Tonight we are going to see Big Country again and I can’t wait. Saw them a few times last year and just love their show. They are playing at the Forum in Hatfield, where the Slamdunk festival was not long ago.
We arrived there at about 6pm, and this time we could actually park in car park. A few people were scattered about but we weren’t sure if they were here for the concert. As we waited by the main door 2 other guys turned up, but when they realised they couldn’t get in yet they went off back into town again.
Another car pulled up, and it was Tony Butler with a bag full of food, don’t need to ask who that is for!
We find out that the actual entrance will be to the side of the building, we wait….oh, movement, they are starting to put the barriers out. They are putting out 2 separate rows, apparently there is another event after Big Country…..strange set up! We ask which row we should queue in, and all we get told is not yet.
So we wait, and we wait…..more people arrive, still we are not allowed to get into the queue, this is very very odd. More people arrive, Neil and I are now taking position at the entrance of the row created with the barriers (we are not allowed in the row yet), and we were first after all. Other people are starting to queue behind us, nobody really understands what is going on with their system here.
Finally the doors opened and we could wander down the row, tickets checked, in we go, we do get the space at centre front, we want to be right in front of Mike. It was only 5 minutes later when the support band came on, Sadie & The Hotheads, which is of course Downton Abbey star Elizabeth McGovern’s own band. Well, what can I say, considering this girl is an actress I can’t feel any stage presence, and I personally don’t rate her voice much either. Neil says the guitarist is very good, I take his word on that, I love his pink Converse :-), he is also the only one with a rug under his feet. I’m sorry, but I do not take to this band at all, I can’t even remember one single song, it all sound very bland to me, the blond girl singing with Elizabeth has a brilliant voice, reminds me of a cabaret singer (I do not mean that as an insult, it’s a good thing).

While the stage was set ready for Big Country, Neil chatted to the guys next to him, Father and son from Norfolk, Dave and Steve. I talked to Phil and Brad, also father and son, showing the boys what good music is all about, lol. When I gave Phil one of my badges, he smiled and told me he actually read my blog on Frank Turner yesterday, this is the first time anyone has told me they have read my blog before I suggested it to them! Soon, somebody will come up to me and say: “You’re Frontrowstef, aren’t you”…ok, I can dream can’t I?
Finally it was time for the real music, Big Country come on stage to a roar of applause, starting with “Angle Park” followed by “East of Eden”! That was enough, the crowd was in their hands by song three, completely immersing everybody in their musical spell.
Since Mike Peters from The Alarm has come on board to fill Stuart Adamson’s place and Jamie Watson (Bruce Watson’s son) joined the band they have been gone from strength to strength and it is such a privilege and pleasure to be here standing in front of them (again)…..this is what going to concerts is all about, getting this feeling of witnessing a tiny bit of music history being created, seeing the people around you singing and enjoying the moment, and today that is certainly the case.
Mike is chatty and introduces his fellow band members, he speaks to the crowd as if they are old friends, I guess somehow they are! He makes sure he interacts with all the band members which shows just how brilliant their relationships are, I could be wrong of course, but it doesn’t feel like there are any bad vibes going on. “1000 stars” causes the crowd to go wild, everybody is singing along: “…..♪♫♪…. the luck of a 1000 stars can’t get me out of this….♪♫…” followed not long after by “Wonderland” and “Fields of Fire”…… amazing evening and sadly that was it :-(, Big Country leaving the stage, but never fear, we know they will be back for an encore. We didn’t have to wait long for Mike and the band to return, including Elizabeth McGovern. Hmmmm she is performing a song with Mike, talk about spoiling the moment, luckily they pulled it back with “Chance” “Look Away” and “In a Big Country”, brilliant finish!
The guys look happy and take a well earned bow, say good night and are straight off to the Isle of Wight festival.

We are glad we managed to catch them again, they are a brilliant band. We left feeling knackered, sweaty and hot, and it was worth every minute!!!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

4 responses »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    At least big country was worthwhile …. But you went because of them !

  2. Phil Carroll says:

    Waheyy! Got a mention. Was a great gig and myself and Brad (not Ryan) will definitely be off to see them again. Good to meet you Stef and hopefully catch up at the Oxford FT gig soon. Take care, Phil 🙂

    • FrontRowStef says:

      Ooooppps, It’s been a while I will correct Brads name now…lol! Yes was great to see you! Not sure I can make FT now, cross your fingers! Off to V this weekend 🙂 catch up soon x

      • Phil Carroll says:

        OK, enjoy V! Got Reading next weekend 🙂 (just Sunday for Foo Fighters!) Cheers, Phil 🙂

Leave a Reply

