Today it is another competition win, not mine I hasten to add, Neil won these tickets for today, courtesy of AAAmusic.
We have no idea what to expect from this band, but we will give it a go.

The venue was The Garage in Islington, we got there quite late so we literally walked straight in. It wasn’t terribly busy, the first support band, Purson, was already playing.
We went to the to the barrier and got a spot at the front easily.
I really liked the sound of the band Purson, I managed to get a couple of photos , but it was actually there last song they were singing.
Neil and I were disappointed to have missed their set. We will check them out and hopefully catch them soon at another gig. Purson, you will see us again.

While the stage got changed over for the next band, El Doom And The Born Electric, I had a chance to look around, it was terribly busy and the people that were there didn’t seem very friendly. I really wasn’t sure if I should be here, I have a terrible feeling this is not going to be one of my favourite gigs. I have flashbacks to the gig at the Barfly, loved the first band but couldn’t get the hang of the second or third! And I was actually told by The James Cleaver Quintet to “get out more”, (I do think I’m out a lot!!) because I dared to say I didn’t like them much especially the spitting on stage.

The stage is set, and El Doom comes on, wearing what appears a country/Western outfit, I really do not know what to expect, there are about 5 band members squeezed onto the tiny stage….and they are loud….lol!
The crowd obviously loves them, but I’m finding it difficult to get into it. They are skilled musicians and I guess the genre is progressive rock, some bits of the songs are really catchy other bits I can’t understand. El Doom, I think Ole is his name, does a great job of working the fans, he is delivering his music to them rather then at them. They doing well but I’m afraid it just isn’t for me, I gave it a try, I can see the potential and I’m sure they will be successful, but I wont be becoming a huge fan.

When Motorpsycho come on stage the crowd had moved forward and there seem to be a lot more people, mainly men, I still don’t get particular good vibes from the people around me, I haven’t spoken to a single soul.
The music starts and it does sound promising, I might just like this. But, a little way into the song the genre seem to change, they sounding more like the band Spiritulaised, kind of psychedelic rock. I’m not liking this at all, I look at Neil and he seems to feel the same. We stay for a couple more songs, but I just can’t handle it, we make our way to the back of the venue, might as well give a fan the chance to be as close as possible. As we are standing and watching from the back we decide to leave early, it just isn’t happening. I’m sorry Motorpsycho, this is no refection on you or your abilities, but it is not for us.

So we go home to have an earlier night! Tomorrow we go to another competition win, Frank Turner, don’t know him either!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    Spiritual music is not my typ either … Shame but never mind !

Leave a Reply

