Another date with Hyde Park, this is becoming a bit of a habit! It’s McFly and Saint Etienne today, Kathy is already up there with 3 youngsters! We are planning to meet up with her, but arriving late at Hyde Park makes that impossible. People, loads of people….arrrggghhhh!  We did get a couple of messages saying they are at the barrier stage right, we manage to fight our way in to about 7th or 8th row, but no sight of Kathy or the girls, I’m just too short to be able to spot them. David and I decide to shout out her name, no response…..oh well, we’ll just have to stay here!!
We do have a great view to the stage so no worries there. We get chatting to the girl next to us, Gina is there with her sons, Oliver and Sam. We discover we have some common ground, as her husband is German and comes from the Black Forest, St.Blasien. I talk a little German to the boys and they understand very well, Oliver, the older one is a little shy but Sam is quite happy to chat away, lovely kids.

A special guest appears on the stage between acts,, the noise going through the audience is amazing, everybody is stretching arms up to catch a photo of Bradley, he must feel amazing, and well deserved it is!
More movement on the stage, the ‘Tenors of Rock’ are on first, there are seven in the group and they certainly know how to entertain the crowd. Covers like ‘Walk This Way’ by Aerosmith and ‘Grenade’ by Bruno Mars, I believe there was also a Jessie J. song, they work the audience by coming down the extended walkway of the stage, picking up a British flag on the way. Looking around the people everybody seems to be joining in, waving flags, wearing ‘British’ t-shirts and other clothing items, in all my years in this country I have never felt so emerged in British-ness! Young girls are in eager anticipation for McFly, their name written across their foreheads; it’s the smiles I love, most people are wearing a great big smile. Gina is trying to hold up her sons so they could see something, Oliver refuses, but Sam is quite happy to he held up.

McFly are next, people have started to push in closer, I do feel sorry for Oliver so start building him a little mountain out of the wood chip on the ground, he can stand on it and be that bit taller. People around us are noticing what we are doing and start pushing the wood chip towards the little mound. It works a treat, Oliver is able to see a little better and it took the pressure off Gina! I have never seen McFly but been assured by Kathy and Jade that I will like them, ok, I’m ready, bring on the boys. To the intro Harry Judd comes running onto the stage holding an Olympic torch replica, trying to do the “Chariot of Fire” run, I bet he alwayswanted to do that, I love his ‘British’ themed pants…lol!  Danny joins him, takes the torch and runs down the catwalk bit of the stage before launching into their first song “Nowhere Left To Run”, that is all that’s needed, the girls are going wild and even some men are not afraid to show their enjoyment.  Danny works the stage well, walking up and down the catwalk, making contacts with the public sending girls either into a dreamy state or screaming hysteria, funny how different people react. Tom is doing his bit too, swaging along the edge, teasing the girls, sidling up to Danny for guitar duels. Tom plays “Don’t Stop Me Now” the Queen cover, which was the best idea, even the McFly sceptics are pulled in, you have no choice but to enjoy yourself. To “All About You” everybody is singing and have their arm up clapping, ok, I admit, they are really good fun and entertaining, that is besides being talented musicians and brilliant showmen. Later on a medley “It’s Alright/Living on a Prayer/We Found Love/What Makes You Beautiful/Somebody That I Used to Know/ I Wanna Dance With Somebody, during this song Tom decided to take it one step further and lie on the edge of the stage with his head hanging down looking at the crowd,teasing the string of his guitar, what a show, the audience are frantic. At some point Danny is in the middle of the stage pulling down an old fashioned microphone to sing a brand new song “Red”. Dougie announces that all the girls have to look at the person on their left and tell them they love them, the banter being taken over by Tom telling us that the band is now 9 years old, they have grown from boys into confident men. The funny thing is that footage of the crowd is being shown on the screens and we actually spot Kathy and Jade, they don’t seem to far away from us. Far too soon it’s all over, McFly depart the stage but return for an encore. They congratulate the Team GB and all the athletes dedicating their single ‘Shine A Light’ to them. What a performance, the crowd is left psyched for the next lot of medal winning events. Well done McFly, loved the show.

Once McFly had finished the crowds dispersed, some sat down again to indulge in food and drink, so it’s not cheap; there are some lovely food places, besides your usual un-appetising burger vans. We had a very tasty pizza from ‘Uncle Gio’s Italian Joint’, tasty crepes from ‘I Love Crepes’ and good coffee from ‘Coffee & Waffle! Anyway, we managed to meet up with Kathy and the girls, hang out for a little while, but they decided to make their way home as St Etienne wasn’t really for them. David and I went over to the Bandstand to see what was happening there, due to the lovely sunshine people were sitting in deckchairs watching the band that was playing. They also had big bean bags scattered about, in one of them I spotted a baby contently lying on it, you really had to be there to get feel good vibes. Well we weren’t too sure about the band playing, can’t even remember their name, but a group of young men were having a blast, and one young man, about 3 years old enjoyed a little dance too. I spoke to his parents just to make sure it’s ok to post a photo of the little one, he was too cute. At another corner a couple of girls were showing off their dance moves, other sat at the tables discussing music. After eating our yummy pizza we decided to go back to the main stage, there is some serious medal winning to be witnessed. We managed to claim a spot on the barriers, settled down to watch some sports, the atmosphere was electric, second only to being at the stadium itself, when ,Jessica Ennis, Mo Farah and Greg Rutherford all won gold medals within the space of three-quarters of an hour! There is no way to describe the encouragement people where shouting and the jubilation when they nearly turned into everybody hugging everybody, again I feel proud being more or less British, mind you that didn’t stop me cheering for the German’s, or the French, actually any country, being totally swept away in the excitement. Wow, what a day!
And another treat as British Judokas Gemma Gibbons (silver) and Karina Bryant (bronze) join us on stage for a chat, it’s great to see them other than on TV.

The final act Saint Etienne is due to come on, looking around there aren’t as many people as there were for McFly. Not far from us ae three blokes having a good time (or is it making a tit of yourself?), one of them tells us proudly his mate is a musician and told us to check out Emmet Brown on Sound Cloud….check it out, I quite like it!!!
St Etienne arrives on stage, hmmmm, I’m not sure she is for me, but, we’ll give it a try! They guys next to us go mental, so she is reaching some people. I guess it doesn’t help that I don’t know much about their music, I guess I was busy bringing up my children in the nineties. David and I listen for a while, but it isn’t happening, she is not getting to us. We decide to go home and have an early night, trust me, it’s needed. Sorry Saint Etienne but won’t be able to give you a fair review, next time maybe.

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    So you liked it the Mc flys …. ! Just the thought of the Atmosphäre in there Must have been soooooo Great !

Leave a Reply

