Well today I had to make a decision, Labrinth at iTunes Festival or The Script at the O2 Islington?  Not being familiar with Labrinth’s music at all I opt for The Script, I have seen them a couple of times in the past and always enjoyed them. I wonThe Script the ticket for tonight’s intimate invite-only show, and here I’m queuing up outside the O2. I got here as early as possible but there are already quite a few people, so the front row looks unlikely. 😦
Behind me are a couple of ladies who came down from Birmingham, they are both big fans and didn’t mind at all to travel down here.
Once we got to the entrance our names got ticked off the list, and that’s it, in we go. As expected a lot of people are already there and we go as close as we can to the left side of the stage, and as always, this is the boring bit, hanging around waiting for the gig to start. There are quite a few very The Scriptexcited girls around us, actually there are mainly girls…lol! Today’s gig is in aid of the release of their third album #3 which was released on the 10th September. I must admit, I haven’t listened properly to it yet, but I’m sure it won’t disappoint.
Finally the band arrives on stage, Danny O’Donoghue cames on last once all the other have taken their position. He is looking confident and is obviously happy to be here. He greets his fans with a big smile and the usual banter, Mark and Glen do of course look pretty good too.
There was no time to waste, after shouting hello to all the fans the boys went straight into their first song (sorry I can’t actually remember which one it was), but, it was followed by “The Man Who Can’t  Be Moved“, yes we like this, familiar songs performed brilliantly, and so many girls screaming every time Danny came anywhere near the edge of the stage….somebody also had shouted out the song title and Danny smiled and said: “as it happens this is the next song!” He asked everybody to join in: “We do a bit of an acapella, yeah?”…a few notes The Scripton the keyboard, more screaming …. “Everybody joining in?”  Of course we all sang along…..hehehehehe! Other favourites like “Break Even” and “Together We Cry” were played and a few from the new album: “Six Degrees Of Separation” for instance went down very well.
“Hall of Fame” sounded amazing too, but just as we really immerged ourselves into the excitement of the gig The Script took a bow, said thank you to the crowd and to Amazon who arranged this gig and left the stage, WHAT???? That was 35 minutes, was that really all? Surely it can’t be, surely they will be back for an encore. We wait! Some technicians come on stage, setting the stage for an encore I guess. But no, the house lights go up and the guys on stage are just de-rigging. I don’t understand, it’s only just 9pm and it’s all over? Loads of people are still squashed to the barriers in front of the stage, many others are leaving, to be honest, I’m a little bewildered and disappointed :-). Ok, I know it’s a free gig and The ScriptI shouldn’t really expect anything, but I know how much they can deliver. Oh well nothing we can do, off home for an early night I guess.
I read a few days later somewhere that there was also a 30 minutes questions and answer session planned, I must have missed that bit, shame, could have been interesting. No matter, I still enjoy The Script and will see them again in the future, so thank you for my free ticket! 🙂

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

Leave a Reply

