Yay, tonight is our second date with Katzenjammer! Randy Jermane is joining us again, also chance for him to check out a different venue, the XOJO, and of course to see this amazing band again.
Remembering the queue last time when we saw them at Scala, I convinced Neil and Randy to go into town early to make sure we get to the barriers, I do know there isn’t a lot of barrier at the XOJO, I will join them as soon as I can once I finished work.

Even before I had left work I get a message from the boys, there is no queue and they are sitting in the bar with Ben Caplan, one of the Support Acts. Oh dear, I’m missing out again!! I do get into town just after 7pm, and still no queue! I find Neil and Randy on the opposite side of the road, they not allowed to queue outside the XOJO yet, but the security guard knows they are first. Looking down the road we can see the Katzenjammer girls being filmed and interviewed. Neil and Randy go off in search for food, and I hold the fort, happy to be watching the girls, now there is only Solvig and Anne Marit outside.
I watch as a passer-by, well, more likely a fan, approaches them and ask for a photo to be taken, the happily agree. This is my chance, I make my way over there and do exactly the same….yes, result. The girls are as lovely as they are pretty, I tell them about my blog and give them one of my FRS badges, Anne Marit promises to have a look. The film crew is back to and film me answering some questions, hmmm, not my favourite thing to do, but there is no getting away this time. I appreciate the fact they zoom in to my badge I’m holding up…..got to get the word out! Mind you, it will properly be cut anyway; I didn’t even ask who they were interviewing/filming for.
When the boys came back I couldn’t help but show off the photo, just a little bit….lol!! We went to stand in the queue, and yes, we were first in line, looks like centre barrier spot will be ours. 🙂
When we finally were let into the venue and made our way downstairs we were very surprised to find the barriers were more or less taken up already. How exactly? What is the point of getting to the place early queue up for hours when somehow the chosen few get in another way and take prime position, or is it all about money again? It does really annoy me!!! I know I have said it a hundred times before, but with most British bands there is no such thing as VIP or privileged entry, if you first in the queue you get the best spot! And I feel that is the way it should be!!!
We take the remaining space at stage right, I’m  just about in front of the Contrabass, as the XOYO is tiny we will still have a good view.

We don’t have to wait long for the first support to come onto stage, it is Ben Caplan, they guy they had met in the Bar earlier. Ben is a Canadian singer songwriter, has a rugged appearance, sporting a bushy beard and thick rimmed glasses, not your usual eye candy!! But, this man has charisma and personality, He banters, gets the audience involved and of course performs some nice tunes and lyrics. There doesn’t seem to be a set list, so I can’t tell which songs were played, but I do remember him telling a funny story about having written one of the songs after having a…let’s say a rather nice time with a lady!!…..hmmmm, true or false? One more thing that happened was that Randy could hardly see him, as one of the lights was shinning right into his eyes. He went to the sound guy who was claiming there was nothing he could do, but it was moved a little and Mr. Soundguy, it was very much appreciated!

The next support is Jay James Picton, he has a young man with a guitar on the stage, and that seems to be it. Now Jay’s genre seems to be R&B, I’m not quite sure why he was chosen to support Katzenjammer, but no matter, he is doing well. Not my style or preference but he has an amazing voice, if you close your eyes you’d find it hard to believe a white man is singing. He also attempts a Marvin Gaye cover, “let’s get it on”, it proves his confidence and it is received well. I do think he was performing to the wrong audience as you could hear a lot of chitchat going on while he was on stage. Shame, I do find it so disrespectful!

At last it was time for Katzenjammer, they will be very restricted on this stage, and it is tiny compared to Scala’s. But that does not stop these girls, from the minute they arrive on stage it’s like a hurricane rushing through the room. From the first few notes the meanwhile packed out venue was at their feet, totally emerged in a world of feel good sounds, beauty and amazing skills! Every single girl could play the array of instruments present on stage, and they all took their turn singing, and each single girl has an amazing voice. I love “Rock-Paper-Scissor”, but my favourite must be “I will dance”, trouble is, as soon as I hear the next song I change my mind…lol! It doesn’t take long for shoes to be kicked off and tights being torn, making use of every inch of the stage, I’m glad to report that Katzenjammer are as amazing as they were the first time I saw them. A couple of soft toys appear next to me, held up by a girl, at closer inspection I can see they wearing Katzenjammer tops, Anne Marit spots them and just smiles….!

I would advise everybody to catch them at least once.
They are playing at Cornbury’s Festival at the end of June next and later in the year at The Borderline……so go and check them out people.

Once the set was over and the lights have gone up, we catch up with Vicky and another girl Neve from the Katzenjammer nation, and no, I didn’t get the vibe this time that we newby’s were in the way.
I’m also very happy to report that there is a stall with merchandise, and……the girls are behind it, all four of them. Fantastic!!!!
I get in line to have my ticket signed, and as I get to Anne Marit she looks up and says: “I have the button and will look it up”…..sweet sweet girls!!
I wish them all the successes in the world and I’m sure we will catch them again soon!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    Good One again how do you do it all ??? !!!

Leave a Reply

