Hmmmmm, it was certainly a different kind of gig! I like to state right at the beginning, it was NOT my choice…lol, but I did agree to tag along.

Neil knows of them, they were supposed to play last year at Standon Calling, but it got cancelled and replaced by Lamb. So when I saw them listed at the o2 Academy Oxford I mentioned it and he bought tickets! Neil did warn me they might not be to my taste, but if you don’t try you don’t know!

We got there a bit later than usual, but there seemed not much of a queue, so maybe Spiritulized fans aren’t much into queuing.
We had to go and get the tickets from the box office, they were ordered through someone who got 25% off the price and the tickets haven’t arrived in time. After a few emails being sent backwards and forwards it was agreed that the tickets agency will inform the o2 box office, so we can pick them up there.
When we got there we ask for them, but, we couldn’t be found on any lists…..the girl said sorry, no tickets! Anyway after another phone call or two she finally agreed to give us tickets (I would have been well p***** off otherwise).
It later on expires that the ticket agency, ticket web, kind of “forgot” to tell o2…..! That does surprise me though, I like dealing with ticket web, I never had a problem with them at all, quite the opposite (you will see confirmation of that   when the Katzenjammer review is up)
Anyway, we make our way in, but I have to say I have never ever seen this place so deserted. A couple of girls at the barriers, and a handful of people hanging around at the bar, it is dark and filled with smoke already. What is going on?  We take residence at the barriers…., I do to the bar to get a couple of drinks, there are 4 guys waiting to serve punters! I take the good looking one (of course), he was very sweet and offered to be my slave for the night be careful boy, I might just accept the offer…lol), order a couple of coke’s and pringles for dinner, I ask him what is going on, he say that there is no support band, which in turn he has only just found out when he came on shift. Well, no support band, ok, so hopefully they come on earlier and we’ll get an “early” night, otherwise it will be a two hour wait :-(. Well o2 Oxford, it would have been nice to let people know in advance, we do have an hour’s drive, could have had dinner first.
It is very boring, no interesting people around to talk to if any at all!  Neil decides to play a round of skittles with the empty glasses and the pringle tube….sad times…lol!
Finally there is movement, someone on the stage doing a bit of tuning. More people have arrived now so we stand up and wait a bit longer, it becomes apparent that they won’t come on till 9pm….we wait and we wait and we wait!

Finally the band comes on stage, no big “hello Oxford” or any other introduction, they take their place and start the music, I cannot tell you what songs as I’m not at all familiar with them, and after a few songs I have to say I never will be. The crowd seem to enjoy it, but there was no great passion, no interaction from the band at all, the lead singer didn’t even face the audience at all, and about three quarters into the gig he managed to say thank you.
I’m sorry I found it very tedious, and if I had been on my own or at the back I would have bolted! But I stayed, I thought Neil was enjoying it, and, I wouldn’t have anything to write about. I did need to use earplugs as it seemed quite loud…..not much more to say really, I didn’t like it and I thought the venue was letting the customers down as well, I should have taken up the Slave offer…..missed opportunity there!!!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

