Kaiser Chiefs tonight, yes, I’m looking forward to seeing them again. At the Winter Wonderland gig at Brixton Academy just before Christmas I really enjoyed their performance, so full of energy and infectious.
We made our way to the Apollo Hammersmith,  when we arrived there were a few people in the queue already, but it looked worse than it was, people left big gaps which made the queue look quite long.
It has been ages since I’ve been to the Apollo, Jason Derulo, that was another competition win, I took my god daughter who loved it! She even was given some merchandise afterwards.
We didn’t have to wait too long in the queue, it looked as so we managed to get here for the right time, when we get let in we easily found our place at the barriers, stage right of course!
We have plenty of time to get a drink and look around! Awwwww, just behind us there is a couple, quite obvious they are still in there honeymoon period….taking photos of each other, looking straight at them and trying again…..they have eyes just for each other….I remember those feelings, distant memories……to all you young lovers out there, hold on to that feeling as long as you possibly can!
Tonight there were two support bands, the first one were The Fixers, I had seen them before supporting at iTunes festival last summer. Once they started playing I remembered, first they sounded quite good, but after a couple of songs I got bored, sorry boys, but it just didn’t work for me. The second support band was Frankie and the Heartstrings, a new band for me.
The lead singer had a lot of energy and was all over the place, great sound and great performance, could be worth looking into it more. One disturbing thing was that a certain Mr.Techie just wasn’t interested on giving away the set lists…why I wonder. He collected them all in and kept them……are the bands really that short of paper? And it was the last gig of the tour……..hmmmm, see on the right, it was the one standing up……explain please!!!
Next up the Kaiser Chiefs. We got chatting to Andrea from Essex, this is only the second time for her to see the Chiefs, she came into London by herself, a girl after my own heart. She can’t see why people think its brave to come to a gig on their own, let’s face it, you always end up talking to someone.

Finally the Chiefs are on stage, and they don’t disapoint, lively and full of energy, fantastic, this is how I remember them…..we are loving every minute. Ricky is all over the stage, he comes over to our side, sits on top on the massive speakers while someone else takes over for a minute, than he charges back to the other side, jumping off speakers….all he needs is a skateboard and he could do a few ollie or 360ty…..lol. Than he disapears up some steps on the side of the stage, I bet he goes up to the balcony, in Brixton he came right out into the crowd. Yes, I was right, he is up there….funny, some people were quite oblivious to it, than they realise and can’t believe their eyes It is pretty special when the leadsinger of the band you come to see suddenly appears next to you…lol. Somebody passes him a huge Union Jack flag, Ricky takes it and ties it round his shoulders, he disapears again, minutes later I see him coming down those steps again and he is back on stage, still wearing the Union Jack. The crowd are loving it, singing dancing and crowdsurfing. the security guys are great though, they taking it in good humor. I’m hopeing for a setlist, if not off the stage than from my friendly security guy…lol

All to soon it’s all over, the Kaiser Chiefs wish us farewell after the encore…..the lights go up and the mass exdus tarts. Another brilliant concert, the Kaiser Chiefs have not let us down, maybe the only negative bit was that Ricky seemed to have ignored stage right……so you artists, make sure you divide yourselfs between all your fans. The same happened with the drum sticks and set lists everything went into the middle 😦 , but I did get my hands onto the set list, just as it should be.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

4 responses »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    Hi….. What can I say …. Keep on ! Xxx

  2. Andrea Cooper says:

    Hey Stef, it’s Andrea. Your pictures turned out really well – better than mine. Can you believe those people in the balcony with Ricky are still sitting down! By the way, I did see Kaiser Chiefs once before in 2005 at V Festival. I’m a huge fan now though. Good to meet you.

    • FrontRowStef says:

      Hello Andrea, glad you stop to say hello! Just back from Europe (Snow Patrol tour..lol)! Are you at V-festival this year? We have tickets for Weston Park!! 🙂 Keep rocking! xx

      • Andrea Cooper says:

        No plans to go to V this year, even though we love the killers and snow patrol. Don’t enjoy it as much as we used to. Hope you have a good time. Am seeing Radiohead at O2 though!

Leave a Reply

