems they are brothers and sisters….love it! I think it is early day but definitely one to watch I would say.
Flight Brigade, well, there are a lot of them. Laura tells me they are really good, hence the fact she has moved close to the stage now.  The keyboard player has to be off the stage, there are too many bodies and too many instruments for such a small stage. I listen to their first song, but I’m not too keen, they are good musicians, and I’m sure plenty of people will love them, just not me, I like a bit more personality….if there is such thing in music. 😉
Now to the stars of the night, I know we are biased, but we do really think they are amazing, The Suburbians!!  All the supporters have moved towards the stage now….and they immediately got everybody involved, so much energy…..love it! There second song is quite daring, a new one that nobody has heard before. It hasn’t even got a proper title yet, could possibly be “…♫..shooting me down…♫..”….it is brilliant, another catchy tune!
Yossarian are next, again another new to me band, and again I do like them, the 3 songs are not enough to make my mind up, so I will be following them too. I googled them as I wrote this, boys, did you know there is another band with the same name based in the States? I got a bit confused there, but I have found you now! 🙂
Aerials Up, I was looking forward to them, again there seemed to be far too many players, a couple have to be in front of the stage rather than on!  I think there are some technical hitches, one of the mics does not seem to work properly and when they started their first song you couldn’t hear him at all, luckily it got sorted out. Well, I wasn’t too sure I liked them after hearing the first song, got into them a little more by the second song, I think this band is a grower, I need to listen to them a bit more.
Last one on the Arp Attack, we didn’t really get to hear much of them last week, so let’s see what they got. It’ is sort of electronic, how can I say? Trance music maybe, it didn’t feel like dance music to me. Actually I didn’t take to you guys at all :-(, I do like a band that produces sound from instruments rather than from a laptop, and it just didn’t make me want to dance…so no thank you.

That is it, all band played their three songs and it is down to the judges now. I know who I would vote for….but then I’m a big fan!
It was great seeing members of The Suburbians stand and watching the other bands, yes, I mean you Charlie,  and Mark told me he like The Thespians a lot.

Trouble is, it’s getting late, we will have to leave and catch our train home, Laura and Joanna promise to let us know who wins…..we cross our fingers and hope and hope and hope!! We say our goodbye’s to Mark and the band…..and off we go on our way home!

I found out the next day that Arp Attack won, WHAT???????? Why? The only thing I can think of that they will fit in best at the Festival, I don’t know what kind of Festival it is, but I know if it was the Melt Festival in Germany they would work.
I’m sorry for The Suburbians that they didn’t win, but then again, they don’t need to win, as far as Neil and I are concerned they are already a winner!
I also want to wish The Thespians and Yossarian good luck for the future, and hopefully I will catch you again soon.
Of course the same goes for the remaining bands, just because I didn’t take to them doesn’t mean they don’t have a future!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

7 responses »

  1. Tony Healey says:

    got told about this on the green alien chick blog, love it.

  2. Tony Healey says:

    just checked out the Suburbians, great band, looking forward to hearing more.

  3. Tim says:

    great blog, glad someone pointed it out to me 🙂

  4. Sam says:

    Great gig review Stef, thanks! We need to keep the live music scene alive!

    Sam (bassist with Yossarian who is clearly not singing into his mic in your pic)
    http://www.yossarian.com (if you want to find the real us!)

Leave a Reply

