Flicking through my Facebook page I came across a post by Scouting for Girls  Free acoustic gig at the Half Moon Putney”, guess what, I wasn’t going to miss this one! It is to be a kind of Album launch, as “The Light Between Us” out P1000522on the 3rd September 2012.
When I saw the guys recently in Hyde Park I loved the new song they played…..it was all about summer!! WHAT SUMMER I hear you say….lol!!
Sunday morning we get up fairly early, entry was first come first served, and I was sure there would be a lot of young girls turning up early, eager to get in. I wasn’t wrong, on our way into London I caught an FB post, about 20 in the queue so far, and it was only 11:30 in the morning, the gig wasn’t due to start till 2pm.Scouting For Girls
We made good time, and by the time we arrived at Putney Bridge station were feeling rather peckish for some brunch! We noticed a little cafe just opposite from the station, well, what can I say? If I was local I would have my Sunday brunch there every week. Not a posh looking place, but the loveliest people behind the counter, yummy croissants and proper coffee, perfect!

When we arrived at the Half Moon at around 12:40 we knew we weren’t going to be the first ones, loads of young girls (about 20) and the odd boy were already waiting, so we had no other option but to join the P1000524queue. As usual we got chatting to the people around us, a Mum brought her daughter and friend, she did say she was suffering a little from the night before, poor woman arrived here at 10:30. The things we mothers do for our children.
I went to get us a drink and yes, I got chatting to the guy standing next to me, it turns out he is with the band ;-)! Tour manager? He tells me he is between the band and the record company, he also isn’t too sure if any merchandise will be available, “depends on the record label”. As it turned out there was nothing, shame, I was hoping the new album ‘The light between us’ would be available, I knew it was only due for release the next day, but it could have been possible!
Back in the queue people came along asking us to write down questions for the band on a clip board, I see a question and Scouting for Girlsanswer session too, interesting. Needless to say I didn’t put a question in, but many youngsters did and I can just imagine what sort…lol!
Back at the bar for another drink, doors not open till 2pm, I talk to another chap. He tells me it’s Scouting for Girlsthe first time he and his wife are actually out since having their one year old baby, they’ve come all the way from Peterborough, long way to come!
At last, the doors to the music venue are opened, we manage to get really close to the front, second row, all that is on stage are 3 microphones. This promises to be a gem of a gig. It doesn’t take long for movement on stage, guitars are tuned and positioned and soon after Roy, Greg and Pete arrived on the stage. Stripped bare to just guitars and mics they greet the small audience and tell us how very excited they are about their new album that is coming out tomorrow. Starting with “Love How It Hurts” and straight after “Summertime”, both from the new album, is all that it takes, everybody here is smiling, taking photos and dancing to the tunes. “Rains in L.A” has everybody singing along in the best voices available, the band is looking very pleased indeed, a new song and everybody knows the words already, they are loving it. There is plenty of banter in Scouting for Girlsbetween, it really is a very intimate gig, brilliant! Questions that were written down earlier get picked out of a glass and answered: “Will you marry me?”….sorry, too late! …., what a great idea, the crowd is loving it! “Heartbeat” has to be played, and they finish off with “Lovely”, it may have been a short gig but what a great introduction to their new album, I will most certainly get my hands on a copy, I love the new songs.
After they have left the stage small children climb up and pretend to be rock stars, doting parents take photos….awwww. A sweet incident when Roy comes back on stage to fetch something and happily interacted with the children. All three band members also came to mingle, happily posing for photos and signing anything handed to them. I decide not to wait, there were so many young girls desperate to meet the boys.
P1000564It was still only afternoon, we could go to Camden and do the standby queue for Ed Sheeran, but, I promised to meet some friends for coffee  so I’d best go home and keep my promise. Well, that is one decision I greatly regretted the next day when I learned that all the stand by queue got in for the gig and non other than Gary Lightbody joined Ed on stage to sing “Chasing Cars“, there are no words to describe how I felt… 😦

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Whaaaaaat Gaaaaaarrrrryyyy ohhhh nooo! Must have been a great acoustic gig .,, I personally love accustic gigs ! Keep going Steffi ! Xx

Leave a Reply

