Another day at Hyde Park, we may as well, it is my Birthday, it’s free and the atmosphere is bound to be amazing. Kathy, David and my son Marcus came along today, yet again long queues to get in due to all the checking, but somehow it doesn’t seem too bad today. Walking in we see there are a few big screens scattered over the area showing different Olympic events, groups of people are gathered glued to the screen, others just walk by, or dwell a little while and move on. Needless to say I don’t get much further than the screen showing the Judo, love the feeling of being there together, cheering for our own and cheering with the winners, never mind what nationality. David got some food and drink for us, while Kathy and Marcus stayed with me watching Judo, David then went off to explore the rest of the grounds.
Once the Judo had finished we went to find David, he was at the far end at the Bandstand, just watched a band called ‘LuxLisbon‘ and really liked them, right now another band was playing, ‘Joyride’. We listened to them for a while but decided they weren’t really for us, so we decided to leave them to it and find our spot by the main stage ready for Newton Faulkner. As you all know by now, EVERYBODY needs to love Newton!!! We managed to get a spot at the barrier right at the centre but the stage is still a long way away, at least no tall people in front! Marcus said his goodbyes as he was meeting up with some friends, sweet he came along though!
Neil Fox aka Foxy showed up on stage, inviting Torvill & Dean for a chat before  introducing  Newton, who came onto stage, wearing a BIG smile, obviously happy to be standing right there in front of thousands of people. His set included “Clouds” , “Dream Catch Me”, “Teardrop”, and “Brick by Brick” from the new album. He bantered as usual with the crowd, asking who had actually bought his album, and that there would be a really easy way to get it to No.1 in a day: everybody here buys it NOW!!! Good bit of PR Newton, how can anyone resist you? He also split Hyde Park into 3 sections and had the audience singing 3 different lines as a harmony; I wonder what that sounded like from the stage. Of course he had his globe and tea with him, this one man band can certainly make even Hyde Park feel like an intimate gig, he is simply amazing! And funny, like when he talked about his albums: …there are 3, 2 blue ones and a yellow one, I personally like the yellow one……or when he made us chose which cover to play. We all went for “Bohemian Rhapsody”, and he promptly announced that he was sure we would chose “Superstitious” by Stevie Wonder…”see how wrong you can be?” Newton smiles.  ! I’m pretty sure “Write it on your Skin” was his last song, he took a photo of us all (which I stole from his FB page, hope he won’t mind) and off he went……no amount of shouting and screaming could bring him back 😦
Again, I cannot say it enough: EVERYBODY NEEDS TO LOVE NEWTON!!!!!

Now it was time to settle down again, get some coffee and food and watch some Olympic swimming on the big screen.
We were supposed to see Tom Jones this evening, but we found out as we entered that due to illness he wasn’t performing :-(, Will Young was standing in for him. Hmmmmm, to be honest, I wasn’t impressed, I remember seeing him on (I’m bound to get this wrong now) Pop Idol or similar, and if I’m correct he won against Gareth Gates, I did like him and his version of  “Relight my Fire”……it just wasn’t what I expected for today, it’s my Birthday after all!!
Still, any disappointment I did feel was short-lived, Will Young was most entertaining, all three of us loved the show. I will just pick on random bits rather than do an account of his whole gig, he stimulated so many senses it’s hard to get it in order! When he arrived on stage he was genuinely happy to be filling in for Tom Jones. Will made a point of congratulating his band for getting this gig together being only told yesterday they’ll be on the main stage in Hyde Park filling Tom’s shoes…..there must have been a moment of panic I guess!  In one of his statements he was quoted to say: “I’m sad that Tom Jones can’t do the show, I hope he gets well soon, and am very happy and excited to be playing Hyde Park for the Olympic events tomorrow.”
He opened the show with “Runaway” and his energy and excitement captivated the audience immediately, he announced to have a special surprise for us in true Olympic spirit, we just need to shout loud enough and he would slowly reveal all!  Performing his sing-a-long songs “Changes”, “Who am I”, “Light my Fire” involved as far as I could see all people, even the most sceptical faces soften and join in, brilliantly done Will. He sent the crowd crazy with stripping off bit by bit his outer garments, finally revealing a vintage running outfit, and let me tell you, having stood right at the front; those tiny little shorts also accommodated the battery pack for the microphone….hehehehehe! Will continued performing in a provocative manner, I’m sure he was just taking the mickey at the time, rolling on the stage floor, jumping down to the barriers, shaking his booty……oh yes, he certainly delighted male and females alike!
Having seen him at the very beginning of his career, and again now I was amazed how he has grown into the man he is now. Confident of whom he is, a perfect entertainer and I bet he is a really nice guy too.
After closing his set with “Jealousy” I can only say he left me feeling really good! I may have turned 51, but for a couple of hours I was that young girl again with not a care in the world! And that Mr. Will Young has a lot to do with you, thank you. And, I even managed to get my hands on a set list!  🙂
All three of us were quite full of mischief on the way home, considering no drop of alcohol passed my lips I felt quite tipsy and all I can say is I’m glad I was taking the photos….hahhahahaha!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Sounds good ! Well done for continuing writing even if you are behind !

Leave a Reply

