At last I’m going to see James Morrison, I tried various times and it just never worked out for me!
Tonight I’ll be at Kew the Music in Kew Gardens, with a little help from my son! ūüėČ

I got to Kew Gardens in good time, took me a little while to find the Pavilion gate though. Once there my name was ticked off the list, and in I go…..loads of people giving away stuff, biscuits, badges, oyster card covers…. ūüôā
I have never been to any Kew the Music events, it’s lovely to see the chilled¬†atmosphere, people sitting on rugs, picnics, children playing, just soaking up the warm evening air, luckily the rain held off!

I find my way to the stage, and surprisingly it’s deserted, this is obviously a much more relaxed affair than any other outdoor event I have been to. Nevertheless I make a beeline to the centre front barrier and stay there, ¬†where else…lol! I saw my boy, already in position in front of the camera, yes, I’m a¬†proud Mummy indeed.

Just in time for Tanita Tikaram, I bought her album ‘Ancient Heart’¬†back in the 80’s and played it to death, so I was really looking forward to seeing her life. Hmmm, I’m afraid I have to say it wasn’t very inspiring, I found her performance weak and bland. Maybe her¬†particular¬†80’s sound just doesn’t work for me anymore, shame; I was looking forward to seeing her. She was accompanied by the rock’n’roll pianist Geraint Watkins, he is of course a artist in his own right and played with band like: Van Morrison, Mark Knopfler and Slim Chance. Shame was when I saw Slim Chance recently he wasn’t with the band that night.
I also missed Josh Osho who was on before her, I haven’t seen him live before, but I read that he never¬†disappoints, best make a point of catching up with him.

And now the main man of the evening, people have now come closer to the stage and I’m pleased I stayed at the barriers, even though the stage is high I have a perfect view (besides these two camera men spoiling my view…lol)
James started with the song “Beautiful Life”, perfect, because that is how it feels right now, there is no need for any warm up tracks, people are singing along, cheering and clapping. James had a full band on stage and a couple of lovely backing singers; everything was perfect and the sound amazing. He played a good mix of songs from his new album ‘The Awakening’ and the old¬†favourites.
He was sending shivers¬†down my spine when he belted out a heartfelt “Broken Strings”, his voice beautifully clear and controlled, an amazing performer.
When “You Give Me Something” came on as the last song of the night the whole of Kew Gardens felt the love, there was no pushing or drunken beer spilling going on, just happy faces, couples swaying to the music, children lifted up to be able to catch a¬†glimpse¬†of the stage. What a truly amazing night, I’m so glad to have finally caught up with Mr. Morrison, it has been a long time coming.

The evening is finished off with an explosion of fireworks, magical, people stopped in their tracks starring up to the sky, mesmerised by the flashes of twinkly lights.
I caught up with my son who managed to grab me a set list from the stage, he knows what I like!! Getting out of Kew Gardens wasn’t that easy, it was fairly dark with people¬†carrying¬†chairs and picnic hampers, pushchairs, even pulling¬†trolley¬†full of stuff behind them which¬†made me trip up a couple of times…..everybody seems to be in a great hurry to get out all of a sudden.

I’m pretty sure that this wasn’t the last time I’ll see James Morrison, he was brilliant!!

 

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    I always wanted to See him …. I did See him at v fest … He was brilliant and Great …. But i was at the disabled Platform … Next Time want to be frontrowmartina … Lol …. And i will One of These days … Feel like going to the kew the Music fest like an intimate due i like that ! I really like Reading this One Steffi ! Well done !

Leave a Reply

