Andy Burrows in London, am I going to miss this? NO!
Not long ago he spent most of his time in Paris, and now he’s gone away to live in Brooklyn….. ūüė¶
Anyway, I bought my ticket, just the one as all my gig buddies have left me for the time being, no matter, I will not miss Mr. Burrows!!

The Old Queens Head, I haven’t been there before, so again a new venue to check out! I know the area quite well, not far from the Angel tube station; the doors aren’t open till 8pm, so no need to rush! I get there about half past seven, it‚Äôs a pub, quite large with random sofas chairs and tables, and it has character! ¬†I get a drink at the bar, and have a look around, oh look, Andy is sitting in the tiny pub garden…I go out there, but he is¬†engrossed¬†in a conversation and I don’t seem to be able to pluck up the courage to speak to him. I do feel a bit lost with no partner in crime; it has been a while since I ventured out on my own!
Andy disappears inside; I follow a while later as it is getting chilly out there. Still about 10 minutes to go till the doors open, so I wait and have a good look round. I spot Frank, Andy’s Dad, we got chatting at Andy’s single launch a while back. He is busy talking to people, he seems to have a whole group of people with him, I might catch his eye later.
Finally, the doors are open; I make my way upstairs to be confronted with an amazing little room, like a Victorian sitting room. More sofas and tables are scattered around, a small bar and a small stage, perfect! This gig promises to be a gem amongst gigs!
Not many people have¬†turned¬†up yet, but I’m sure they will! I see Frank entering and going to the bar, he looks at me and smiles giving me a nod! I go over to the bar to say hello, he says: “I know you, but you need to help me out …” He soon remembers that we had met at the Underbelly! He ask for my name again and says: “I should remember this, same name as Andy’s wife”. His¬†friend¬†joined us and said something in German, I promptly answered and both of them looked at me and said: “you don’t speak German do you?” That opened up more¬†common¬†ground! Richard, Frank’s best friend, has German roots from the Stuttgart area, but he left when he was 10 years old, so his German is still good but a bit rusty. I leave them to it and go back to my seat, there is a bit of commotion on stage, looks as though they getting ready for the support act, Tom Odell. ¬†A few people have now sat down at the table in front of me, it is actually that group of people I saw Frank with, and he did join them a little later.

Tom, a very young looking man with a mature and soulful voice, looking at him you don’t think he would produce a sound like this. His two¬†support¬†musicians¬†Max and Max are really enhancing the quality of Tom’s tunes. If only I could remember his name, I would love to look him up and get to know his music. ( Yay, it is the 20th Dec.12 and I have just come across Tom’s again, I won’t be loosing him again!!! He has also been announced as the winner of the ¬†Brit’s Critics Choice Award, well done Tom!)

The room is filling up now, Andy and Ben are on and off the stage getting it ready. I see members of I am arrows arriving, and members of We Are Scientists, Keith Murry, Chris Cain and Tom Smith from The Editors…..a lot of well known faces, this is turning into a rather interesting evening.
I¬†deposit¬†my bag and jacket under Frank’s table, it is getting crowded now and I don’t want to have to carry it all the time. Vanessa and I have been talking about the We Are Scientists gig in July, I have to check my dates as I will be spending time in Paris, but I think I’ll be able to go.
It’s time, Andy is on stage now, starting the set with Adam and Nick. I see Richard¬†joining¬†our side of the room now, still wearing my badge, love it!! ¬†Ben Burrows, Andy’s brother, joins in ….they carry on with with some I Am Arrows songs,¬†“Hurricane” and “Green Grass”. It feels so cosy and intimate, I love it. Richard tells me that the boys have been friends since school and he remembers them¬†practicing¬†at home, making a lot of noise..lol.
The people on stage are constantly changing, Adam and Ben leave, Tom Smith arrives…….love Hearing “Funny looking angels”, it reminds me of that awesome¬†concert¬†at the Union¬†Chapel¬†just before Christmas. It feels and looks like Andy and a bunch of¬†friends¬†have come together to play some songs, they get some wrong and start again or actually forget the words. The good thing is nobody seems to mind, the whole room seem to be in good¬†spirits and¬†appreciating¬†the fact to have this closeness to¬†the¬†musicians¬†we love.
Keith Murry joins Andy at the end on stage, displaying some superb guitar skills, fantastic. I just have to get tickets for the July gig.
Andy’s last song is a new track, “Keep on Moving On”…..it sound good, I know I’m going to love it,……then again I don’t see any reason why I’ll be disappointed with anything that ¬†Andy produces next!!
Once they finished and the clapping and screaming for more have died down I grab the set list, well Frank tells me too :-), I say my goodbye, a few hugs and kisses, promises to meet again at the next gig. It’s such a pleasure to see a fathers pride………..
I made my way downstairs, and was just going to leave, there were so many people wanting to get their attention and talk. I looked back and caught a¬†glimpse¬†of Andy and Tom back to back talking to people, I tried to get a good shot with my camera, but the light wasn’t on my side.
I decide to fight my way through the crowd and get a photo of Smith, Burrows and Wareham….hehehehehehe
I wait patiently and finally this girl¬†stop’s¬†talking at Andy and I get a chance to have both boy’s attention for my photo, I was going to give my camera to the girl, but Andy said “no, not her give it to him” pointing at a young man behind me. Before I even could position myself between them that girl is back and pushes herself in the photo….ok, if you need to……finally I get my picture and it is a rather nice one…….thank you!

Now I can’t wait till the July gig…..got my tickets sorted meanwhile…woohooo!!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

2 responses »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    Another One bites the dust ! Sooo good but lonley without a buddy !

  2. Dominique says:

    Stumbled across this while on Andy Burrows’s FB page, thought I’d read a nice review and saw myself in your photo ūüėÄ (red hair). Nice review ūüôā

Leave a Reply

