Another evening at the 100 Club for a Converse gig, this time it’s Blur. This should be quite an exciting gig, of course everybody knows the 1090 anthems “Parklife”, “House in the Country” and “Girls & Boys”. I didn’t really have a choice at the time, my daughter was a teenager and this was one of the band being played to death.

On the way there from the underground station I happened to look up and saw a beautiful rainbow stretching over the London skyline. Looking around I was saddened to see that all those people rushing around were just too busy to look up and see a natural wonder! Until I turned the corner, a young girl stopped and took a photo of the rainbow, I caught her gaze we smiled silently agreeing how beautiful it looked, faith restored a tiny bit!

When we got to the 100  Club the place was already pretty busy, we tried to get as close to the front as possible but ended up about 4 rows back, and in this small iconic venue that is nearly at the back wall…..hehehhhehe. How come that I always seem to be ending up with a really tall bloke in front of me? This guy arrived late and pushed in to stand with his mates, great :-(. I do actually find the crowd a little intimidating tonight, the further the evening progressed the more tanked up, loud and a little threatening the crowd seem to get.

We had missed the band Swiss Lips, sorry guys you started early or was it us arriving late :-(, and again we missed out on the free t-shirts.
We did however arrive just in time for The Savages, this is an all girl band and we hoped they would bring something different into the round. Sadly it didn’t quite happen, they seemed very loud and even though they tried the banter and interaction with the audience, I felt that it didn’t quite happen, well, not for me in any case, but plenty of people danced and sung along. I guess it wasn’t helped by the fact that my view was very limited due to the tall guy (he and his mates also continued chatting through most of it) and the camera man in front of me.
At some point the tall guy went off to get yet more drinks, I managed to move a little closer, tucked away behind the camera man, at times he moved along and I managed to get a good look. The guy came back with his drink, trying to push into his space again, which of course is rather difficult as the 100 club is packed and people have pushed forward since he went. I can’t really go anywhere and do not fancy standing behind him again, so I try and stand my ground, his girlfriend is telling me I should move out of the way, that is a red rag to a bull 😦 ! Usually you can get to a compromise with people, but there seems no scope today for that, as I mentioned earlier, the atmosphere isn’t friendly and I find myself soaking up that vibe and becoming just as obnoxious as the people around me (not a nice trait). It looks as though I have no chance of keeping the space, Mr. Tall pushes me hard trying to get me out of the way, at some point I step aside as he pushes and he actually stumbles and nearly falls ,which alerted the security guard, unfortunately at that point I pushed him back and it isn’t looking good for me…lol! It would be so easy to get into a fight, luckily I manage to keep my emotions in check and decide to move over to the other side of the stage. We find a place between 2 couples who are much friendlier and here for the same reason, to enjoy the music.

The Bots were on next, two young brothers from the States, one is on the drums & vocals, he only looks about 12 and the other one plays keys, guitar and vocals. At first I thought they were really quirky, different quite enchanting. A lot of smiles were willingly given out and the brothers have obviously rehearsed well. I couldn’t mention any of the songs to you but they were certainly different, in fact, so different that half way through I lost interest as they started to sound the same. Also a woman (manager/mother?) was very distracting, she is obviously very proud of those boys, she was smiling to herself and filming every single move, I got more interested in watching her than listening to the tunes. I don’t think she took notice of anyone else around, sang every single word and kept on filming. These youngsters do have talent, it just doesn’t appeal to me, but well done boys.
While we were standing there watching more trouble came our way, a young man, completely drunk, pushed in and started to jump about using the people around him as walls to bounce off from, hitting people with his arms as he waved them around in the air…..at least one of his sober friends tried to move him on. 🙂

Finally, it’s Blur next, the vibes in here have changed considerably, not as chilled and friendly as it normally is here 😦
And there they are, Blur, starting straight away with “Girls & Boys”, yes, liking it a lot, if only it wouldn’t be so loud! I don’t think I have ever experienced the main act to have a worse sound quality than the support bands. We did spot that it isn’t the usual Soundy taking care of it, he seems to be standing near the bar looking a bit lost. I guess they completely misjudged the size of the venue!
The pushing is getting a lot worse, I’ve got to get out, it’s so hot and unpleasant, I move around to the bar area, leaning at the barrier that is surrounding the sound deck, well, its some sort of barrier, not that I see much more, but I can breath….It doesn’t take long for one of the other couples to join us, they said the sound was unbearable. Shame it could have been a great gig but it just didn’t come together for me. I wouldn’t mind seeing Blur again as I’m sure I would really enjoy the gig, today just wasn’t my day! But, I did manage to get a set list from the lovely sound guys…..and another treat: as we were leaving the premises I bumped into no other than Andy Burrows, suddenly all was well again. A quick hello and a smile, I didn’t want to intrude, he was having a night out! But,  I couldn’t resist asking for a hug, and the lovely Andy obliged….went home happy!!! 🙂

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina Weidmann says:

    Not so much satisfaction …. But still a good eve the main thing !

Leave a Reply

