Cambridge again tonight, Lostprophets at the Corn Exchange, now we do like the Corn Exchange a lot, but I bet tonight will be quite a different feel to it.
We expecting a young unruly crowed, and I have already accepted that it is doubtful to get to the barrier at the front. Surly quite a few people will have already queued for hours, and we wont get there much before 6:30ish.
Yes, I was right, by the time we made our way to Cambridge, parked up (really close today) and walked down to the venue we discovered a very very long queue. Neil and I looked at each other and decided to find a place to have coffee instead, not being dedicated Lostprophets fans  we didn’t feel the need to stand at the end of the queue. I did listen to some of their songs, and yes I was excited about seeing them, a lot of people say a lot of good things about them, you never know, by the end of the  I may have been converted

We found a Costa Coffee place nearby, we got a couple of drinks and a panini, sat down and relaxed! When the cafe closed for the night we decided to try the queue again, it was still long, but nothing like earlier. We joined it and people were moving slowly, I guess that is the only downside I could mention about the Corn Exchange, the process of getting people inside is a bit tedious.

Once inside we saw a lot of people hanging around the bar, there was still hope to get fairly close to the barriers. Through the next set of doors, oh dear, it was pretty packed already. We made our way as near the front as possible, and yes, we did get a spot on the barrier, which was great for Neil to be able to lean on it. The barriers seemed to be in a U-shape today, so we did have about 8-9 rows in front but still a decent view. A lot of young people were surrounding us, with the odd older person, I think they may have been Mum’s and Dad’s accompanying their children. The spot where we were standing was actually the entrance to the pit, for the staff and photographers, so we should easily keep this space.

Soon the stage was prepared for the support band, Modestep, I don’t actually get why they are supporting the Prophets, surely they are dubstep rather then alternative rock. But hey, I wont judge too early, for all I know they could be brilliant.  Well, I was wrong :-(, what can I say? They were loud, and I mean loud, my nostrils were vibrating with the rest of my body! I don’t like this, I really don’t like it! Not just the fact that I feel these guys are not a band, but a DJ with a guy singing to the CD at times and the rest of the “band” jumping up and down.. Sorry, it’s not a skill, it’s not entertaining and it’s not enjoyable at all.
Some youngsters seemed to get into it, and yes maybe I’m missing something here, But as a saying goes: ” I might be old, but at least I got to see all the good bands”…….Not even the earplugs help much, the sound levels are simply horrendous, and many many of these youngster have no ear protection whatsoever…..it’s irresponsible, from the band, the fans and the venue, on the continent the security guys give out earplugs before gigs! There might be a lesson to be learned.
Neil and I are in agreement that if the Lostprophets are that loud we going to to abandon the barrier and move to the back.

We breath a sigh of relieve once they clear the stage, it seemed to go on for ever! It didn’t take long to change over the set over, soon everything was in place and ready to go.
It has been roughly 10 years since the Lostprophets released their debut album, as so many band their style and influences change over the years, you try out new ways of making music, and these guys must be doing it very well, judging by the massive crowd that was filling up this relatively small space.Loud cheering and clapping announced the bands arrival on the stage, they look confident and eager to start. I’m pleasantly surprised, these guys are amazing, even though I don’t really know their music I get sucked into the energy they are spreading all over the venue, you can’t help but dance and stretch your arms up to show the guys your appreciation. The sound is still a touch loud, but that may just be the after effects from the first band, it’s a shame though as there seem to be a lot of banter between band member but I find it impossible to make sense of any of it. They have a good mix of older songs, tracks from the new album “Weapons” and even a new tune is being introduced. I even find myself picking up the chorus  and singing along, this proves to be what accomplished musicians they are, every single band member has the confidence to project their passion for their music out into the crowd. It is obvious the band is enjoying the gig as much as the people on the ground, even a novice like me get’s totally taken over, I’m loving it. The set lasts for about an hour and a half, maybe a little more, and every song seems to hype up the crowed a notch more. Space is being made in the middle for the moshpit, people are crowd surfing and all without aggression. From the time we got there we had a group of young men in front of us, the one leaning on the barrier kept looking longingly into the middle, until he broke loose. He told his mates and off he went to join the moshing, I’m sure I even saw him surfing the crowd.
By the time the Lostprophets went off stage for a quick pause before the encore, everybody had been worked into a frenzy. Back they come for a final couple of songs, well know songs by the sound of it, oh how I wish I had taken more time to listen to them. Once they finish and people turned to leave I fought my way to the very front hoping for a set list, no luck on that front, but suddenly a plectrum came flying and I was quick enough to bend down and pick it up! Yes, I did manage to come away with a trophy!
We made our way out and to the car, we felt happy and ready to become a fan. You just can’t beat live music! You get high on it without poisoning your body!!
Lostprophets, you did more then just made up for the not so amazing support band, thank you!

Cambridge Corn Exchange thank you for another brilliant night, and I do think free earplugs should be considered! 🙂


About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    If they where loud for you that would have been impossible for me ! Glad you enjoyed them !

Leave a Reply

