Here we go again, another win :-), this time courtesy of Green Note, for a group called Good Lovelies, they will be performing at the Zigfried of Underbelly at Hoxton Square. I like that venue, small but classy, maybe an odd shape as there are plenty of columns and cosy corners, however that does not affect me too much as I will be at the front!
I have never heard of the Good Lovlies, but I looked them up: they are 3 Canadian girls performing root/folk are maybe better described as Americana.

When Neil and I got there the doors were already open, got my name plus one ticked off the list, and down we go. There are already a few people, little tables were scattered around the dance floor area, some with reserved signs on. I see, it’s going to be a slow chilled affair. We take the space at the stage left, leaning onto the back of the stairs that are leading into the venue. There is a table just to the left of us, a couple of women sitting by it and looking less then pleased that we took up residence, but hey, it’s a gig with obvious standing space and we wont deliberately stand in their way, but I guess they don’t know that yet!
More people arrive, we get chatting to a couple of guys from Cambridge, Jim and Alfred. They seem nice and are chatty, we talk about music and gigs we attended, and of course I gave each of them one of my badges ;-), never miss an opportunity….hehehe. I went off to get a drink and got back to my space just in time, the girls have arrived on stage. I see Jim and Alf are sitting on the floor, along with others, apparently they were asked to sit down so not to spoil everyone’s view. On the whole that is fair enough and all was good natured as far as I can tell, but, I can hear you thinking: ahhhh there is a BUT! Yes, my little gripe is: if you don’t want people standing fill the space up with seats, not just one or two but enough for everyone, I must say that it does spoil the atmosphere, because when you sit you don’t get the spontaneity of people dancing,singing or clapping. Come to think of it, somewhere along the line I could see Jim and Alf getting into the clapping along but a quick scan round made me feel as if that was wrong, and they stopped soon enough. I think even the girls on stage felt it, it was a dead give away when one of them said: “I have never been at a show so quiet”
Back to the beginning!!

The Good Lovelies girls Caroline, Lady Sue and Kerri appear on stage and say hello to everybody, they start their set with “kiss in the kitchen”, this is one I listened to just hours earlier and really liked, it sounds just a good live! They are really friendly girls, chat to the crowd, are thrilled to play in front of so many people (Kerri takes a photo to post on face book so the people back home can see it too) and tell stories about their own life. Like when they played at the opening of Mamajama, a pancake shop, they had to change some lyrics for a song as it was supposed to be for children…….anyway, Kerri ended up confusing when to sing which lyrics, so she ended up singing:”…♪♫♫…race down the freeway buttered and covered in jam..♪♫..”
They sing about 6 songs before announcing a short break, that is actually a really nice idea, gives you a chance to chat, get more drinks……and meet the girls at the merchandise stand, where they are hanging out. I see Jim has gone over there, I try and get a photo from the distance but that isn’t easy, so I go over and offer to take one of him and the girls. I somehow messed up taking it with his camera, luckily I took one with my camera too and it came out brilliantly. The second half seems to be a little bit more up-beat (still most people sit and look solemn), the cover of the Gram Parson’s song was brilliant, they came off the stage to stand on the first step, singing in perfect harmony with no instruments or mics….awesome! More funny stories (these girls are very very funny) followed:….even though we all speak English they discovered pretty quickly that English doesn’t equals English: pants – trousers more lyrics:”….♪ wants to wade into the ocean with pants rolled to my knees….♫, or when Caroline announced that the next song was written for today – “Tuesday” – ….oh no, it’s Sunday! Baby brain she says, I blame the baby brain!! And then there is Sue, or better Lady Sue…one day they decided to have a proper bank account for the band, with all three names on it. In Canada you go to the bank, fill out forms and done……no real checks. Sue was feeling a little cheeky and when it came to “title” she looked down the list and decide to be a Lady! So on the chequebook it says: Caroline Brooks, Kerri Ough, Lady Sue Passmore………..:-)
The second half finished, the band went off the stage just to return within seconds……”we had nowhere to go……was that too quick?” they laughed.
A hip hop song followed, I’m not sure, but I think they said it was K-OS’s Crab bucket, please correct me if I’m wrong. Anyway, they made it sound amazing!

What can I say, hat’s off to the girls, happy, funny and pretty with great voices and lovely lyrics written by themselves. May not be my first choice of genre, but I really enjoyed the night.

Thank you Green Note for making me a winner, I would have missed out on this  otherwise!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    That Sounds Good and nice …. I would have liked it i think ! Good writing my bestest friend !

Leave a Reply

