Today is my brother’s third gig in a row! A new band and a new venue for Randy to check out!
We are going to the Barfly to see the lovely The Suburbians, with the bonus of Jonny Ross supporting!!!

Why can’t I get the timing right lately? We are late again, by the time we arrive at the Barfly everybody has gone in already!
As we get to the door that leads upstairs, Ben Konstantinovic from the Suburbians comes past, quick hello, hug and kiss……
The girl on the door ask who we come to see: The Suburbians…..no, Jonny Ross…actually Suburbians and Jonny Ross, can’t I chose two???
Ticket given in, hands stamped and we rush upstairs, because Jonny has already started. Yes, I know that voice anywhere…..
I see Laura and Joanna are already here, and on stage is Jonny….what happened to his hair? Never mind, he is sounding as good as I remember! I get a couple of photos, just in time, because that was it! One song we managed to catch and he is finished…nooooooooo that was bad timing. 😦
I went over to see Jonny after he came off the stage, I apologised for being late, I so wanted to hear him! And I had to ask what the haircut is all about, this is what happened: ….one drunken night, few friends together…Oh Yeah, let’s shave our hair off!! Brilliant idea!!!”….next morning: “oh no, what have I done”…I had to laugh, better then getting a tattoo, the hair will grow again.
I left him to sort his stuff out, promising to catch him next time!! And I will…:-)

There are 4 bands altogether tonight, we have seen Piper Saint before, and they were fine, didn’t blow me away but I didn’t hate them either. Uxia does give off a good energy, but it feels like a little struggle to get the people involved, everybody just seems to be standing around. It is also guitarist’s James last gig, he is leaving the group, and I don’t think they have a replacement yet.

While the third support band is setting up I take my brother to try and find Jonny, but we found Charlie Roberts from The Suburbians instead. I introduce my brother to him and we have a quick chat, especially how to get a support slot at venues, I think the answer was something like” with difficulties” lol. I get a couple of pictures with Charlie and let him get on; the third band is more or less ready anyway!

Where is Billy?, another band I haven’y heard of at all, they are 5 guys and they are very loud!! Actually they are not for me, I’m not sure what genre to put them into and I don’t seem to find them anywhere on the net to get some background info. To me every song sounded the same….so sorry guys, not for me, and by the looks of it Neil and Randy aren’t too impressed either. 😦
I have to mention here that the Barfly does offer FREE earplugs, brilliant, this is the first time I noticed this at venues I’ve been to! 10 out out 10 for you Barfly!

At last it’s time for The Suburbians, there is a hive of activity, getting all the instruments sounds checked and ready to go. More people have now arrived and are closing in to the stage, I’m still in front of the stage, right next to the 3 girls wearing Suburbian T-shirts, they haven’t moved from their spot through the entire evening….girls after my own heart! To my right I see another girl that has been a great support to the Suburbians, I have seen her at quite a few gigs, time to say hello and find out her name!!! Trish and I talk for a while, she loves the boys as much as I do, and goes to a lot of gigs, just like me……so it isn’t just me that has a gig-addiction….. 🙂
The Suburbian start with “Breath”, and at once they have the crowd’s attention, we who are familiar with their songs join in the singing and I can see smiles on people’s faces, reflecting Mark’s smiles, this is one of the things I love about them, they smile, they happy, they love performing their music. And if I’m wrong here then they are bloody good actors!!!! The second song is a new track “Shooting me down” and I do love it a lot, every time I see those guys they are more and more confident, you can tell they know each other well as they feed off each other and know exactly when to pick up and support or step back, just one glance is all they seem to need for communication, and that is the way it should be for any band or team that rely on each other.
By the time they play Red Dress the room is electric, in some Canadian review I read that “they are the UK answer to Kings of Leon”, judging by today’s performance I could well believe it!
Their set is over far far too soon, as always! I grab the set list, look at Randy and Neil, and I do believe they enjoyed them too!
We say our goodbyes to Laura and Trish, and go to the merch stand; a hug from Mark would be a nice finish to the evening!!
After I managed to get my hug from Mark and tell him how amazing they were yet again I join Neil and my brother again, and while I was waiting my turn they chatted to Ben N. and Ben & Marks’s Mums, I managed to grab a quick word too, but in all that excitement I confused the Mum’s, but I don’t think it matters, I bet they look at all 4 of them as their own, I can only begin to imagine how proud they must be! Shame we must be on our way, but I’m sure we catch up again!

To anybody who hasn’t seen The Suburbians yet, go and check them out, you won’t regret it!! I for my part can claim “I was there more or less from the start”!!

The one negative thing is those pretend photographers, how annoying are they? Barfly, please get this sorted, it isn’t the first time, and I don’t have problems people taking pictures, but constantly pushing in, shoving the camera in front of you and basically spoiling your enjoyment isn’t fun! You can always spot the ones that are not professional, the “real” ones don’t actually get in your way!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

2 responses »

  1. Martina says:

    I will one day see them I hope … Another one bites the dust ! Randy is getting to know more and more places like me lol !

  2. Martina says:

    I must catch up with them whenever I can they sound nice !

Leave a Reply

