The Skinny Machines are playing at the Half Moon tonight; I have no choice but get a ticket and go!! Neil can’t make it tonight, but Kathy said they would come along and David said he would be there too!

We arrived quite early, got a drink and went to sit outside, oh and look who’s already here, David joins us outside. As we sit there and catch up, Jim and Mike from the Skinny’s come out too. Hellos, hugs and kisses follow, Kathy not being backwards in coming forward jumps at the chance for hugs and kisses and photos….Jim and Mike are quite happy to oblige, Jim and Kathy even discuss her bracelet. There is another person on the table next to us, we get talking to him, and once his mate came to join him they join us, Caspar and Justin are locals and come here all the time. Well, Caspar is only just been allowed back in, apparently he was barred for a while.

Time to go back inside, I can see Laura has arrived and is waiting patiently for the back room to open…..finally, doors are open! Crossed off the list, hands stamped….in! Oh look, there is Rikki, more hugs and kisses…Rikki is scribbling away on something, glancing at it I realise it’s tonight’s set list. Me:”Rikki, you really need to start making nice set lists instead of writing them out by hand” Rikki:”We did, but Mike forgot to print them out” ….I won’t mention what look he had on his face…heheheheh!!

Not many people have arrived yet, so we take our spot in front of the stage, only a little while after Sue arrives, yes, the good old faithful followers are more or less present, I do recognise a few more faces and you can tell by the silent nod and quarter smile there is a mutual “I have seen you before” going on!
Sue ask me if I would come and take a photo of her and all the Skinny’s, of course I will…..we go to the bar, the boys are sitting down having food and drink, but they still happy to come and have a photo taken…and I get mine taken too, must be the first one with all the band! Quick word with Dan, I was instructed to say hello to him in Swiss German from Martina…..then we let them get back to their table.
I guess it’s soon time for the first band to come on, there are three tonight, the Skinny’s are going to be on second.

The first band, In Dynamics, comes on stage; Laura said she was quite excited to see them. Wow, they are loud!! It was actually really funny that when they started their first song everybody took a few steps back from the front……luckily there weren’t too many people yet. I can’t really tell if I like them or not, it’s just noise, I put my ear plugs in to muffle the sound, that of course means I can’t really hear them well, even though those plugs are only supposed to cut out the bass and drums, in this case though I need to cut out everything.

Sorry boys, this was just far too loud……next time maybe.

Next one are the one and only Skinny Machines, yay, I’m curious what David and Kathy think about them, neither of them have seen them before. As I look to my left I recognise a guy that is always at the Skinny gigs, about time we talk!  His name is Peter and he is also scribbling away usually, he says he writes about the Skinny Machine too, so we should become buddies….lol! Nice to meet you Peter! 🙂
Mike is on the stage putting down the set lists, I say:” are these the one you forgot to print out?” ….lol, he looks at me and ask: “…how do you know that? Who told you?” Of course I didn’t tell him, mind you, he knows now 🙂
Dan, Rikki and Jim appear and the fun begins, and the boys are in fine form…loving it! Their first song “Piper” followed by “Wrong side of the river” is all that is needed to win over even the ones that are Skinny virgins…..quality as always! Ok, so I may be a little biased, but these boys are brilliant and I know I have said it before, but they just keep on getting better and better!!
There is quite a bit of banter going on today as well, for instance: “….Rikki Glover, on lead guitar and insults……”, ……they just seem to be such good friends, and you can really feel that in the audience, it does make a hell of a lot of difference!  a couple of new awesome tracks, “Night in November” and “Knife”, Night in November is a beautiful song, i have a feeling it will fast become one of my favourites!  “Doghouse”, my current favourite is the encore, and that is it again….arrrggghhhhh, far too short!! Of course I grab the set list, has to be done 🙂
Their next gig is on the 20th July at the Lexington, and I can’t go :-(, I’ll be in Paris, welcoming a brand new person into the world
I’m glad to say that David and Kathy both enjoyed their set, two more Skindy’s….. Result!

Next band up are Angels and Sailors, again, a new band for me, I did have a little listen to some of their songs and I think I could like them! Just recently they announced that Joe Corbin has joined the band, which is great, I saw Joe supporting the Skinny’s at the Half Moon last time and I feel he is better in a band then on his own. Their genre is Rock/Bluesy….the lead singer doesn’t just play the guitar but has a harmonica attached to his shoulders too.
They sound good and Joe does fit in perfectly. I will have to listen to them some more, I think they will grow on you rather than an instant love affair.
far too soon the night is at its end again, I still feel the Skinny Machines should have been head lining and when I mentioned this to Rikki on our way out he said: “We were letting our friends do it today”, fair enough ;-)! I know I will have many many opportunities to see The Skinny Machines headlining!
Come on, bring out the next album……we so can’t wait!!!

We say our goodbyes, hugs and kisses and off we go to catch the tube!
Kathy spots Caspar at the bar and quickly goes to say bye……and that is it, another amazing evening over!

I must say, I do feel very lucky to be able to see so much live music, meet so many lovely people and get hugs and kisses by young good looking musicians!
Yes, the world is a great place…..my advice for today: just go out there and grab what you want and need!! 😉 x

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    Hello me again … Even on my holidays I reply .. Lol… My skinnys I love them too … I am a skindy … Will catch them soon again I hope !

Leave a Reply

