Yes, I did win some tickets to attend Nando’s GigNics…this should be  great fun, two hot chicks: Nando’s and frontrowstef!!!! 🙂

You had to enter a draw for free tickets to this event, and I was lucky enough to bag a couple…woohooo. It will be a mix of fun and games, Nando’s food and live music, sounds good to me.

On the day we made our way to Haggerton Park in Hackney, that was a bit of a mission, but we found it eventually. The weather seems to be on our side, warm sunshine, the way it should be :-). I think they gave away about 2000 tickets  to see urban artists like Rizzle Kicks, Brighton based and signed by Island Records. Stooshe, London based and not at all you average girl band, stating on their FB page: ” Utterly uninterested in following the formula, not only disregarded the girlband code of conduct, they’ve ripped it into teeny tiny shreds”, go girls go!! All is hosted by the lovely Jameela Jamil (last time I saw her she was at Koko‘s hosting the album chart show).

After getting a tiny bit lost we found the park eventually, got to the entrance to be met by rows allocated to certain letters, the first letter of your Surname. The girls taking the names and giving out wristbands are very friendly, and one girl went even above and beyond! She put my wristband on a bit too tight (it would have irritated the hell out of me), but she went off in search for a pair of scissors, cut it off and gave me a new one not so tight this time, :-)!
Once security check us out we went inside the fenced off area….wow, it is quite a small space.
In front of us is a massive long queue, it looks like they are queuing for Nando’s food stall, there are seating areas to enjoy your meal, stalls with merchandise, beer tent, free ice-cream stand,  games & play area and of course the stage and some toilets. People are randomly sitting or lying in the grass, Nando’s seem to have provided deckchairs (single and double- cute) and some odd looking box type things to lean against. We have a wander around, taste some ice cream, and decide to queue for some food, it’s a long long long queue, and little did we know how long we would be standing there.
Sadly we arrived late (my fault 😦 ) and missed the special surprise guest Ed Sheeran who just come back from Rockness before going to perform for the Capital FM Summertime Ball, he was listed as TED on the line up. We also missed Rizzle Kicks… 😦
While waiting in the queue, a DJ played some tunes on the stage until the next performer DJ Jam made his way onto the stage. You could see people being drawn to the barriers, and in no time the spaces were filled. His tunes filled the summer air and even though we were still standing in the queue you couldn’t help but dance a little and sing along …..at least we had a good view of the stage.
Some Nando staff came along to apologise for the wait, gave out some crisps to tide us over, next someone came along handing out ice lollies, and there were a few Coca-Cola  containers to get free small cans of coke. But the wait was getting very tiresome :-(. Looking around for some bins we first thought there weren’t any, until we spotted the wooden recycle bins, brilliant, this is the way forward!!! At some point someone come along and past right in front of me, he went to greet people on the other side of the queue, my gaze followed him and I did think for a second: “He looks very similar to Ben Montague…..”, dismissed that thought straight away though, just to find out via facebook when I got home that Ben was actually there….grrrrrr, talking about missed opportunities!!
I have to say the atmosphere was fantastic, really good vibes, happy faces, no stress! I loved the guys walking around with special belts containing all the Nando sauces……just the queue to get food……Nandos, you need two or three food places next time please.
DJ Jam had finished meanwhile, the stage was set for Stooche, a group of young girls playing lively music, full of energy and good vibes, the crowd was dancing away in no time.

After an hour and a half we finally reached the van to order some food, shame is they run out of loads of things already :-(, we take what is on offer…..the young man serving is in extremely good spirits and cheers everybody up, and the young lady who takes our money tells us she has been here all day and it has been manic. We find a space at one of the seating areas, eat and watch the world go by for a little while…..and sadly it’s time to go. We leave at 7pm to get to the o2 Indigo for the Dualers….!

Nandos, this was a great afternoon, good vibes and a real shame we had other commitments, would have loved to lie in the grass and soak up the amazing atmosphere as we were lucky with the weather….maybe next year! oh and possibly just more food stalls?

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    So A real food gig just u your street Steffi and nandos on top must have been a bit like Ben and jerrys ! Xx

Leave a Reply

