Yes, another dose of Andy Burrows, brilliant, the Wilmington Arms, a new venue for me but a well loved artist.
I have to say it wasn’t the easiest place to get too, about a 15 minute walk from Angel station (I do have a dodgy knee and pulled a thigh muscle, so may be quicker for “normal” people). We didn’t rush today, thinking it may not be packed. Once we got there the door wasn’t even open yet, apparently the sound check was still going on. Still, we didn’t have to wait long until we were let in, it’s a cute little place, it has the feel of an old fashioned disco without the glitter-ball, a well used music bar, a hidden gem. We go to the bar and get a drink, I spotted a bar stool, great I can rest my leg for a little while. There is still a hive of activity on the stage, and I spot Andy saying hello to a couple of people. I’m tempted to jump in and speak to him, but get a hold of myself, poor guy, probably scared the hell out of him when I pounced on him outside the 100 club after the Blur gig.
More people are arriving, looks like it is going to be busy, we decide to take a spot at the stage right as always, there is a stool and a table (with a tool box on it), yes, this will do.

There is another reason why this gig has got me all excited, one of the supports today is Alex Vargas, I have been trying to catch one of his gigs for absolutely ages and it has never worked out.
I came across Alex when he was lead singer of a band called Vagabond, they were supporting Simple Minds at the iTunes festival 2009. I liked them so much that we went a few weeks later to see them at the Bush Hall, bought the T-shirt, CD and got loads of my friends hooked, just to learn a little while later that they had split and Alex will now go it alone, and ever since I have been trying to catch up with him, hence the fact I’m a little bit beside myself….lol!
And here is the man, what has he done to his lovely curly hair, all put into a pony tail….still I do remember his voice well, still as strong and soulful as I remember.-, he even managed to shut up all the talkers in the audience, with tracks like “End Of The War” which he sang first, right through to “Howl” which was his last one. Shame he only played a few songs, but I managed to have a quick chat and grab the set list, I will have to hear more from that young man very soon!

The next support band was called Wall (I think so anyway, didn’t really catch their name), it seems to be a kind of electronic music, I wonder why they were chosen to be in the middle of Alex Vargas and Andy Burrows! This band wasn’t really for me, the instruments seem to totally overpower the vocals, couldn’t make out at all what was sung. Looking around I can tell a few people felt the same, got bored and started chatting. Sorry guys, but it didn’t happen this time.

Right Andy Burrows next, yay….Once on stage he introduces his new band, Steve-drums, Steve-Guitar, Tim-keys, he is as scatty and funny as ever. He tripped over the lead of his guitar  tuner and now it wasn’t working…Andy did say that he wasn’t cross just throwing a half tantrum….hehehehe! I’m loving his set as always, loads of new songs, one of them dedicated to Stef….yay, oh, not me, his wife…oh well! My favourite I’m arrows song ” Another Picture of You” and “Funny Looking Angels”, but no Tom Smith jumping on stage to join him today. Also “If I had a Heart” and my new favourite”Somebody calls your name”. I’m standing right up close to the stage, but 3 people still push in front and sit on the stage….what? Actually the crowd generally doesn’t feel very nice, I don’t think many of them are actually Andy fans and just treating it as another night out, shame, Andy deserves a dedicated crowd, yes, you guessed it right: EVERBODY SHOULD LOVE ANDY…!! 😉
I also manage to get the set list at the end, I loved the gig!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Anonymous says:

    Awwwww Andy … He is lovely …. Shame about the crowd … !

Leave a Reply

