Today’s choice of music is down to my lovely goddaughter Jade, she loves Dive Bella Dive, so we are seeing them today. Having looked them up I thought they Dive Bella Divesounded quite good and seemed great fun, I bought 4 tickets to make a family day out of it!
I also contacted Barnaby beforehand to see if a meet and greet could be organised to which he happily agreed, shame was I didn’t hear anymore afterwards. But it didn’t matter, as Kathy and Jade went to Camden early to queue at The Underworld Camden…..we would join them later.

By the time I got there Kathy and Jade were in place, quite a few people were already queuing. Jade had got together with a bunch of girls, it’s unclear if she met them there or via Facebook or Twitter….youngsters of today hey? I did find out much later that they had actually met at the McFly gig back in April, they stood close to each other and one of the girls had actually fainted!
Kathy is glad to see me too, and P1000202that is not just for a bit of adult conversation….lol, we are surrounded by young girls! Loo break is needed too, the pub surrounding the venue, Worlds End, is a good choice and the people don’t seem to mind. Apparently there is no need for a meet and greet, Sammy and Barnaby came past earlier and were happy for the girls to accompany them to the shop to get some supplies! 🙂
Finally time to go inside, I have never been at this venue so we need to find our P1000203way round, it is a bit like a warren…lol! We find the room with the stage and yes we are at the front stage right, Jade took off with her friends, somewhere in the dark and dingy part of the room. I spotted Barnaby at the merch stand on the way in, I decided to go and see him. He is very sweet indeed, poses for a photo with me and when I ask him about a shout-out for Jade he is more than happy to do it. He writes it on his hand, hoping he won’t forget, the girl sitting next to him promises to remind him. This is a London based band and have been going for 3 years, Barnaby also tells me they live in a band house which is just the best fun! I make my way back to the stage as it’s time for the first support band.

Maycomb are from Wolverhampton and they describe themselves as Pop Punk + Rockin’ Rock Music on their facebook page. To be honest the main thing I Maycombremember is that they were very loud and had an awful amount of feedback :-(. I did make a note at the time that I liked their last song but I’m sorry, I can’t remember it. I’m sorry to sound so negative, but due to the bad sound I really couldn’t hear what you were singing. Having listened to “Hope House” on u-Tube I have to say I really liked it, so I will check you out again when I see you are playing anywhere near to me.

Hype Theory is the next band up, there are 4 guys and a girl as the lead singer. Katie comes on stage last starting her first song using a megaphone, great start. Hype TheoryShe is very confident on the stage using it to her full advantage and I quite like what I’m hearing, it is still too loud and I can’t understand any of the lyrics she sings, but the tunes sound great, and listening later on I can see the potential. The young lady uses the stage brilliantly, stepping on her flight case, leaning into the crowd making them join in with singing, she is full of energy and it’s obvious she belongs on stage. Her fellow musicians are just as accomplished and if they can get their sound sorted nothing much else should stand in their way. Great performance! 🙂

Proxies are the third band tonight, again a new experience for me. This is an alternative rock band from Yorkshire, I think they have only been going a couple of years. Nevertheless they played at Reading this year and will be supporting another of my favourite bands ‘The Blackouts’ later in the year. As ProxiesI’m not familiar with their songs (yet) I can’t tell you which songs were played, but, I can tell you they were amazing, liking this band a lot! The support bands seem to be in the right order today, getting better with each one. I’m impressed with the young man playing the guitar that has also got keys incorporated, just shows my knowledge, lol, I’m sure there is a proper name for that instrument   Another thing I noticed was that they were not drinking alcoholic drinks while on stage, I can’t guarantee there are no bevies after, hehehhehe! Looking around there are a lot of fans in the crowd, the room has filled up and arms are in the air and heads are nodding, I will have to catch this band again….:-)

I thought I’d better go and have a leak before the show, while I’m there I bumped Meow Meow Meowinto the girl who was sitting with Barnaby at the merch stand at the very beginning of the night. She looked at me, smiled and said “I’ll remind him now….Jade, Shout Out, Animal” …how sweet is she to remember, thank you!

And now the main band for tonight, Dive Bella Dive. I look around for Jade, hoping she might join us, but no she is still hanging out with her new friends. Well, she has become a teenager and that is what they do…lol! No matter Dive Bella Dive - SammyKathy, David and I are having a great time! The Underworld has now filled up, with each band more people arrived and there seem to be pockets of people everywhere due to the different shaped venue. I have to smile at the Gameboy synthesiser and advertising MEOW in large letters on the top. Meow Meow Meow is of course Sammy Battle’s baby started in 2010, it started off as a blog and has grown tremendously from there! Sammy is right in front of us and not shy about pulling funny faces;  obviously the joker in the pack…:-).
Dive Bella Dive - BarnabyEven before starting their show with “Spend” the atmosphere here had increased tenfold, there is a large following and MEOW t-shirts are seen everywhere. The volume is still very high, thank god for earplugs! The crowd is screaming, singing, dancing , you can’t help but join in. Soon enough the leather jackets and beanies are getting ditched, it is far too hot in here to be wearing a coat on stage….. Dive Bella Dive are no newbies to performing, their 10 track set escalates with each song, good old rock music…! With the right management these boys could go far, they are quirky, great with their fans and talented!  When “Animal” is being played Barnaby is true to his words and does the shout out ” this one is for Jade”….I wonder if she heard it!
As always, the fun is over far too soon, I manage to get a setlist though. We wait for Jade to find us again, she loved it, they were dancing like mad in the back of the room. And no, I don’t think she heard the shout out 😦

We hang around for a while longer and see Dive Bella Dive appearing, Jade had made a great poster and patiently waits her turn to get it signed and have Sammy and Jade photos taken. Well, when theses guys hit the big times she can say “I was there at the beginning”!! Let’s just hope the boys won’t loose their connection to the fans too soon. Well done guys, looking forward to next time!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Clearly not a band for me .., beeing loud is not my sort of thing ! But would have gone if i would have been in chesham and a Good Experience !

Leave a Reply

