Tonight it’s Tracer, I did have a chance to see them last year when they were supporting Royal Republic, but I wasn’t well, and someone else went instead of me :-(!
So Tracer it is, not missing these guys twice. They are a 3 piece band, brothers Leigh and Michael Brown and Andre Wise on the Drums, and there is no denying  that Leigh and Michael are brothers, both rather good looking ;-)!

We were running quite late today, so by the time we arrived at the o2 Islington we had missed the support band Little Crazy. I did read another review which stated “the 2 dancing girls at the back took all the attention”….must have been written by a male!!!
We managed to squeeze in at the end of the barriers stage right!

The stage was quickly set for Tracer, this was to be the start of their first UK headlining tour, and the venue is pretty much packed out, for a Tuesday night  it’s not bad going. I would love to live near this venue to just be able to pop in for a quick gig! The stage is nearly bare, drums at the back and a couple of mics…Tracer released their album “Spaces in Between” last September, and I expect to hear most of it tonight.
And there they are, it sounds like there are a lot of fans in the audience, clapping and shouting. the 3 boys take their place and start with the song ” The bitch”, their confidence and ability shows within the first few seconds, amazing, the crowd goes wild and you can see Tracer is feeding of the crowd and giving more and more of themselves. They could have played is safe and just performed the well rehearsed album, but no, they throw in some older tunes like “Wrecking Ball”, they are here to conquer Europe, and from what I can see it wont take them long to do just that.
It is getting hot on and off stage, Michael takes off his shirt, yes, ok, lovely sight!!! It also displays his tattoo he had done in Amsterdam in 2011 I think, it says “schwenken”, I’m not too sure what it means to Michael, I didn’t catch it when he told the audience. But translating it from German it means swing, kind of swinging from side to side……!
These boys don’t only turn up the volume and produce big sounds, they show talent and fantastic lyrics, which apparently were written in Mum and Dad’s front room. I love “Voice in the Rain”, it is more like a rock ballad, for me it’s one of those songs that if you close your eyes it carries you away and you can forget all that is going on around you.
Their enthusiasm is infectious, they making use of the whole stage, giving their all; they are talented confident young men. Just enough talk to give snippets of information, no long pauses in between songs or awkward moments where things didn’t go to plan. Yes, it is loud and earplugs are a must, but the o2 Islington have yet again done a brilliant job where the sound and lights are concerned, maybe a touch to smokey. Suddenly all three of them turn their backs to the audience and play their instruments backwards, awesome!!
Yes, you guessed, I love this band, I’m sure great things are going to come their way yet, and I can say I saw them at the beginning!
After “walk alone” another very powerful song they go off stage, the crowd is stamping their feet and chanting, soon they are back for the encore.
They kept “Too much”, their first single for the very end, we all know this one well and absolutely everybody is joining in, fists are up in the air, heads rocking…..it leaves us wanting so much more! Awesome gig……I can’t wait for them to come round again. Go on boys, go all the way! 🙂
And yes, I do get my hands on a set list… 🙂

I know Neil liked them too, but not such a good day for him again so he spends  most of the time  leaning against the wall to the side of the stage.. :-(, Martina enjoyed coming to the gig, but I don’t think the genre is quite her thing….but live music is nearly always enjoyable even if the music doesn’t speak too much to you. And, Tracer has delivered a superb show…….!
Not only are they brilliant musicians but they are lovely too! When we made our way out we managed to grab Michael’s attention, he’s is happy to talk and pose for photos, even insist of having one retaken as he was looking the other way! Awwwww……there are many that want a piece of him, so we leave him to it, we spot Andre somewhere in the crowd, but there are just too many people wanting their attention. We leave them to it and make our way home…..another great night of music!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    As Steffi Said Not too much of my Kind of music but Life Music is always Special … I enjoyed the Show and of cours the aftershow with the photoshooting ! Lol .. Well done Steffi

Leave a Reply

