Jamie N. Commons, just had to go a check him out. First time I saw him was at the HMV Forum last year supporting Snow Patrol. So when the ad flashed up saying he is headlining at the Hoxton Hall we just had to go.

We have never been to the Hoxton Hall, so it will be interesting to see a new venue. we took the tube to Old Street Station, walked down Old Street (to the traffic lights), turned right and kept on walking….yes, a bit of a hike, but worth it, what a lovely little place. It seems to be a tiny theatre with an amazing décor and layout. The stage was on two levels with the drums on the higher level.

There is a support band, called Filthy Boy, they all look so very young, or is that me getting old? Rather not think about that…..they are young!!!
We were standing to the left of the stage,  trying to avoid the massive speakers…lol! The sound wasn’t too bad, maybe a little too loud for such a small venue. I did like the tunes from the Filthy Boy’s, just one problem, I didn’t understand one word the lead singer sang. Was it the microphone or the way he sung and spoke? I must say, the young man nearest to us, the guitarist should take the lead singing over, in my view he had a strong and clear voice, I really liked the bits he contributed. The band did well enough, early days I guess.

Right, it’s time for Jamie to take the stage! I did spot him earlier sitting upstairs watching the Filthy Boy’s. Once the stage was set he appeared, he grabbed his guitar and went straight into his first song. Jamie’s voice is still amazing, just as I remembered it, how can it be that such a young man has such a strong deep voice? It is incredible!! Jamie say’s a couple of words but doesn’t interact too much with the audience, something he will have to become used to though, and fans expect to be spoken too! Mind you, not too much, there is a fine balance, after all, we are there to hear the music…..but a little attention is a good thing.
Jamie finished after only half an hour, that feels wrong, he is headlining and coming all this way for half an hour seems disappointing, it will take us longer to get home again. We decide to hang around a little as he is bound to come out and speak to his fans, that is what usually happens at small venues, which is one of the major plus points. Once artists are playing a bigger venues the possibilities of actually meeting them and talking to them becomes small.
So we wait, we can see other members of the band rushing past, straight out the door…lol, they must be smokers. And we wait a bit longer…….no sign of Jamie, a little while longer, but  no Jamie! Well, we might as well go home, it’s a shame I would have liked him to sign my ticket.
Jamie N. Commons, I love your tunes and your voice, but half an hour headlining is not enough, and I feel you need to work with your audience…….! It comes with experience I’m sure, so next time Jamie come and show yourself and say hello.  🙂

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

