Another competition win, this time with The Fly magazine, got tickets to see Niki & The Dove at the Barfly Camden.
I have no idea what this band are all about, a blank canvas, often that is a good way of discovering new bands, you can go with an open mind and be bowled over or not as the case may be.

Neil and I got to the Barfly at around 7:30, no point going too early, they are always late opening the doorsand apparently the doors are not open till 8pm tonight anyway. We go to the door for 8pm, no, not open yet, another 15 minutes. Ok, we and others form an orderly queue and wait. We try again 15 minutes later, this time the girl tells us the band won’t actually be on till 9:30pm and that there will be no support band….hmmmm, why not say that on your website or ticket? We could have gone for dinner or something, not terribly impressed today! At 8:30pm the doors for upstairs are finally open, and yes I see the big sign advertising free earplugs (like it), we decide to go up, may as well sit there and wait. I go to the loo, door lock is broken, no soap to wash your hands with, not fun! 2 large cokes cost £7 and no crisps…..enough said!

Quite a few people have now gathered in the tiny room, it’s starting to get hot, some photographers are trying to get a spot at the front, now the question is: are they professional or not! We are stage right as usual! A guy behind us says hi, and that he’s seen us a lot of times and always at the same spot (yes, that’s right lol), it’s about time we know names…”hi Jason, nice to meet you.”
The lights are going down, and there is movement, some figures are coming onto stage in slow motion, it is the band, all three of them: Malin Dahlström,Gustaf Karlöf and drummer Magnus Böqvist. I’m not sure at all what to make of this, it’s all very hippy and free love type thing, I really don’t know what to do with this, I guess my face looked like I had just bitten into a lemon…hehehehe. Malin is dressed all in pink, with colourful make-up and all sorts of trinkets, ribbons, rings and bangles, the two guys look normally dressed, apart from the zebra-skin cap Magnus is wearing.
I listen to a couple of tracks and I seem to have made up my mind that this is not for me, the style of the music and the antics of Malin, now also waving about a multi coloured pom-pom! I have to say all these people with their fancy cameras pushing to the front are starting to get on my nerves; I do not believe all of them are official, as I said before.  Official photographers do not disturb your gig enjoyment! AND, one of them was very, very smelly, he farted so much that I actually moved back, it made me feel sick!
But as the set carries on something strange happens to me, I seem to be developing this love-hate-love feeling, I don’t know any of their tracks and as weird as some of them sound, others totally grab me!
During one song Malin “switched” on some of her rings, they light up in different colours, looks really effective.  She waves them around, takes one off, gives it to one of the girls in front of her and does the same with the remaining two, nice touch. Somewhere along the line they were suddenly wearing Tiger masks, not quite sure why, but it looks amazing! The crowd is really participating now, singing and dancing, clapping and shouting….amazing energy! I have decided, I love these Swedes!!
I will most certainly invest in their debut album “Instinct”; I especially love the song “Last Night” and “DJ ease my Mind

I advise everybody to give Niki And The Dove a hearing; they are different, quirky and reel you in in no time!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Ok at the end still Good …. Always Good to get to know New Band and Music !

Leave a Reply

