The Skinny’s are at the 229 Club tonight, of course we are going to support them (that goes without saying), we also taking Martina along, it is about time she becomes a Skindy!!
When we arrived in good time at the 229 Club we found out that it was actually downstairs, cool, I have never been in there. we make our way down to find a more or less empty room, except Sue and Laura, talking about eager…hehehehehe! Still, we get a drink, sink into one of the compfy sofas and catch up with each other.
We are all wondering what the BIG NEWS are that the Skinny Machines are announcing tonight, have they been signed? Whatever it is, it got us thinking and excited.
Very slowly people turn up, I feel sorry for the first Support Act, there are only a handful of people, it must be so hard to perform when you looking at an empty place. But, Robin Romei was doing well, not being deterred by the lack of people, he performed his music very well. Hopefully he will be playing for a few more attentive fans in the not so distant future. Good Luck to you. 🙂

Next up are Sidefields, looking them up later on their genre is described as electro Indie/Pop, not really sure what genre this is supposed to be. A few more people have arrived meanwhile, and we moved closer to the stage, sue took one side of the stage and took charge of the other….:-)
Sidefields are ready to go, I can’t really remember too much about their set…..which confirms to me that they didn’t rock my boat. Sorry guys, I can’t say much more, I just don’t remember. 😦

Out of the corner of my eye I can see the Skinny Machine members coming in and out, and, we also spot Carlos from The Crave……does that mean anything? Will he perform with them? He did carry his guitar….the suspense is killing us!
The Skinny’s are in the process of getting the stage sorted, people have moved in closer and closer, still we are right at the front, well nearly on stage..lol!
Finally the boys are ready, they starting with “Babies on the brain”, followed by “wrong side of the river”, that’s it, the crowed belongs to the Skinny Machines, it is great to see their popularity is growing and growing. I even managed to safe the official photographer at some point, he was just about to stumble of the steps. Jim is strutting his stuff, coming across a little arrogant, luckily I have seen and met him before so I know he is not like that, but new fans could get the wrong impression. then again, I guess as a front man it is a must to be a little over confident and sure of yourself, it doesn’t matter to me, I still love him,  Rikki, Dan and  Mike to bits!!!!
At last, Rikki takes the mic to make his BIG announcement: ” ……Jim is here to stay, he has now joined the Skinny Machines permanently…”  ……brilliant brilliant brilliant news, he just fits in so well, it would have been a mission to replace him. Everybody is clapping and shouting, I don’t think there is anyone here that isn’t happy with Jim finally being a fully-fletched Skinny Machine!!
I also noticed Mike has been promoted to his own microphone :-)….it’s about time too. They also performing a different cover tonight (I still love love love “crazy”), “black and white” from Michael Jackson, to be honest, I’m not too sure about this one. Far to soon the magic is over, happy Skinny Machines, and happy Skindy’s!  Brilliant evening………and I’m sure there are big things to come!

We hang around for a while, I want to introduce Martina and get some photos with her and the boys. First we catch up with Dan, fellow Swiss person, and Jim. We seem to have to wait for Rikki for ages, but eventually I get the photo and all the signatures on my set list (yes, I napped it again, they will need their own folder soon). I also manage to catch a few words with Carlos, he said they have been writing new material and will be doing a lot of gigs again soon. We leave them to it as so many people want to have their attention, and that is a good thing!!! in thesesituation strange emotions get stirred up, on one side you want them to stay the small time band that chats to you, recognises each and every fan, but at the same time you want to see them sucssesful and play on big stages, become a big name even though the fans that been there from the beginning will loose out on that personal touch, that is just the way it is……..so remember boys when the big times are here, just smile down to us at the barriers and make us feel special 😉

We make our way up and out, a few people, including Mike, are hanging around. We get chatting to some people about the gig and the boys and how amazing they are! Just to find out the guy we were talking to is in fact Mike’s Dad Richard, what is it with me and dads?? hehehehehehe!! Richard tells us a story about two young girls from Dublin who went to get a table at a restaurant without a reservation, it was the usual table of Bono from U2, and when he turned up they were ask to move. One of them popped out for a smoke just to find herself outside with Bono’s guest, he ask her for a cigarette as he is trying to give up smoking but finding it really hard. When she returned to the table she found a couple of glasses of champagne were had arrived, courtesy of Bono for moving tables. Popping out for yet another smoke she found herself with Bono’s guest again, wondering if he could get Bono’s signature for her? It was done for her and soon after they left. Soon after she ask for her bill, to find it had already been paid. She assumed to would have been paid by Bono, but she was corrected and told that Mr. Springsteen had actually paid the bill. Can you imagine? Standing outside with Bruce Springsteen and not realising who he is …..see, you just never know who you talking to. It is lovely to talk to  Richard, we get also introduced to Mike’s uncle Tom who took the professional photos (yes, keep it in the family)!!  a photo of Mike and his Dad, and we are on our way!! We had a great night, thank you Skinny Machines 🙂

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

