This is what you call dedication, on my way back from Paris and on arrival I’m not going home, no off to a gig instead!!
I arrived by Eurostar at Kings Cross, and as I walked through the arrivals door paparazzi and cameras greeted me, wow has my fame gone before me? No, these guys aren’t waiting for me, there must have been another exciting person on that train, I decide to hang around for a while, you never know, it might be Gary Lightbody (I know, dream on!!!)
the guy everybody is after is actually an Olympic cyclist, I forgot all about Olympia 2012 starting tomorrow….:-)
Ryder Hesjedal, is immediately surrounded by people, asking questions and putting cameras in his face, poor guy. I take a sneaky photo and leave! I’m supposed to meet Neil at Burnt Oak to put my suitcase in the car, really don’t fancy taking it along to the Garage!  We are seeing  ‘We are Scientists’ tonight, Andy Burrows will be wearing a different hat tonight, I love him as the front man  in ‘I Am Arrows’, ‘Smith and Burrows’ or simply ‘Andy Burrows’ which shows his softer side, but tonight I think will be quite the opposite!

By the time we arrive at The Garage it has started drizzling, the kind of rain that doesn’t look too bad but soaks you within minutes, also the queue is quite long, oh well, all in the name of music! Luckily we don’t have to wait too long to be let in and, yes you guessed right we do still get a spot on the barriers. It is a strange atmosphere tonight, random people seem to be thrown together in one place, nobody is really talking, and to be honest it feels a little uncomfortable.

The first band ‘Virgin Mary'(?) appears on the small stage,  their drums squashed in front of the ‘We are Scientists’ drums and as they started playing I had the feeling they were trying to completely deafen me, it was LOUD, very very LOUD. OK so it isn’t helpful that we are more or less underneath a big speaker, but surely your nostrils shouldn’t be flaring, and the smoke machine is in full swing again as well. 😦
I’m not terribly inspired by this band, I get the feeling they are trying too hard to impress and it isn’t happening, well, not for me that is. Maybe I’m “train-lagged”, but I don’t like the feel in the room tonight, for instance a girl from the barrier goes off to get a drink, some noisy girls from behind push in her space and basically aren’t letting her back in, all in a pretty aggressive manner. I guess the band is trying their best, they hadn’t been told until last night that they are supporting, so yes they have something to prove. Sadly they are not for me.

‘We are Scientists’ are next, I’m now a little worried, judging by the support, will it be as loud?  Right, here they are, the stage is set and Keith, Chris and Andy take their place, funny to see Andy taking a backseat, literally…lol! And we are off, and oh no, it’s still very loud, and so much smoke, mind you it smells nice today, I wonder why?
I do like what I’m hearing, if only I could hear it with a quality sound, front man Chris is trying really hard to get the party going, jumping about, smiling and maybe rushing it a little bit. A crowd surfer comes over, gets pulled out by the security, and still the rooms seems to be split, some manic moshers at the front and unconvinced attendees further back. I hear someone shout that they can’t hear them at the back, which in turn results in a lot of chatting going on.
I love the rope lights that are wound around the drums and parts of the stage, but I don’t like the heat in here tonight, is the air conditioning not working? A girl gets pulled over the barriers and invited onto the stage, it’s fun for a while, but annoying when she doesn’t want to get off when prompted. I know where that nice smell comes from, I spot Andy putting talcum powder into his fan……mystery solved, Andy is also wearing the same t-shirt I bought earlier, that boy has taste…!!!!
The banter between Chris and Keith is fun at times and outbursts like: “If you can’t have sex to this song you are not listening” make me smile.
They leave the stage after what does seem ages to return shortly for another couple of songs as an encore. The hard core fans have loved every minute of it, shout and scream, others clap appreciatively but quite a few are a little bewildered not too sure what happened here. I think I’m somewhere in the middle, not my best experience, but I would give it another go.
There are no set lists, but I do get my hands on a couple of drum sticks…..:-)

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Great ! Like thebit you go to concert straight after Eurostar ! Lol x

Leave a Reply

