……why oh why do we have two gigs on the same day?  We had bought The Dualers tickets ages ago, soon after we saw them at the Ska Festival Under the bridge. For me this will be the third time to see them, I’m really looking forward to this.

As mentioned in the previous blog we went to Nandos GigNics first, we finally arrived at the O2 Indigo at about 7:20pm, the doors were already open and quite a lot of people already inside. Still, we managed to find a lonely little space at the barriers..Yay!

The DJ was playing ska and twotone tunes, the crowd was ready for a good time and loads of dancing. We made friends with the people around us, funny enough the guy used to live in Chesham and knows it well, now they are in Langley near Slough, the couple next to me were from Dagenham and he didn’t seem to happy to be here.

At about 8:25 The Dualers come on stage, first the band starting playing and then Tyber burst onto stage starting with “Lonely Guy”followed by “Run Joe”, immediately everybody got into dancing and singing, Tyber is a great frontman, well experienced, just enough talking and loads of singing.
The show is split into 2 parts, same as last time I saw them here at the Indigo, the first part lasted about an hour, Tyber worked the crowed, got them involved, the feel-good-factor definitely reached 150%. The whole band was playing to the crowd and to each other, skanking on stage, encouraging the crowd to be loud an scream! Looking around it was great to see all ages and genders dancing together and enjoying themselves, just like a bunch of old friends! Looking behind me I realized Neil had disappeared, oh, there he is just moved a little to the back of the stage, but he says he’s ok. the guy next to me has moved away too, the girl tells me he is just feeling a bit off! A little while later he is back and seems to be getting into the grove. Favorite songs like “Nothing takes the place of you” and “It’s too late” are guaranteed to put a smile on your face. Far too soon it was time for the Dualers to take their half hour break, and this time I have to say it seems to spoil it for me. I’m not quite sure why that was, I remember that from last time when I saw them here, but I don’t remember it dampening the atmosphere. Neil felt the same, he said he felt much more energy from them at the Ska festival Under the Bridge.
Once the band was back on stage I somehow lost a little of the feel-good-vibe, and when a girl appeared on stage soon after saying she was Tyber’s sister, it killed it for me to be honest. I wasn’t quite sure why she was there, what she had to say didn’t make much sense to me, and she kept telling the audience to clap and shout and scream…..a bit of an overkill, let’s face it, we bought tickets because we like Ska and the Dualers, no need to keep confirming it. Shame, too much trying to make us respond, surly that should come naturally? I found it very hard to get back into dancing and singing and spend the rest of the night watching rather then joining in, disappointing. But songs like “Kiss on the lips” and “They’ll never know” do still put a smile on my face.
The second half finished with “Don’t go”, the Dualers went off, the crowd clapped and screamed for them to come back, and back they came, including the sister (why). The final song was “Monkey Man”, a good finish and I will see them again, and hopefully I wont lose the grove half way through.

Going home was a challenge though, Blink182 finished in the arena at the same time and everybody tried to get on a train, manic! o2, you could maybe organise this a little better possibly stagger the concert finishing times? Oh and your prices are just a touch over the top: pint of beer and a water £9.20….not impressed!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

