Off to Knebworth Park today to see the Red Hot Chili Peppers, now this is a show to look forward to! We hadn’t quite worked out the parking situation, but hoping to park near the station, from where we will have about a 1 mile walk. Once we got there we decided to park at Waitrose car park, it was cheap and we thought it wasn’t too far away. Hehehehehehe, how wrong we were……5 miles later we finally got to the park, masses of people are being channelled along a narrow pass and across the field up to the main house, on the side of which was the entrance to the concert area. Wow, a lot of people are already here and crammed  into a fairly tiny space, this is going to be a tight fit!

We are not wasting too much time looking around; we’d rather find a good spot to stand for the day. We don’t want to go down to the front row, not that there was a chance in hell anyway. We hover around on the stage left side, but because the whole area is on a hill and has lower and higher areas (not really sure how to describe this). We hang around for a while and decide to eat our lunch that we had brought along now, just to shed the carrier bags really. Hmmmm, I made potato salad and pasta salad, having used old take away containers we can just bin them once we’re done! While I’m enjoying my potato salad a young man peers over my shoulder and he says: is that home made potato salad? Are you going to eat it all?  It looks delicious!! Sorry mate, there are some things in life I’m not prepared to share….hehehhehe
We decided to try our luck at stage right, it looks as though there are still quite a few gaps. And we were right, we get a good spot on a high bit with a great view of the stage, still far away, but it will do! What is happening to Frontrowstef? That is so not like me!!

The first band Reverend and the Makers had more or less finished, sadly we only caught the last song, but what I heard I liked, must make a point of seeing them somewhere else soon.

The Wombats are on next, I haven’t seen them life before and have to admit I’m not too familiar with their music. It took me all of two minutes to fall in love with them though, they were energetic, lively, interacting with the crowd, and the crowd responded brilliantly. A lot of bottles got chucked about, and I’m not sure what that was all about, but from where I was standing it looked awesome. The Wombats played about 10 songs, “1996” seems to be sticking in my mind and of course “Let’s Dance to Joy Division”. I must buy some albums and catch them live again soon, well worth keeping an eye on.

Next up is Dizzee Rascal, not my type of music really, but I decided to go with it….while I’m here I might as well. I have to say the atmosphere really changed, the crowd seemed to become more aggressive, amazing what influence music has. It had started to rain as well, joy, lol, I had a green poncho type thing, I felt like an apple! 😦 Dizzee Rascal also had to keep asking people to make “some noise”, I know its all part of the script, but it gets annoying after the 10th time, surely the crowd makes a noise when they like what they are seeing/hearing. Even though I went with the whole rapper thing first of all, I lost it about half way through and just wanted it to be over….hehehehehe, I know, showing my age here! You may not be for me, but the crowd loved you…. 🙂

Right, the 80,000 strong crowd is ready for RHCP, bring it on!! Even though it was still raining it didn’t dampen the excitement, there are pools of water on either side of the stage, I bet the Techies love this!! The roar was deafening when the Chilis arrived on the stage, starting with a song from their new album “Monarchy of Roses“, not quite what people expected I think.  It took another 3 or so songs to really get the audience whipped up. This is turning into the gig you expected it to be, some banter and crowd participation, bassist Flea is in fine shape tonight, proving to us why the RHCP are one of the most sought after rock gigs. Throw in an amazing light show and even the rain cannot spoil things. “Soul To Squeeze”, “Californication”, and “By The Way” and finally “Under The Bridge”, it seems every single person is singing back to the band. To Stevie Winders cover “High Ground” people go wild, a lot of pushing and moshing is going on, a sea of hands in the air blocks my view completely, but that just shows how amazing the Red Hot Chili Peppers are, epic! The chemistry between the band members and the fans is amazing, you can literally feel the energy being passed back and forth. Far too soon the magic is over, then they are back for an encore, playing 6 tracks all together, it’s insane! A couple of instrumental jams to close theconcert, it leaves you feeling well and truly satisfied,  exhausted and blissfully happy. Who needs drugs and alcohol, let the music get you and you won’t need to have anything else to have this euphoric feeling! This was an electric evening, I’m glad I was able to go!

Now to the getting out of here bit, that is a challenge in itself. The rain is still lashing down and everybody just wants to get home now, masses of people trying to leave the grounds. In a way we are glad not to have parked here, would have taken hours to move, at the same time we didn’t anticipate the marathon walk back to the car. Getting lost didn’t help matters at all…shame an amazing gig ended with me being grumpy, tired and soaking wet…..looking back, even that bit was fun!!!!!
I read another review somewhere which stated that the local Gordon Craig Theatre even played host to those stranded and unable to get home. 🙂

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    I Must See the RHCP …. One of thesedays … Even the Rain cant Spoil it .. Lol… amazing !

Leave a Reply

