Well, this is a welcome little change, a band I wanted to see for a while is playing in my sleepy little town of Chesham.
To Kill A King are in the attic of the George & Dragon tonight, I haven’t been back there for years, too busy going into London I guess, so this may just become my fav hang out, you never know.
Popping over to the Pub after work to secure a couple of tickets I’m disappointed to learn that it is in fact a sold out night! No way, I can not miss this opportunity 😦
Luckily I managed to get a couple of guest list spots through the lovely band themselves! Yay, Kathy and I will attend.The George & Dragon, Chesham

That day Chesham was covered in loads of icy snow, I mailed the band first to make sure they are able to make the journey, and Ian responded: “of course we will, we’re coming by train”
So on the night in question Kathy and I togged up and made our way into Chesham, it’s so nice not having to drive or take the train. Once we got there we were told we are too early, ok, lets grab a drink downstairs.
Not long after we were allowed in, names crossed off, hand stamped….wow, it’s a tiny cosy place, awesome.
Becky WixonTaking residence stage left, right near a large speaker, I just hoped it would be a decent sound and not blow me away – as in far too loud 🙂

First on stage was a young girl, Becky Wixon, a local girl from High Wycombe and only 18 years old. I watch her getting the stage ready, she seems confident and only a tad nervous, she also brought along a cluster of fans/friends to support her.
Her first song was “Old Soul“, she explained that the official video featured her Grandad who really wanted to come and see her tonight, but the snow spoiled it for him 😦
The usual annoying people have found their way to Chesham…..chat chat chat chat…..I will never understand, you go and see a gig and talk and laugh out loud all the way through, lack of respect I call it! Still, Becky seems undisturbed, I guess as a musician that is the attitude to have, otherwise your performance would suffer. Becky has a clear, soulful voice, considering female voices aren’t that appealing to Becky Wixon - set listme, I find her very soothing, lovely lyrics and the Cat Stevens cover “Wild World” sounded awesome. And the sound is brilliant, ok, so Becky is playing an acoustic set, still, even standing right by the speakers the sound is clear and just the right volume as far as I’m concerned. Becky played about 8 songs all together, finishing with “Where Did You Sleep Last Night” a traditional American folk song which has been covered by many artists, ‘Lead Belly’, ‘Billy Monroe’ and ‘Nirvana‘…….I have to say, Kathy and I did enjoy her set, well done Becky.

Martin the organiser of tonight’s event took the microphone to thank Becky, a hug and a kiss and a cheeky smile with the words: “…you know who is next…” Martin Freeman who also writes for ‘My Chesham’ organises these music events once a month, the next time it will feature ‘Indigo Earth’, hopefully I can make that one too.
To Kill A KingWe watch how 5 people and their instruments try and make themselves fit on to this tiny stage, finally they are organised and ready to go.
This is a semi acoustic set and from the off we’re mesmerised, starting with the song “Family” followed straight after with the catchy tune of “Bloody Shirt” (my favourite I think, mind you, it changes as I listen to their songs!). The lighting wasn’t brilliant, so I haven’t got any great photos, but you can always check out Stuart Lloyd photos, a local photographer :-). “Choices” was next, Ralph told us that this song has been put online with uTube in the Ralph’s Balcony series, where they used a string section and a brass section, check it out here, it is awesome….AMAZING!!!
These guys are not just a little band playing music, these guys are skilled musicians and are not afraid to experiment and perform out of the ordinary, I’m in total awe of them. Ralph is chatty and funny but not overbearing, most of the audience of The Loft have now stopped talking and are listening. Ralph jokingly says he should get revenue from uTube, he is doing so much advertising tonight. He also encourages the audience to comeTKAK EP and catch up with the band after and hopefully buy some merch, their new EP ‘Word Of Mouth‘ is available.
Finishing the set with “Fictional” which I believe was their first single is a perfect end to a perfect evening. Who would have thought that sleepy little Chesham can produce such a high quality gig. ‘To Kill a King’ say good night, go off stage, just to come back to an appreciatively clapping crowd to perform “Howling”, a song that will cause all sorts of emotions within you if you allow it to. Brilliant performance, both Kathy and I loved you guys, we might just have to come and see you at Scala on the 10th April!

Once finished a quick chat with Martin to congratulate him on tonight and then off to meet the band! And, there was one more person I had to shake hands with, tonight’s soundy Rob Lehane,(also an musician in his own right I believe) as far as I was concerned the sound was spot on, finally I met someone who doesn’t just think turning up the volume makes it all good! I watched him in the cource of the evening checking that the sound was right, if you need a good soundy, get in touch with Rob. 🙂  Of course we are also buying the EP and getting it signed by all of them. Apparently the EP’s are initialled TKAKby individual band members and apparently got one of their kisses printed on the back of the EP, mine is from Josh 🙂
A hug, a kiss and promise of being at another performance soon we brave the cold and snow to make our way home. Brilliant evening!

About FrontRowStef

Following months of putting in the necessary hours of research, I have been bullied into writing a blog about my gig experiences! I can’t claim in-depth technical musical knowledge, or a massive CD collection, but, I know what I like and what doesn’t sound good in a live setting. I’m not intending to write great reviews about bands, but more of stuff that happen to me while out and about. Like when a dear friend of mine pointed out that it looks like I’m putting my towel down when I hit the barriers at the front and claim my spot with my jacket draped over the railings. What does he mean? Is it because I’m German? Enough introductions, you will get to know me sooner or later! Oh and apparently I’m going to be referred to as Front Row Stef, simply because that is my rightful place!

2 responses »

  1. Elle Betchley says:

    Great to know that you enjoyed the Music 2 your ears night at the George & Dragon hope to see you again
    Elle Betchley
    Manager of George & Dragon

  2. Martina Weidmann says:

    I did not realise that chesham pubs are so famous! Glad you had à Nice Ève and gig ! Going for a drink there next time I am in chesham ! 😄

Leave a Reply

