A Plastic Rose, YES!!! I fell in love with them when I saw them supporting Snow Patrol back in February at the o2 London, fantastic band…..one to watch for sure.
I checked with my brother and Neil that they are up for the gig, both said yes, even though they have never heard of them and none of us has a clue what the other two bands are about! Also my brother will be arriving late afternoon from Germany that means straight to Camden from the airport. The tickets were to be picked up at the venue, so we are all set to go!!

I’m excited, I wonder if I would still be as impressed as I was at the SP gig, sometimes at second glance you think “hmmmm, did I really like them”? The few tunes I have been listening too I love, I have ordered the EP,  Build from the ground up,too….somehow I can’t imagine that I got it wrong!!!

Big little brother has been picked up from Heathrow, we took the tube from Osterley, a bit of a journey but better than by car in rush hour!….I had to smile, Volki aka Randy Jerman does actually get changed out of the boot of the car where we parked (along the busy A4 near the station)……I thought only young people do that….ahhh, we are still young ;-), even if only in our heads!!!

We arrive at the Barfly just in time for the doors to open….except when we get to the desk to get our tickets we were told that we had to wait….there was a water leak!! So we stand just outside the door and wait……more people are coming through, and I know these ones: A plastic Rose….stroke of luck!! I tell them we can’t get in because there is a leak, we have a bit of banter and finally Gerry says: “we are A Plastic Rose“, I say:”yes, I know, saw you at the o2! And I wrote a review on my blog”…….”Oh, it’s you!” Gerry gives me a hug (yummy….making an old girls evening) and says: “…you never know who you talking to do you?”
awww, that was nice speaking to them, lovely guys!
They go through the door upstairs, and the girl on the desk lets us in, we get crossed off the list, stamp on our hand and upstairs we go. As usual, stage right!
Volki likes the venue, it’s small and original, I did warn him that the sound isn’t always great and they may be a bit heavy handed with the smoke machine. Earlier Gerry assured us though that the sound was great tonight. So let’s be surprised! Soon enough A Plastic Rose came on stage; I ask Ian if they had run out of paper, his set list is scribbled onto a random bit of paper….that will be mine at the end of the set! I should get it signed as well!
They are starting with “build from the ground up”, followed by “all you know and love will die” and finishing with “kids don’t behave like this”, and yes, I still love them! Couple of songs into the set I looked at Neil and my brother; I can tell Neil likes them too, my brother? I think so, but they not country are they!! 😉 At some point Gerry is doing a bit of banter with the crowd, like “who’s seen us before”, he points at me and says “I know you have”……see, this is how you interact with fans!! Far far too soon their set is over :-(, they clear the stage, and yes, I grabbed Ian’s set list, I will treasure it….lol!!! I’m half contemplating trying to catch them at the Merch stand, but people are pushing in, so I stay were Iam….the next band must be good!
The James Cleaver Quintet is taking the stage, hmmmmm, not sure what to think, they are loud, very loud, better get those earplugs in. They also seem very angry and to be quite honest, it is not making me feel good inside 😦
Uhhh, and the one thing I do despise out on the streets is spitting, such a disgusting habit…..doing it on stage is an absolute no no!  Somewhere along the line they start using some brass, couple of Saxophones and a Trumpet, you can’t actually hear them at all, and I’m not quite getting the point. They also must have the largest pedal board I have ever seen, is it really necessary? At some point they on their knees and seem to be playing the pedals rather than the guitars! This band is definitely not for me or my companions, and no it has nothing to do with being metal, I have been to the Hammer Fest and really enjoyed it! So thumbs down for you guys!
Next on is Safety Fire, I’m now really not sure what to expect! The band members look a little more “grown up”, so there is hope. When Sean McWeeney start the first song I’m somewhat surprised, this sounds far to gentle, pleasant even. But hang on, that was the quietness before the storm, it soon got much heavier. To the point that I cannot understand one word Sean is singing, or is it screaming. What is quite amusing is two of the guys are wearing matching shoes to their guitar, one in yellow and one turquoise, but why the turquoise guitar was tucked up under his chin I’m not sure, looks a bit silly, but maybe I’m just ignorant and it has a special purpose! Sorry guys, you are just not for us….I can see the crowd loves you, so I say good luck……and leave you to them. 🙂
As I said before, you just can’t win everybody over!
One thing puzzles me though, I would categorise A Plastic Rose as rock, the other two bands as metal…….who choose the support bands?
On the way out I’m looking to see if Gerry and Ian and boys are still around, but I can’t see them….so next time I will get the set list signed and photos taken…and maybe another lovely hug!! 😉

By the way, the Barfly seemed to have got it right today, I was dreading it, remembering the Tribes gig. So brownie points for you today!

Anyway, the three of us leave early, not having had dinner we grab a Nandos….and home we go!
Tomorrow’s gig is Volki’s choice, Katzenjammer….I’m not good with female voices, but I will try everything once.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Hi you!!! This Time i did Not feel i was there … Metal and loud … Not for me!!!

Leave a Reply

