I can’t exactly remember how and when I came across the band Train, I think it was soon after the album “Save me San Francisco“, but I got hooked instantly, I liked their soft rock tunes and lyrics “marry me” and “this ain’t goodbye” and of course “soul sister”…..I just fell in love with them.
So when I heard they were coming to London I just had to see them. Once we managed to get our hands on tickets we found out Martina was coming too, ok, so let’s buy another one, then Kathy found out we are all going…yes, she bought one too! 4 people for the front row this time…:-)

On the day we made our way to the Apollo, I’m afraid Neil isn’t feeling too good today, it’s rubbish; he was so looking forward to this. When we arrived we were confronted with quite a queue already, trouble was, we had one physical ticket and 3 to be picked up at the box office. So Martina and Neil stood in the queue while Kathy and I went to the box office, the tickets weren’t ready, so we hang around and waited. It all got a bit confusing after a while, we had to stay in the box office queue, as we went in that entrance eventually, Neil realised he had forgotten something in the car and made his way back there to join us a little later, Martina came to join us. At last we had our tickets, joined the queue and it wasn’t long until we were on our way inside. Of course the VIP people first, quite a few again, but not as many as at 3 Doors down. Talking about 3 Doors Down, I just saw a photo a few days ago, One of the band members was signing guitars for the VIP ticket holders, there were masses of them!! How NOT special is it to be given one of them? It’s all about the money money money…….enough said!

We got to the barrier stage right, as always, and once we established our space we could do what girls have to do…lol!!
Today’s support bands were a young girl called Elle King and the singer songwriter Matt Nathanson. I don’t really know either of them, but I’m ready for something new.

Elle Kings takes to the stage, she has a good stage presence and soon has the attention of the crowd, she has a lovely voice and some great lyrics. She only performs a few songs, but she does get the crowd to participate, and they are more than willing to join in, about half an hour and her set is already finished. Well done Elle that was a really nice performance.

The next on stage was Matt Nathanson, he is an American singer songwriter who blends folk and rock, he did an acoustic session for us today and it sounded great. The two girls next to me were very excited to see him though and knew all his lyrics. I had a chat with them earlier about gigs we have been too or going to in the future. They were well impressed with the amount and different genres I’m seeing. I may have joined the concert nation a bit late, but better late than never!
Matt played 9 songs all together, and we loved his cover of the Prince song “Little Red Corvette” especially. I would say this boy needs investigating further, he has been on the scene a long time and I’m sure he has some good songs for me to get my teeth into! 🙂

The stage was set for Train; it didn’t take long for Patrick Monahan and the rest of the band to appear. The first song was “50 ways to say goodbye” and I’m so pleased to say that Patrick sound even more amazing then I hoped for! “This’ll be my Year” pulls the crowd together, everybody join into the chorus and Patrick has now demanded all the attention and manages to hold on to it all through the concert. At some point he pulls out his phone and takes pictures of the fans and venue which is packed out. He works the stage to his full advantage, talks to the crowed. He points at a couple of people saying that they sang every single word to his songs; he invited them onto stage to join him. The young man is up on stage like a flash and very overexcited, he struts his stuff, shakes the tambourine that he had been given in some inappropriate places, it is very funny though. The young girl seems far moreconcerned to get the rhythm right and not to make too much of a fool of herself. Patrick does keep his cool though and tries very hard to keep the young man at bay, especially when he found an arm appearing between his legs or when he got rather close to the young lady. The crowed loved it though and laughed a lot, especially when Pat announced “..well that was one of the worst things that ever happened to me!” once the  two of them had left the stage holding on to their goody-bag given by Patrick. Yes, it looks as so he got a bit more than he bargained for….. 🙂
Elle Kings joins Patrick on stage to sing “Bruises” with him, beautifully done. His cover of Led Zeppelin’s “Whole Lotta Love” proves he can turn his voice to anything, and also is able to play an array of instruments. Moments like when Patrick got the crowd involved in a sing-a-long, and instead of stopping at the first chorus line we carried on singing, or the endless clapping after “drive by” for instance, or the pure energy rising with every song performed, “marry me” springs to mind or “soul sister”…..it was incredible!!
We watch all the band members taking their turn signing a guitar that is leaning against the drum kit, I wondered what that was for and found out right at the end. Once they finished with “sing together” and sang together we did, Patrick takes the guitar and throw it into the crowd at the centre…..I guess one lucky person managed to catch it and is the proud owner of a signed guitar. The one complaint I do have is that they completely forgot the left and right sides of the front row…..everything was chucked to the people in the middle, so no chance in hell for a set list, plectrum or drumstick. 😦

Well, what can I say, If you just stumbled into the gig, were dragged along or were a “yeah they ok” fan……surly that has changed! The talent, the songs, the obvious enjoyment from the musicians themselves and unlimited energy (from all 3 bands in fact) were amazing….! Another brilliant evening!
Thank you for the music!!!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Yes thanks music ! I loves it and all 3 Bands ! I really enjoyed the Eve … It is just Great again and again to read the Blog Steffi keep on please !!

Leave a Reply

