Tonight I’m revisiting The JB Conspiracy, last time I saw them was supporting Reel Big Fish at Shepherds Bush, Neil and I liked them a lot at the time, so I’m glad I have a chance to see them again. Sadly Neil can’t make it tonight, so I’m going with David! It is also a new venue for me, the Ballyhoo in New Oxford Street which used to be called The Bowery London.

We assume the music bit is downstairs, we go inside and find a little desk where a lovely young lady sells us a ticket (£7, bargain) and lets us go downstairs. It looks asthough we are being let back out to the streets…lol, but when we open the door the first thing that hits us is darkness, it is very, very dark down there. After a few minutes my eyes adjust, I can make out a tiny place, bar in one corner and the stage in the other. The first band has just come off the stage, shame we missed them.

David went off to the bar to get us a drink, he seems to take ages, so I join him only to find the waiter making what seems to be a cocktail….hmmm, I will be driving later, I really shouldn’t have a cocktail!  The barman, again, a really friendly young man, assures me he is only making my coke a little more exciting, and yes, it does taste lovely. What he did was: Fresh lime, all mashed and squeezed, a bit of sugar syrup (defeats the idea of diet coke…lol) and 2 dashes of  Angostura bitter, toppedwith crushed ice and coke…..it is tasty and very refreshing, and, no extra charge 😉

Time for the second band to come on, a duo called Moriaty. They arrive on stage smartly dressed in grey suits, Jordan the singer is wearing two tone shoes, so hopefully a bit of ska coming my way here.
These guys are confident and brilliant performers, not ska as we know it, but a bit of everything, blues, Rock n’ Roll……amazing! Having looked them up later the description of their genre is: Filthy Indie Blues, fits perfectly. I honestly couldn’t tell you what type of music they play, but I love it!! There is a definite White Stripes influence here; their music is anything but predictable. Jordan and Matt also seemed to have a great connection, the banter is hilarious, and they do spark off (on) each other! There is a group of girls next to us, getting quite merry it seems, one goes off and buys Jordan a long blue cocktail and is quite insistent on giving it to him on the stage mid-set…..Jordan takes a sip and asks her to look after it while he is performing as the stage isn’t really the place for a drink.
At the end of the set, I can spot the set list so I ask Jordan for it and he is more than happy to let me have it, David is interested in a CD, so Jordan promises to find one for him once he cleared the stage.
A random guy who seems to be here with that group of girls comes and chats to us, he is raving on about what an amazing band Moriaty is, he has seen them before and is obviously a fan. He tells us a story of a Festival experience where they were booked, but people expected the French band Moriarty (notice the subtle difference, one is spelt with an “r”)……….the girls won’t let him finish, (and) he gets dragged away, and with a wink he says “when the girls want you, you have to go”!!!! Jordan appears with a CD for David, we learn that they are from Devon and have played in London a few times; we must try and see them again soon.

It doesn’t take long for The JB Conspiracy to arrive on the stage, 6 people on that tiny stage, it’s quite a squeeze.
The crowd has got a little smaller, but a lot louder :-)….JB Conspiracy obviously has a loyal following. And they are still as good as I remember, lively, great musicians, and soooooo much fun! Matt the front man is jumping all over the place drawing everybody into his set. He points at a young man called Sam whose 27th birthday it is today, they are friends and he is possibly a fellow musician as Matt is trying to goad him onto the stage, but the young man is not playing…lol!
I’m not familiar with their songs, so it’s hard to tell which ones are being played, but I’m loving it! Matt works the little stage to his advantage, comes off into the crowd, back on stage, back into the crowd…brilliant! At some point the 3 guys playing the brass section join him by bursting off the stage and mingle with us mere mortals, it’s so much fun!!! They also get the small crowd singing with big voices….”..♫♪♪…we wait for this moment yo arrive..♫♫…”, love the way they project their enthusiasm to the audience.
Far too soon it all comes to an end, they say goodbye, just to come back for an encore straight away. Once it’s all over I go and have a quick chat with Matt, telling him how much I enjoyed this performance, no further London date at the moment, but hopefully it won’t be too long until I’m able to catch them again.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    They Sound nice … Ma be one day i Will catch thèm !

Leave a Reply

