Foster the People tonight, this caused a bit of fun and games with my partners in crime, they kept changing!!
Neil had bought the tickets, just to receive a letter straight after completion of  the purchase that in fact he has to be somewhere else 😦
He ask me if I knew anyone who might want to come along….of course I knew, Robyn is a big fan!! That’s sorted Robyn and I will go, I’m really pleased, quality time for Robyn and I! But no, it wasn’t too be, Robyn has her final University exams coming up, she has stacks to do, so no fun for that poor girl right now! As it happens, Martina was staying with me, and she was more then happy to fill Robyn’s shoes! 
Due to Family commitments we are going to take a chance and arrive on time rather then early. we got there about twenty past seven, believing there was no way to get to the barrier now, but I do have the luck of the Irish….hehehehe.
When we got to Brixton Academy there was still a long queue and a slow process of getting through the doors. There was however a Priority queue  which was empty, so we more or less walked straight through, once in I saw there were still spaces at stage right of the barrier, I make a beeline and secure our spot. Next to us are 2 couples using loads of room, so hopefully we will be able to edge a little more forward later.
I can spot the female security guard that was so kind to Jade when we came to see Example, she is very nice and friendly, I must find out her name at some point.

Soon enough the stage is prepared for the first support band, We Babarians, a three piece Indie-Rock band from New York. Yet again I have no idea what to expect, a blank canvas for me. They sounded good, we quite enjoyed them, a bit like U2 maybe. The crowed seem to respond well to them and they were clearly happy with the result.
The second support band was Mini Mansions, again totally new to me. They appeared to be really happy to be on stage in Brixton, they kept saying thank you, to be honest, that got a bit too much, I didn’t respond too well to their music, I’m sad to say they butchered the song “Heart of Glass”, I felt that the order of the support bands were wrong, these guys should have been on first as it seemed to dampen down the atmosphere, people were just waiting for Foster the people now. Actually, maybe that is the whole idea of it, a bit like the sound and lights are mostly rubbish for support bands, but when the main act comes on everything seems so much better. So let’s have a dull band on before us and we seem much much better…..I do hope I’m wrong, it would be very sad on two accounts: First: the support band have a hell of a struggle, second: main act that need this can’t be that brilliant, can they?
Anyway, I’m sorry Mini Mansions, but you were just not for me.

The stage is being set for Foster the People, I have to admit, I’m only familiar with one or two songs, so I have no expectations and wont be easily disappointed. The 3 piece band were accompanied by a couple of musicians to help out, a guitarist and a Synthesiser player.
Dressed causally but full of confidence, The Academy was now packed out and the pushing had begun. Why do some people think they have the right to turn up late and get to the front???
The first few tracks “Houdini”, “Miss You” and “Broken Jaw” were more or less played in one go, they just sort of flowed into each other without a break. In fact, that wasn’t a bad thing, we are after all here to hear the music and having roughly 10 minutes solid tunes ensured the crowd was theirs! I think they could have played anything now, the crowd would have lapped it up! It does of course help to be skilful and talented musicians with great lyrics. I’m impressed, I’m really liking this band. When Mark Foster finally spoke, it was only to say: “What’s up London, beautiful London”, and that was it for the rest of the night, but it didn’t matter at all, the sheer energy they gave off was infectious, you just wanted more and more! Early on they let off a couple of confetti bombs, specially we girlies love this! Bubbles were released from the ceiling, more ticker tape, the only thing missing were balloons, it was magic!!
For the awesome cover of “hold on” by Alabama Shakes Luke Pritchard from the Kooks appeared to help out, I love it when you get just that little bit extra from a gig then you expected.
Not everything was plain sailing though, I ended up having a little battle with an obnoxiousness young lady, she came barging through the crowed, pushed aggressively to the barriers, so much so that the first couple were left standing behind her. I grabbed as much space as I could, gestured to the girl to reclaim her space but she didn’t want to, so Martina and I took it over. This young girl, Spanish I believe, just carried on pushing me trying to reach her arm over in front of me to get some leverage. She was hard work, and I soon discovered that there were about 4 more girls she obviously wanted to make space for, at the same time I didn’t want to budge, as the last thing Martina needed was being pushed about, so, I stood my ground. The lovely female security guard saw what was happening, came over and told the young girl in no uncertain terms to stop pushing, the girl tried to blame it on me, but the guard had been watching and there was no doubt who was the culprit here. Still, the rude young girl carried on, in the shadows of the barriers, trying to step on my feet and pushing her backside into me. Hehehehehehehehe she doesn’t know me does she, there was no moving me…….! The female security guard came over a couple of times to check we were ok and to apologise that she couldn’t do anything unless she assaults me. That was so nice of her, I explained that I was just protecting Martina, and that I’m quite capable to deal with little girls, still we did appreciate her concern very much.
For the encore Foster the People did 3 songs, “Ruby”, Helena Beat” and “Pumped Up Kicks” the audience went crazy at this point, sing, dancing and clapping, trying to pull Mark into the crowd when he jumped off the stage to go to the barrier, while it rained confetti. I wonder how many of this people in here are actually aware what the “pumped up kicks” song is all about, it’s so catchy anyone will happily sing along, and yet is serious stuff, all about a school massacre, again, brownie points for not just using safe subjects! The energy in the room was electric and you certainly got your monies worth.
Dedicated fans left happy and loving them more, people like myself and Martina, not really knowing the band are turned into fans!! I certainly will buy the album, look out for new songs and most certainly catch them again live whenever possible (minus the irritating little girl)!

Awesome, Amazing, Fantastic, brilliant…………what else can I say? Love them!!

No set list was to be had, everything was thrown into the middle (come on bands, give the sides some attention too). We said goodbye to the Security guard, and I will definitely ask her name next time I see her….made our way out, feeling exhausted, but in a good way!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

