Another competition win and what an amazing one! I won tickets to see Noah and the Whale at the Royal Albert Hall, courtesy of Live Nation. I’m taking Martina along, for both of us it has been a long time since we saw a gig at the Albert Hall, for me it was 2009, Snow Patrol.

We didn’t rush to get to the venue, as I was more or less sure that the winning tickets were seated, and as far as I remember The Albert Hall is all seated.
When we finally got there we went to the box office,  guest list queue, and 2 tickets were waiting for me, and yes we had seats!
We went through the first available door, bags checked, asking if we were in the right place, the security guard directed us to another young man standing a little further down from the entrance. We went up to him to ask were we have to go, just to be greeted with a big friendly smile saying you are right here, second row from the front! Yes, we did like the sound of that! He led us in and pointing to a couple of seats, wished us a great time. Well, we couldn’t believe our eyes, stage right (literately, might as well be sat on the stage), even closer then frontrow, so tonight we were in front-of-frontrow…..loving it, tonight they also removed the seats from the pit and had standing. Our chairs swivelled around so you didn’t need to fear neck ache, fantastic, they were also rather comfy and plenty of space around you.

The first support, Rae Morris, was already on stage, we missed the very beginning. Rae is a young girl from Blackpool way and her voice is quite special, clear and strong.  She seems very young, 20ish, and it must be nerve racking and exciting at the same time to be all alone on the stage in front of a nearly packed out Albert Hall. She seems confident and manages to keep the attention of the audience. Considering I’m not too keen on female voice I feel this young lady may need to be watched, definite talent here.

The next support is a band from Canada called Bahamas, Afie Jurvanen, the main man’s name, I read somewhere that he has played the guitar and piano for Feist (another Canadian export). I guess his music could be classed as indie/folk, his songs are interesting, and his performance shows  he is confident on stage. Personally I will have to take more time to listen to this young man, it didn’t quite blow me away, nevertheless there are plenty of fans in the crowd that obviously know him much better then I do. Do check out his debut album  Barchords, it had great reviews and seems to be worth a look.

Now it’s time,Charlie Fink aka Noah and the Whale frontman are making their appearance. I saw them last year at the iTunes festival at the Roundhouse, and if I’m honest I thought they were alright, not amazing or brilliant, just alright.
So here I was with no expectations hoping to enjoy a great night out.
The band came on stage, still looking the same as last year, smart suits and well groomed, do I detect any nervousness? No, the boys seem very confident as they launch into their first song “Life is Life” ……and what is happening here? They sound amazing! I can’t remember such confident voices, suburb performance and Albert Hall, your sound quality is out of this world. This is going to be a fantastic evening.
The band is as always immaculately dressed, they are confident and quite obviously enjoying the performance, like Charlie says:” what an honor to be able to play at the Albert Hall” and judging on tonight’s show they so deserve it.
The crowd of young girls that made it to the barriers are mesmerised, even the young men and a few more mature people that came along are engrossed in their show. When Charlie takes his jacket off the girls are screeching and screaming, ok, so I can’t see him as a sex symbol, but he is cute, specially when he smiles. I have to say, I’m really enjoying this gig, they do sound amazing! By the time “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.” people are on their feet dancing and join in with singing.
Once they came back for the encore, giving us the beautiful song “first day of spring”, it leaves everybody with a warm and happy glow.

Noah and the Whale, either you have developed immensely over the past few month or I just wasn’t receptive enough when I saw you last time. Thank you for proving me wrong! And I know for a fact that Martina felt exactly the same, so hopefully it wont be too long until we are able to catch you again.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Yes you are right Steffi I thought they were better as at the roundhouse and the sound at the alberthall was amazing good ! Loved it and of course the seats ! well done noa and the whale ! And you Steffi for writing it just the way it was !

Leave a Reply

