Yay, I won another competition with Converse, I did last year but couldn’t go for some reason. This year the Vaccines are headlining, brilliant, I’m looking forward to this, especially as I love the 100 Club!

We got to the 100 Club a bit late, the doors were already open, but we still got a space right by stage left. It was busy, I felt a little out of place age wise, but hey, I spit in the face of age! 🙂
There were a lot of camera and filming equipment around, I have to say during the evening it got a little frustrating with the photographers pushing in, but then they do have a job to do.

The first band up were Zulu, we had no idea what to expect from them. The band members came onto the stage followed a little later by the lead singer. Not sure what to think, the way he is dressed you would think he’ll be a ska boy, but when he was starting to sing it was a touch of…..how can I say? Metal? It was a strange performance, he jumped about like mad, overdoing the moves as far as I was concerned. Looking at the watching crowd  I could see a few people laughing, I’m sure nobody was quite sure what was going on, there was one girl that dances like mad and seems to love it, must be his girl friend or sister ;-). At some point he took a water bottle and emptied the entire contents  around him, the guy at the lightning/sound desk wasn’t happy at all, he covered everything up with towels. It must be expensive equipment, and one thing I do know electricity and water don’t mix too well. Another guy, presumably a techie, pushed through to the stage, and it looked like he was telling him off about spraying water everywhere! Mate, you are at the 100 club, not some Festival…..I wasn’t impressed by his antics or performance, and looking around I don’t think I was the only one! Thumbs down for Zulu I’m afraid.

Next up are Filthy Boy, we have of course seen them before, not too long ago when they were supporting Jamie N. Commons. I felt then that the young man doing the lead vocals wasn’t projecting his voice enough and certainly didn’t speak very clearly. I was curious to see how they would perform today.
Before they arrived on the stage, the roadies were drying the instruments and floor that Mr. “I’m at a Festival” managed to get soaked. If I was the drummer of the Vaccines I wouldn’t be best pleased having my drum kit soaked!
Finally the Filthy Boys arrived on stage, a couple of songs into their gig and I’m pleasantly surprised! The lead singer (I’m sorry, I’m not familiar with your names….Yet) is projecting his voice much much better, and even though he still sounds a bit “bored” when he speaks we can actually understand him. Yes, we are liking them a lot more today then last time, there is definite potential here. 🙂

It took a little while for The Vaccines to come on stage, the techies were busy getting the stage set up properly, people are pushing forward, anticipation is rising. I watched as the set list were taped down, I was more or less in front of one, but I knew the girl next to me wanted one too, but I also saw the technician put a couple of spares by the lightning man. I had a chat with the girl next to me, I ask her what camera she has, as I watched her taking great photos without a flash, I do need a new camera, I’m just not happy with the quality of my photos. Anyway the girl is using a Lumix Lx5, must save my pennies!
I can see some of the techies discussing routes for the Vaccines to come on stage, at some point it looked liked they were passing right in front of us, but they changed their minds and made them go around the lightning desk, still, not far from where we were standing. Then again, nothing is far from were you stand at the 100 Club.
And finally Justin and his Band come onto the stage, Justin interacts with the crowd straight away, he is full of energy and it feels like he is really enjoying being here. I haven’t listen to the Vaccines too much, to be honest I found there album was not very inspiring when I listen to it at home. But here live, they are brilliant, Justin’s interaction with the fan’s is fantastic, he jumps into the crowed, he leans right over, he points at individuals, everybody is drawn in, singing and clapping.  I love the songs “under your thumb” and “post break up sex”,  this is so much better then on the CD, I love it when that happens, you really feel like you get something extra by going to see a band live. Árni Hjörvar made me smile, he has this ” surprised” look on his face all the time, I want to make him a speech bubble and write into it: “omg, I’m on stage playing in front of people”….I see him smile once (what a great smile), but it was at the technician, not me….:-(
I’m really enjoying their set, the performance, sound….everything seems perfect to me.  Time goes far too quickly,  it seems like they only just started when they went off stage…..back for the encore a few minutes later! Justin doing some crowd surfing at some point, wild!! They finish of with “Norgaard”, brilliant!
The whole room seemed to have had a great time……at the very end, as predicted, the girl with the posh camera grabs the set list, no matter, I know where another one is hiding. I get the attention of the guy at the desk, I ask him for the set list, he says he can’t give me his as he got notes on them, I point to the secret hiding place….and yes, I get one 🙂

It was a really great night, thank you Converse for making me a winner.

Lovely thing that happened later: A young girl I met at the second London Date for Snow Patrol contacted me via this blog, she was at this gig too, she saw me but didn’t want to lose her space at the front, so she didn’t come and say hello. No matter, we are FB friends now 🙂

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

2 responses »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    Keep on … Cant stop Reading when i Start !😄

Leave a Reply

