This review is about a show with a difference! American ventriloquist Jeff Dunham, ok, so he doesn’t sing but he deserves to be written about!
I have been lucky enough to see him live once before, in San Antonio in Texas, that was the first time AJ (Achmeds sons) was introduced, we had amazing seats, 3rd row from the front, and couldn’t stop laughing all the way through.

Having missed Jeff-ffa-fafa last time when he was in the UK, I just didn’t want to miss him again, and I knew Neil would really enjoy the show. So, courtesy of Jana we managed to bag ourselves a couple of tickets, not quite 3rd row but still pretty close to the stage. As we had seat we didn’t need to rush and queue, that makes a bit of a change! Still, there was no time to waste by the time we got there, found our seats, and not with much help from the staff….they couldn’t quite work out were our seats were. Still, we found them! I had brought along Peanut, he had been waiting on my bed a couple of years ago when I went to visit friends in San Antonio. So there was no way he would stay at home! People uhhh-ed and ahhh-ed around us, saying they couldn’t buy one as they had sold out. What they didn’t know was that my Peanut is much better quality then the one you can buy at the merchandise stand and, he talks…!
It was only a matter of minutes when the screens went up with the questions and answers! Hilarious! It’s very hard to put it down on cyber-paper, but trust me some of them were very near the mark, but that is Jeff Dunham for you, if you are easily offended you best not go and see him.

And finally it was time for the “Controlled Chaos Tour”, Jeff Dunham rushed onto stage greeting the packed out Wembley Arena, obviously pleased to be in the UK and seeing a sold out venue.
Jeff started with showing us some family photos, of course, you guessed it his first dummy had become a family member, I didn’t think this was a great idea, a couple of photos would have done, I guess he needed to make it worth our money. In San Antonio he had a support act, the Guitar man.
Jeff tells us he will do some old and new material for us, including bits in preparation for Halloween, each character had chosen their own costume and they will demonstrate bits of it.

Walter was first on stage, yes, grumpy Walter, he represents a lot of old men I know…lol! The show was obviously tailored to the UK, when Walter was ask what he liked best in England his answer was: “It’s not France”, or his opinion about drinking and driving: “when Brits drive responsibly they are careful not to spill their f****** drink on the steering wheel”, loads of other things did feel like they very off the cuff, but then I have been fooled before thinking this and it was all just really cleverly written and rehearsed. No matter, either way it doesn’t spoil the show for me at all, I don’t think I have stopped laughing yet! Oh yes, and apparently Walter is going to be Frankenstein at Halloween, he showed off his new headdress!

Next one out is Red-neck Bubba J; I must say he is my least favourite character, but it may be that I don’t know anyone like him. Anyway, Bubba J has a new job, security guard at a brewery….yes you guessed, and he is drunk most of the time. He decided to be a Vampire for Halloween! One funny thing that happened while Bubba J was on stage is: a moth was flying around, Jeff picked up on it and (there is no way that was rehearsed) made that little sketch up! “make it talk; make it talk” was one of the things that Bubba J said!

A quick 15 minutes break and once Jeff is back on stage it’s Achmed’s turn!! “SILENCE – I kill you”……A little film was shown before and after the break, Achmed driving a Sports car on a desert highway. He spots a sexy woman who’s broken down; he stops, his eyes on storks, and…..saves the goat that the women had with her!  Nice ZZ-Top piss take!
When Achmed delivered his “Silence…” bit for the first time the crowd went wild, oh yes, we all love the dead terrorist! He is so dumb but serious with it!
At some point Jeff seems to have trouble with Achmed’s legs, they are all over the place, and his ribs fall off. In true Jeff fashion he just add lips and corporate it all into the act, I’m losing sight of what is script and what isn’t, just shows what a skilled artist Mr. Dunham is.
Achmeds Halloween character is the American women, Achmedina, there is nothing scarier than an American women in Achmeds Eyes.

Yay, and here comes Peanut, I love Peanut, he is the bad boy of the bunch, cheeky and not really very politically correct! My purple friend comes out the box and immediately injects some naughtiness into the show! As always, he is hyper active, swears a lot and doesn’t listen to what Jeff has to say. Who does that remind you of? Yes, most of us have someone like that at home! His Halloween costume is going to be Batnut, he is going to take on Batman with his special powers!!
Nobody is save from Peanut, somebody in the audience shouts out and yes, Peanut makes fun of them. He teases Jeff, mentioning his divorce and his general weaknesses. It gets worse when José Jalapeño on a stick appears. He lets rip were José is concerned, especially about his thick Spanish accents and his immigration status. But José takes it all in his stride and even delivers a line or two back at Peanut. José doesn’t stay long on stage, which is a shame, as I love the banter between the two characters, still he keeps joining in from the box. Peanut eventually pulls out a mini Dunham to annoy Jeff even more, ha, Jeff pulls out a mini Peanut! Jeff Dunham ends up doing voices for Peanut, José, mini Dunham and mini Peanut…..this man’s talent is unbelievable.

Far far too soon the show is over, everybody jumped up to their feet to give a standing ovation, the clapping continued quite some time after Jeff had left the stage and the house lights went up.
An absolute awesome show, I haven’t laughed that much in a long time, since San Antonio 2010 to be precise….lol!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

3 responses »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    One day I will go and see jeffa ffaaa! It seems like a good laugh of an evening and fun ! Hopefully my English would be good enough !

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hi Stef. I hope you are well. My name is Reg and I work for Jeff Dunham’s management firm. So glad you enjoyed the show! Please email me at your earliest convenience. reg@levityent.com

Leave a Reply

