Katzenjammer, all girls band, Folk/Country music…..doesn’t sound like my favourite line up! But I will give it a go, my big little brother assures me these girls are amazing and that was the reason he came over from Germany in the first place. Neil and I will tag along and hope for the best.
I did listen to one or two tracks online, still not too sure though. Still, my brother is convinced they are the best thing since sliced bread!
There was only one problem, I didn’t have my brothers ticket, did it arrive? have I lost it? Am I picking up at the venue? Ohhh, I can’t remember…..it must be in the email confirmation!! Ohhhnooo, I don’t seem to have one, I checked my other accounts….nothing! My brother isn’t exactly happy about that, I might have to buy a new one :-(, ticket that is, not brother!

But first I will call Ticket Web and see if they can do something! I get through after being reminded to have my confirmation number on hand….arrrggghhh. I haven’t got one! A nice young man answered, I explain my dilemma, ready for a fight if needed! But, he is just lovely and very helpful, a few answers to questions and he found me! “you ordered a few tickets” he says, yes, I have, Ticket Web is my preferred agent, specially after today! He tells me I had clicked the option “collect at box-office” and it will be there ready and waiting for me. He promised to resend the order confirmation and wished me a great time. The confirmation came in just as I put the phone down….that is what I call a brilliant service! 🙂

We set off to Scala on our usual route, Burnt Oak station, Northern line to Kings Cross! We are running a little late, but I don’t think there will be a huge queue somehow. How wrong can I be, there is a queue, not massive but there is one!
The boys stand in one queue, for ticket holder and I have to go in the other “collect at box-office” queue, so whoever gets in first will reserve a space! My brother get greeted by a young girl, I think she is called Vicky Chu, I’m not sure if  she is from the fan club, she must have recognised Volki from his FB picture! It was nice of her to say hello anyway. I must say there seem to be a lot of German people here, so it’s not just my brother that flew in specially. Neil actually jokingly said at some point he seems to be one of the only British person here….lol! Well, that is cosmopolitan London for you!

It’s time to go in, the crowd started moving….yes, Volki and Neil are on the move before me….I get to the box office, credentials checked, wrist stamped and in I go, the boys have done me proud, stage right, just as it should be!
There is obviously a large following, a lot of people in Katzenjammer t-shirts around, I do have to say though, they don’t seem as friendly as other die-hard fans. We do at some point actually overhear someone saying that they all should be at the frontrow, I guess they didn’t like “strangers” taking up “their” space, don’t they know who I’m? You would think They be glad to pull new faces into their circle.
At some point a little note get’s passed round, It says that it’s one of the girls Birthday and if we could please all join into the singing! Of course we can!

The support is just about to come on, a young man is fiddling with some cables, and when I give him a cheer he smiles and say 2 minutes! Well, the young Lady that comes on stage looks rather familiar! It is Karima Francis, we saw her last at the Union Chapel, supporting Smith and Burrows, just before Christmas.
I didn’t think she was the right kind of music for the support, I expected some Country or Irish music.  Karima, did well though, she did say herself that she felt she was singing the wrong type of music, but was pleased to be able to support Katzenjammer at The Scala. She is actually very very funny, Karima said a couple of things that just made me crack up……!

In between bands I struck up a conversation with the photographer in front of us, he took the photo of the 3 of us. He told me he worked for AAA music, I know them well, Neil and I had won some great competitions through them. He looked at me and said: I have seen you before haven’t I? Yes, I’m sure he has! I gave him a badge to check out the blog, so if you are reading this, please say hello.

When the girls from Katzenjammer arrived on the stage, you could literally feely the energy and excitement, they launched straight into their first song “Ouch!” and  immediately I felt hooked, the style is country/folk, very lively and the girls, Anne Marit, Marianne, Solveig, Turid,performed brilliantly. On stage was an array of instruments, you name it it was there! And soon we dicovered that each and every one of these girls could play any instrument, now that is impressive!  When the crowd was told that it was Anne Marit’s Birthday today, everybody sang, and the fan possy held up some cards saying Happy Birthday I guess….. what made me smile was that there were obviously more cards than hands, but they weren’t passed around! Anne Marit was touched, she announced it wasn’t just any Birthday, but her 30th! A mere child I say!
I must say, considering I don’t like female voices, how much did I loved these girls! They are lively, talented and beautiful….yes, I’m jealous!  They interacted with the crowd, they smiled, they interacted with each other, constantly moving about, and they are resourceful: at some point Soleig was looking for her washboard,…she looked everywhere and couldn’t find it, so she took a water bottle and improvised! Another time she was playing the trumpet, brilliant…..ok ok, you guessed, she is my favourite! But then Marianne is so much fun, she kicked off her shoes at some point, ended up with torn tights…..she reminds me of my mother, I could imagine her to be as outrageous as Marianne is! I’m, no, we all are very impressed! It’s the first time we saw them live, but not the last! Infact, when we got home we booked tickets for the XOYO in May, let’s see if they can do it a second time.

If they can, then it might just have to be a day visit to Conbury Festival in July .  The only down side I found, was no Merchandise….it would have been nice to be able to buy Cd’s or t-shirts and it would have been even better to meet the girls and get things signed. And there was no set list, not that I saw one….anyway, the chances would have been slim with the Katzenjammer possy! And it would have been nice to be welcomed rather than ignored by the obvious fan club, then again, I guess that is what Vicky did outside………

As far as I can tell everybody had a great time, so I’m looking forward to May.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

3 responses »

  1. Vicky Chu says:

    Hi Stef! Vicky Chu’s here! 🙂 It was lovely to meet your big little brother! 🙂 He actually told me he is bringing you along! 🙂 Great review of the gig! Thank you very much! You are in for a treat at XOYO AND Cornbury AND any other Katzenjammer gig you go to, because every Katzenjammer gig is special. These girls are not only fantastic performers, but also solid, professional musicians who have an unlimited range of music styles, instruments and many years of playing together behind them (they formed in 2005 and have since released two albums – Le Pop (2008) and A Kiss Before You Go (2011), which is out in the UK in May). The main principle that this band lives by when it comes to making music is ‘music without rules or compromises!’, which makes their music appeal to people of very different age groups and music tastes. For me, Katzenjammer are a band who make genuine music. Music from the heart. Which also happens to be beautifully arranged, ingeniously played and fantastically performed. Nothing more, really 🙂 The London XOYO gig is part of their UK tour in May – Katzenjammer start in Bristol on the 17th of May, moving onto Manchester (18th), Glasgow (19th), Birmingham (20th), Brighton (22nd) and finishing in London on the 23rd of May. You can find further info on the Katzenjammer’s Facebook page (www.facebook.com/katzenjammerne) and the Tour section of their official website (www.katzenjammer.no) And lastly – all people who like/love Katzenjammer are welcome to join our Facebook forum called Katzenjammer Nation, as if you like/love Katzenjammer, you are part of the Nation by default! 🙂 I am looking forward to meeting you in May at XOYO, Stef! And I know at least a dozen of people who would love to buy you a drink for this wonderful review! 🙂 Say hello to Volki from me! 🙂

    • FrontRowStef says:

      Thank you Vicky, I’m looking forward to meeting you all atthe XOYO….and it looks like I may have to get drunk….hehehehehe 😉

      • Vicky Chu says:

        At a Katzenjammer gig, you don’t need to get drunk – the show is absolutely sufficient to set you flying! 🙂 But at XOYO I’m afraid you will have to down a glass or two, as I am definitely buying you one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

