I love it when I find a new venue to check out! I found  the Green Note when I was looking for a little gig for my brother Randy Jermane, being a Country singer/songwriter himself I wanted to find something for his taste.
I didn’t realise it was so hard to find some live Country music at weekends in London, if anybody knows a few places please leave a link for me in the Comment box.
Anyway, I came across a little place in Camden called the Green Note, just a little way up the road from the Jazz Cafe. It’s a vegetarian restaurant with live “world” music, and tonight they are featuring some Bluegrass. I got the “yes please” from my brother and went ahead booking a table, we might as well sample the food! They have two sittings, we opted for the later one.
The band playing that night was Keith Pearson’s Coup de Grass………

We made our way to Camden on my usual route, parking at Burnt Oak station hop on the tube, just in case it’s a late finish, there is a night bus from Camden station to Edgware that will be passing Burnt Oak.
We find the place easily, only a few minutes walk up Parkway, we arrived far too early so we decided to have a drink at a pub called the Spread Eagle. It look really small from the outside, but was surprisingly large inside. It seems one of the old fashioned pubs, an array of different shaped tables and chairs, piles of board games, creaking wooden floors…..I quite liked it!!

Once we finished our drinks we left to go to the Green Note, it’s a tiny place with sparkly lights outside, how did they know I like sparkly lights? lol…..
We went inside what looked like a hallway, a couple of tables where people sat at,  long heavy red curtain blocking off the view to the main room. We could hear music being played, so I guess the first session was still going on.
We had our names crossed off and our hands stamped, we ask one of the girls what will happen now, she said: you can go through to the bar and wait there till your table becomes free. So we did just that.
As we went through the curtain we were confronted with a tiny room, the stage on our right, the musicians playing, 5/6 small round tables scattered about and 2/3 long tables with benches to the left side. At the far end a bar, with quite a few people waiting already. This is cute, cosy and intimate. We joined the people at the bar and watched the band, they are older boys, but very entertaining.  They finish their set and announce a break to enable people to get to their tables and order some food.
That is exactly what we were doing, we had table 12, right by the stage of course, we ordered a mixed platter of vegetarian goodies and a couple of drinks. It is a bit of a squeeze for everybody to dodge the tables, and when the food arrives it’s  filling up the tiny table, but the food is rather delicious, on the expansive side but tasty. I don’t think I could afford it every time, but it is a nice treat, I had Banana cheesecake for desert, beautifully presented, but not my favourite!
The band started to play before desert was served, there are 4 men, Keith Pearson, having been classed as one of Britains best Banjo players and has been very successful in Australia.  James Darby, a World Harmonica Champion, Tony (Will) Buch who only just stepped into this role and Phil (Tarzan) Milner who wore a rather sparkly outfit and a top hat! They are funny, experienced performers and a really enjoyable band to watch. Keith’s dry humour makes everyone chuckle and he gets the crowd to sing along to ……… ,he even commented of a couple of rather good voices in the audience, I’m sure one of them was Randy’s. I must say these guys are creating a good atmosphere and this is a lovely evening, nice place, good company and good music……this place is a real little treasure!
Once the bands set is over they packing up, I ask James if I could grab the set list, to which he said yes! We kind of feel a bit anti climaxed now, it seems to be over before it had begun. We have a chat with a young lady called Deborah, she works here, and what an absolute lovely young girl. She tells us all about the open mic night on the last Tuesday of every month, and if you would like to take part at some point to make sure to email first, if you are coming a long way and want’s to make sure there is a space for you.

I do think this will not be the last time I’ll be visiting The Green Note, thank you for a great evening.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    I would not mind going there… Sounds a nice place … Another success Steffi …. With “our brother” …. Just can’t stop reading !!! Keep on “sista” x

Leave a Reply

