It was all White on the Night!!!!

White Denim at the HMV Forum tonight, supported by the White Arrows, we were told they are pretty special so we decided to catch them on tour while they over from the states.
Randy Jermane is over as well, checking out venues for his possible 2013 UK tour, Neil and I decide to take him along, it may not be Country music but I’m sure he will enjoy the live performance.

We were running a little late to get to the Forum, there were no queues any more, we walked in and expected the frontrow taken already, but no, plenty of space still. We take up residence and do the usual, get a drink, go to the loo…..check out the diehard fans already here (all 5 of them…lol). I then remembered that I had to find Joshua, I had won the giant Jack White poster recently and we had agreed that I will pick it up rather than trying to post it.
I find Joshua in the box office, what a lovely young man :-), I will get the poster on the way out, and it is indeed massive!
I joined Neil and Randy again, just to realise the floor in front of the barrier I claimed was rather sticky, and I mean STICKY! I knew that would so annoy me, I went to the toilet, got loads of paper, and stuck it on the sticky patch, problem solved!!!

The support band White Arrows are about to arrive on stage. They are from Los Angeles California, the genre they are slotted into is: Psychedelic, Electronic, Pop…..apparently the “blackest” white band! 🙂
Something seems to be quite wrong with the sound, shame, I think I would really enjoy their set, but the drums seem to be the leading instrument, overpowering everything else, and the vocals sound far far away…..such a shame! I especially love their cover of the Bruce Springsteen song “I’m on fire”, and the tambourine that lights up was a great gimmick too!
White Arrows I thought you could have been great, if only the sound would have been right! I will keep an eye on you, I promise! 🙂

White Denim are on stage now, the stage seems bare and a lot of smoke gets pumped out, I get a little dread of the Spritualised gig, let’s hope they will capture my curiosity a little more. A lot more people have now arrived and waiting patiently for the band to play their magic. There was nothing said when the band arrived on stage, just straight into the first song, having a fairly bare stage made concentration on each band member easy, each one seem to play a well rehearsed set but at the same time it looked like they just retreated into their own little world. I’m not sure if this is really for me, I find it quite samey at times, I guess it doesn’t help that I haven’t listen to much of their music prior of coming. The skills of each and every musician is amazing, and only because it doesn’t blow me away doesn’t mean they are not doing an amazing set. Looking around the crowed they are really taking it in and obviously enjoying to the full! Just one problem, a BIG problem, the sound is terrible! I have never experienced such bad sound quality at the Forum, it can’t just be a bad night, and there must be more to it. Funny enough, having recorded a song and listen to at home it sounded a lot better. Not being technically minded I can’t explain this, but it tells me that I may have enjoyed the gig a lot more!

We left the Forum, and I felt sad that I could not show off the venue in a better light to Randy Jermane, Neil and I know that their usual standard is much higher, and having checked with Joshua the next day I was told that there have been major problems with the sound system, which were sorted as we spoke.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Shame for Randy … Another Time he will See it and hear it better !!!

Leave a Reply

