More Olympic fever today, especially as I have a ticket for the Judo at the Excel Centre, I can’t wait, the one thing I wanted to see if anything at all was Judo. And here I was breathing in all the smells and excitements, amazing!
I wont say too much as this blog is supposed to be about music……but being able to see it there and then rather than snippets on TV is simply mind blowing.

After the morning Judo session finished I made my way to Hyde Park again, might as well catch some more music, and watch the Judo finals of the day on the big screens! The young French girl Priscilla Gneto ended up winning a bronze medal, Lasha Shavdatuashvili of Georgia won Olympic gold in the men’s under-66kg category…..! Even the rain didn’t put me off watching it….joined again by all kinds of nationalities, loving the atmosphere!

Having met up with David  it was time to catch some music now, we wandered over to the bandstand, yay, ‘Halfway To New York’ are playing, I have seen them before and remember liking them then. They are doing a great job, and the small audience is very appreciative, clapping and joining in. A young lady is giving out wristbands with the band’s name on, great advertising tool. I do really like their style of music and the way they manage to get the crowd involved, the big smiles that let you know they loved being on stage here in Hyde Park.
Once they had finished we made our way over to the main stage, quite a few people are already in position and filling up the barrier spots. We make our way as far in as possible and eventually decide that the spot we are at is as good as any. It is a bit early for Nell Bryden to perform, we are not sure who will be on but people seem to be getting excited.
People are appearing on the stage, obviously from a musical….omg, it’s “We Will Rock You“, fantastic, I love that musical.
It doesn’t need a warm up period for these guys, straight away everybody is singing and dancing, what else could you do to classics like “We are the Champions”, “We will Rock You”, “Fat Bottomed Girls”, ” Somebody To Love” and of course “Bohemian Rhapsody” what an amazing atmosphere, I so want to see this musical again! The performers were wearing their stage costumes looking absolutely amazing, it looks as though all of the cast is here and giving us a taste of the musical. I have to see the musical again, there is no other way!

Before Nell Bryden arrives on stage Foxy is introducing a very important person, a life size Team GB mascot!
Ok, enough said, it’s time for Nell, I have seen her a couple of times before, a lovely and very talented young lady. I love the roses that are wrapped around her mic stand and how unassuming she comes across. Her album ‘Shake the Tree’ only came out last month, “Buildings and Treetops”, “Couldn’t love you more”, it’s a great album, I love it. Nell has got the mix of talking and singing just right, enough chat to interact with the crowd, in my immediate surrounding everybody seems really taken by her. Lovely 50 minutes, I must catch you again soon.
After Nell’s set people are on the move again, we now manage to move forward to a barrier spot :-), ‘Scouting for Girls’ are next. First we watch some more sports, enjoy lovely cup of coffee (it is a little chilly), looking around I see people chilling, catching up, a little film crew in the midst of them….the atmosphere is yet again really friendly and calm.

And now it’s time for ‘Scouting for Girls‘, it has been quite a while since I saw them back in 2010 at the Hamersmith Apollo, that was a fun night.
And here they are, the stage is set and Roy, Greg and Peter arrive on the stage, which includes a snow white piano, niceeeee!  Roy goes straight to his keyboard and starts the set with “Heartbeat”, the crowd responds at once, the light is fading fast and the ambiance, the feelgood music and light show are a recipe for success. Young (and old) girls are whooping with delight and you can even hear the odd male voice joining in with the singing. Scouting for Girls may be branded as a Teeny band, but they certainly delight all ages, speaking for myself, I have had a secret passion for them for a long time :-). Roy responds to the crowd brilliantly, he walks along the extended stage, tries to catch as many eyes as he can (not literally obviously..lol), at one point he even comes off the stage, shaking as many hands as possible, and yes, mine is one of them! They introduce a handful of new songs, “Love how it Hurts”, “Snakes and Ladders” and “Rains in L.A.”, that last one is going to be such a hit, I love them all, can’t wait for the album ‘The Light Between US‘ to come out.
Again, 50 minutes is over far far too soon, before we know it the magic is over, the boys take a bow and wave goodbye.I have to say, I’m glad I came today, despite getting soaking wet at times, and I did get my hands on a set list!!!  Another good day at Hyde Park 🙂

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    😄Like it ! Much fun it sounds like ! Keep going Steffi never give up writing … It must be hard sometimes though ! Xx

Leave a Reply

