I’m a lucky girl indeed, I may not have won tickets for The Killers tonight with  ” Zane Lowe” as part of Radio 1’s Massive The Killers Month of Live Music, but my friend Nigel did and asked me to go, woohooo!
I got to Kentish Town as soon as I could, Nigel was already there, and the queue was massive! I had brought along some food which we ate hastily in the queue as it was soon time to go inside. The Forum is really strict, no food, no drinks, no chewing gum…..
Finally we are in position, about 8 rows back from the barrier, but it will be ok, we are having a great view to the stage.Looking around there were a lot of excited people of all ages. Some were die hard fans and others just won tickets and came along.

Soon Zane Lowe appeared on the stage to entertain us with spinning a few tunes, it was all going out live on radio, which meant the more noise we made the better and we were greatly encouraged to do so. Zane Lowe’s tunes made sure that Zane Lowethe audience were in the mood for dancing and singing, I think everybody was so excited to see The Killers in such an intimate setting that there was no need to hype up the crowd. At some point Zane disappeared to conduct an interview with the band which we were listening to as it was being broadcasted live, to be honest, that was seriously strange, being here in front of the stage listening to the radio….;-). Zane soon bounced back, a couple more tunes, and it was time…..!!

Frontman Brandon Flowers arrived dressed in a black biker jacket, which was the only “wild” thing about him, otherwise he looked well groomed and somewhat “grown-up”, whereas guitarist Dave Keuning was still The Killerstrue to the eighties rockstar look. What did it matter, starting with their brand new single “Runaway” followed by “Somebody Told Me”, simply made us, the crowd, loose ourselves in the music, Oh yes, this is what we have come for, good old fashioned rock music!!  I loved the backdrop, a scenery out of the wild west, Brandon is in fine voice and it all sounds so much better in a smaller venue, having seen the amazing gig at V-Festival not that long ago I have to say give me a smaller venue any day! High prices are being charged for arena/stadium gigs, surely it should be the other way round! I personally would be prepared to pay a little bit (emphasis is on little bit) more to have a small venue experience with my favourite band rather The Killers - crowd than sitting up in the gods with very little chance to get close to my idols due to the stupid amount of money priced tickets for the front row tickets! I’ll just say one thing: The Rolling Stones!!!! And while I’m on my soapbox, that includes VIP tickets!! So we mere mortals queue for hours, show real dedication just to find that money speaks and by the time we get inside the venues the frontrow has been taken up!! Sorry, I’ll stop here ;-), after all today is a free concert.
Back to what matters most today, the awesome gig by the Killers! All together the gig lasted about 70 minutes, playing old songs and a lot of new ones, “Atomic Bomb”, “Human”, “Spaceman”, “Mr. Brightside” and “Flesh and Bones” are just some examples, and in my humble opinion each song escalated into yet more frantically raised The Killersarms,  fists or open hands punching the air to the music, snippets of words get shouted out loud, heads are bobbing and bodies bouncing up and down. The set wasn’t much different to V-Festival, jumbled up a little and a couple of songs missing, but I do feel the connection with the band here a lot more, admittedly that may be due to having seen Snow Patrol prior to The Killers at V! The whole evening was perfect, the laser beams trying to catch each other, bathing the band in different lights making the ambiance moody at times and full of energy at others. WeThe Killers loved the confetti too, huge amounts of white lightning bolts and bright red capital ‘K’s’ rained down on us, I still found some stuck to me when I got home later.
After what seemed like ten minutes the band went off, but it didn’t take long for them to return for their encore. “Here with me” and at the very end “A Dustland Fairyland” which was a perfect ending, leaving you happy yet sad it was finished. I always liked The Killers, but, after today I The Killersmay just become a proper fan!!

Thank you Nigel for taking me and thank you The Killers!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

One response »

  1. Martina says:

    Well done Nigel …. Even You will be a Fan of the Killers dont forget SP … Lol … Lucky Girl you are to See all These Gigs … Look forward to See more with you soon !

Leave a Reply

