David ask me to come along to the Horns Pub in Watford, I believe one of his favourite bands is playing, Slim Chance.
I have never been to the Horns or seen Slim Chance, so a new venue and a new band, and not too far from home, result.

Parking is really easy, there is a car park in the middle of the roundabout and subways leading to where you want to go. Considering how close to home this is and how long I have lived in the area, I never knew you could park here!

We go over to the Horns, the Security on the door seems a bit unfriendly, not the most glamorous job, is it mate? David had reserved the tickets, we pay and in we go. A few people are already there, the stage seems a bit of a squeeze, and people are busy getting it ready. A friend of David comes over to say hello. Matt and Angela seem really lovely, and I learn later that Matt is actually the lead singer of the Small Faces tribute band Small Fakers.

We got a couple of drinks and took up residency in front of the stage of course, leaning against the bar.
A few guys are busy setting up the stage and doing a sound check. I love the little stage it’s in a  kind of a cove, covered in poster of gigs gone by and well known artists. It’s cute, kind of cosy!
The line up is Steve Simpson, guitar, mandolin, fiddle; Charlie Hart, accordion, fiddle, piano; Steve Bingham, bass;Alun Davies, guitar; Colin Davey, drums. Sadly Geraint Watkins, organ, piano was not performing with them tonight. Slim Chance reformed a couple of years ago, to keep the spirit of Ronnie Lane’s music alive who died of MS a few years back.

Finally they are ready, they take to the stage and you can tell immediately that they feel right at home. I’m not very familiar with their songs, but there are plenty of people around joining in from the start, including David! The pub has filled up, a few girls are dancing in the front and one guy is really showing his skills playing the air guitar, even though he looks a bit silly, he’s having a great time.
The band takes a little break, a chance to get more drinks…lol. Well, young Angela did just that, nice glass of wine! And the next thing we know it got accidently knocked over and it spilled all over my hoodie…..could be worse I guess, it could be beer! The bar people are nice enough though and replace it for her.
Right, Slim Chance are back on the stage, and the crowd is more than ready to go. The second half is certainly more energetic, from both, band and audience. This is one of the time when I wish I could dance a proper rock’n’roll, maybe I should learn, it’s never too late!!  I do love the song “Poacher” and the way the Steve and Charlie interact with each other, there is a lot of eye contact between the two of them and they really are truly brilliant!

I have to say, I had no idea what to expect tonight, but I had a really good time! Matt and the Small Fakers are playing here soon and I may just have to come along, we will see! Oh yeah, and I must enrol in some rock’n’roll classes….lol!!!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    So more salsa now rocknroll hia hia girl go on nice eve then !! Xx

Leave a Reply

