Tonight it’s Kew The Music again, I loved it here when I saw James Morrison a few days ago, today is Sunday though which means we can make a day of it. Well we did arrive a little later than planned, in good time though but the queues were sooooo long. We made it inside, yes, there is a space on the barriers, we are heading straight to it.
My son is busy working and Kristyna Myles is already on stage, Marcus was telling me how much he liked this talented young lady, and yes, he is right she is amazing (even though she is female..lol), i had the pleasure to see her once before supporting Ben Montague. Her recently released single “I’m not going back” is indeed brilliant, and I remember her explaining it’s all about a heart-break. Her voice is lovely and suddenly she calls out “look, there is a rainbow”, what great timing and setting for this natural beauty, it even makes the light rain a welcome companion. Krystina must have loved the fact a rainbow showed itself whilst she was performing I know I would have, there is something magical about rainbows and snow flakes. 🙂
Too soon Kristyna is finished, I’m glad I managed to catch her again and I’m sure it won’t be the last time.

We don’t have to wait long for the stage to be ready for the next band Los Lobos, looking around I can see loads of people have arrived meanwhile, by the looks of it many from the Latin countries, no surprise there, this is “I want to dance” music, I can’t wait!!! Next to us on the barrier are a mother and daughter, hehehehe, the mother is far more excited and the daughter seems to disapprove….oh why do you young girls get so embarrassed by your mother having a great time?
Los Lobos arrive on stage, a bunch of aged men, slightly bigger around the waistline but still every inch an amazing group. From the first few tracks of music the crowd are on their feet, dancing, singing and clapping, not even the rain can stop us! Who cares about the dark skies and raindrops when you have sunshine in your heart. This is more like a Spanish fiesta than a soggy Kew Gardens. Songs like “Come on let’s go” and “La Bamba”   just aids the feel good vibe to grow far bigger than expected. Los Lobos produce a brilliant show and are making it easy for the Gipsy Kings to follow! Far too soon it’s all over, I’m so pleased to have been able to see these guys, who knows when they will be around again. And yes, I got my hands on a set list!

I can’t wait for the Gipsy Kings to come on stage, everybody is so hyped up that even the heavy rain that has set in isn’t going to spoil anything. The space in front of the stage has now filled up, everybody is ready to dance to the Latin rhythms, the atmosphere is electric. Just before the Gipsy Kings are due on the stage the heavens open and it pours down. So many people opening up umbrellas, which I find rude to say the least, lets not be concerned if the people behind you can see anything! I’m just glad to be at the barrier, even though the girl next to me has got a raincoat on, hood up and everything, and an umbrella???? Trouble is it’s dripping down from one of the spikes and making the side of my jeans very wet. The Gipsy Kings arrive on the stage, starting their set with …….., I personally find it hard to get into the grove straight away, it’s raining really hard and I’m aware the ‘drowned rat’ look is not too appealing, then again, I’m now old enough to not really care!
It doesn’t take long for the music to get you, we dance, we laugh, we forget the rain. Tunes like “Volare”, “Bamboleo” and ” a mi manera” (my way) catapult you into a world far away with hot sunshine and white beaches, even the palm trees in the Tropical house behind the stage must have felt that….I’m sure I could see them move to the music!
The rain finally stopped not too soon I think. There is a commotion on the stage, just minutes earlier I could see someone asking my son to move over to the far right with his camera, it didn’t look like Marcus knew what was happening. Next a ladder and a couple technicians appear on stage, the ladder gets positioned right behind  the band, who weren’t going to be disturbed, they carried on regardless. At some point the glance up to see what is going on, but still the show went on. Meanwhile the techies climbed the ladder went into the rafters and started pushing the canvas roof…..ahhhhhh….they have to get rid of the water that collected on the roof, now everything makes sense. I’m surprised and pleased at the same time that the band wasn’t stopped temporarily. Still, the techies manage to sort everything out and leave the stage, it was all so quickly dealt with, if you blinked you may have missed it.
I also gathered that the camera my son was working with had developed a fault as he seems to be having difficulties, he told me later on that the automatic zoom malfunctioned and he had to do it all manually, not an easy task!
Far too soon it was time for the Gipsy Kings to finish the show, they soaked up the enthusiastic clapping and shouting,  thanked everyone for coming out and staying despite the weather, finally they walked off stage.
Wow, what an amazing concert, I did really enjoy this and I’m so glad to have had the chance to dance to the tunes of the Gipsy Kings, thank you. And yes, I did manage to get hold of a set list! 🙂

Turning away from the stage to make our way out, we could see the aftermath that torrential down pour left behind. A huge puddle right where we were supposed to walk out, shame about the rubbish people just left where they stood (why? There are bins). Anyway, we managed to dodge some mini lakes but got caught up in some mud fights…lol!

Kew Gardens, another amazing evening, this won’t be the last time I’ll be attending, roll on next year! 🙂

 

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

